We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean hotel, nice roof deck with pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Ranked #160 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is a great choice, but you should know that it's like staying in the middle of a gay bar on Fridays and Saturdays. The roof is very busy and popular. This may or may not be your thing.

One thing I was disappointed in is that I was on a long Euro trip and needed to do laundry in Barcelona. The hotel wanted me to use their laundry service which is pretty over priced. Without their help, I found a place right around the corner that was very clean and easy. The detergent was automatically done in the machine and included in the price, so all you need to bring is your dirty clothes. It's called Splash BCN - http://www.splashlaundry.es - PUTACIÓ, 199 (PLAÇA UNIVERSITAT ) - It is right around the corner from the hotel.

Also, the double bed rooms are two single beds pushed together.

The hotel is very close to the METRO and in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment about Axel Hotel Barcelona. We are pleased that you have stay in our hotel. We strive to provide the ultimate service while maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.

We look forward to seeing you here again in the not-too-distant future.

Best Regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 2,619 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

A gay oriented hotel which I have stayed at about 4 times now. Rooms do vary in size and the best ones for space are the outside rooms but they do warn about noise and I don't think views are particularly stunning. Service is usually friendly, particularly the front desk. Axel Sky Bar on the roof is a great place to get some sun but the pool is small. The bar gets busy in the evenings and enjoyable place to have a drink in the warm nights. Not the cheapest but I still think worth it for its location and roof.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great opinion!!
We really appreciate your time to give us your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services.
We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at any of our worldwide Axel Hotels.

Million thanks,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Just had three nights and we were not overwhelmed . The experience the hotel eludes to was just not in evidence . A pink trap . All skirt and no knickers is fine for some scene queens . Five bar staff on the roof with five guests and they couldn't even clean the tables as they were far too important . Considering it was gay pride weekend where was the party in the downstairs bar ? Not a single customer . A great location though .

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Gwynant21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that your stay at the hotel was not to your liking.

First of all I want to apologize for an atypical situation that has lived in our hotel, I must say that we have already taken action in this regard on its non-satisfaction with staff.

I can only tell you, to please give us a second chance, which I'm sure will not disappoint you this time.

Again sorry for what happened, yours faithfully,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

very nice hotel good service at specially Luis at the hotel desk. Rooms where nice and good and is close to the Metro universy The bar at the roof was a littel bit expensive.
Was close to the Ramblas and other nice points in Barcelona

Room Tip: sometimes the Wifi fell out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Antoine115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great opinion!!
We really appreciate your time to give us your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services.
We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at any of our worldwide Axel Hotels.

Million thanks,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for one night as we decided to leave Sitges early. The lobby area is smart and the staff very friendly (apart from terse cocktail staff on the roof) but after that initial introduction it went downhill. I opted for the premium room which at first glances looked good but attention to detail was poor. The furniture is falling apart and the suspended ceiling missing bits, looking incongruous set against the rather delightful wallpaper.

I am pleased we only stayed one night as the room developed a very strong fishy glue odour as soon as the A/C was switched on (which you had to do as the rooms are relatively small and opening the windows was hard as the road outside was very very loud). The smell was particularly bad when we returned from a club at 4am, so much so that my husband wanted to call reception to see if something had died. Being British, I did not want to make a fuss just for one night so googled reviews which mention the smell. Had we stayed longer, I would have had to complain.

We booked a room with breakfast which was a mistake as it was poor. As a vegetarian who was avoiding white carbs there was little choice. We asked for eggs and was told they were late arriving. We sat down at 8.45am and the eggs arrived at 9.50pm.

I was saddened by my experience as the hotel is in a wonderful place and most staff friendly, and it is something of a gay icon, but it was woefully inadequate in my view.

I rarely post less positive reviews but felt the overall experience was not a good one. Thankfully our next hotel in the Raval area made up for the poor quality offer at Axel and saved our weekend celebrating my husband's 40th birthday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binnysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would really like to thank you for your opinion and the time you have spent on it. In Axel Hotel Barcelona, we always try to improve our services so that our customers can enjoy the hotel and its facilities.

I would also like to apologize if your room was not as your expectations, but as you perfectly explained we put the reception staff at your disposal for any issues during your stay 24h a day, they will be more than happy to find a solution for that problem and make your experience exactly as you expected.

At the same time, we will take note of your comments regarding the breakfast for an atypical situation that has lived in our hotel, I must say that we have already taken action and it was a problem from the company that delivers us the products, it was a particular case and that we will remedy immediately, thank you very much again for your help to improve even more.

I hope you can give us a second chance and we wish to see you soon with us at any of our Axel Hotels.

Best regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Taxi's on strike didn't help in trying to get to this destination. But worth the effort of only one block away from the Metro. The room was the 6th floor with great views of the grand buildings surrounding. The roof top we unfortunately didn't take advantage of until our last night with a cocktail and a swim in the shallow but refreshing pool. The views from there gave you the full city vista. The numerous gay bars and restaurants within easy walking distance gave every night something to explore.
The decor was very pleasant and having a balcony was a plus.
Would definitely book here again for sure as we so loved the beautiful city of Barcelona.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiMountMaunganui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great opinion!!
We really appreciate your time to give us your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services.
We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at any of our worldwide Axel Hotels.

Million thanks,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The actual hotel vastly differs from the glossy marketing photos on its web site. Our room (premium) was dated - bath marked and shower rail/spout tarnished. Sanitary equipment also dated and damaged but clean. Basic furniture - definitely not boutique more a 3* standard. Carpet in communal areas need replacing and the whole place didn't have a sense of charm or glam
Room impregnated with smoke which for a non smoker is a turn off. Roof top bar is unique but drinks are expensive

Just felt that for £125 for room only was over priced and as often the case when a hotel says its gay friendly it actual it way of justifying an exorbitant price - real pity when you feel that you have been done

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fryston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment about Axel Hotel Barcelona. We are pleased that you have stay in our hotel.

We have taken note of your comments and hope to remedy soon, in order to improve our quality and service.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#86 of 518 in Barcelona
748 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#48 of 518 in Barcelona
1,524 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#137 of 518 in Barcelona
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#108 of 518 in Barcelona
3,463 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#95 of 518 in Barcelona
1,733 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
#176 of 518 in Barcelona
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Address: Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £55 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 105 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing