We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it look like”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Ranked #161 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel looks great, especially the spacious terrace. But there is things that doesn't work in the rooms (we had problem with the front door locker, since the staff were incapable to fix it we had to change room, and was in fact downgraded. No compensation for that and other problems). The roof is fabulous, but there is also a lot of noice from there and from "private" parties in the hotel as well. Compared to the well maintained Hotel Axel in Berlin, this one is a laugh.

Room Tip: To to close to the roof activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JournalistEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would really like to thank you for your opinion and the time you have spent on it.

I would also like to apologize if your room was not as your expectations, but we put the reception staff at your disposal for any issues during your stay 24h a day, they will be more than happy to find a solution for that problem and make your experience exactly as you expected.

I hope you can give us a second chance and we wish to see you soon with us at any of our Axel Hotels.

Best regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 2,599 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel upgraded to large suite had great large room with 2 balconies. Large king bed which we liked.
Central location.
A little over priced with other hotels in Barcelona. Close to many bars and transport.
Good restaurants near buy.
If you enjoy going out and partying then this is your hotel as there is a party on the bar top deck every night.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Bruno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Barcelona. Also thank you for your opinion and for sharing it with all travelers on Trip Advisor. Your opinion it´s very helpful for us and we really appreciate you take your time and give us your point of view about us.

We hope to see you very soon,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Decided to stay for another 3 days in Barcelona after a 1 1/2 week vacation in Sitges with my husband. I wanted to try Axel Barcelona out, since I had a nice experience in Axel Berlin few years back. Decided to book a "Premium Room" since we wanted a bit extra for the remaining days.

For a nearly 200 euros per night I expected the Premium room to have something, well, premium included. Well, a great disappointment. While the room description said there'd be a balcony overlooking the city, there was, but only a French balcony in which two people could barely stand. No chairs, just a plain balcony. The room itself was quite ok, clean and comfortable, but I would rather call it a standard room - compared to other hotels in the L'Eixample - Gracia area. Obviously what made it "premium" was that the windows faced the street, not the dark inner yard as the standard rooms. Even in a standard room with a mini bar one could expect to have drinking glasses - all we had was small cups that you obviously were supposed to use both for teeth brushing as well as your drinks... The standard Wi-Fi is a joke.

While the room was certainly a big disappointment, the rest of the hotel was a satisfying experience. The Sky Bar with pool and sun loungers was great with superb views over the city (even though one of the bartenders wanted to play the music too loud for a daytime sun worshipping - you couldn't hear what the person next you was saying...), the breakfast at Bench restaurant was good and - in contrary to many other reviews here - we experienced nothing but very attentive and friendly service everywhere - at the reception, restaurant and even in the Sky Bar.

I think that the superb location and brand positioning gives Axel the possibility to add a material pink markup to the room rates. If you're ok with that, give it a try. We most probably won't return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AaPee1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Barcelona. Also thank you for your opinion and for sharing it with all travelers on Trip Advisor. Your opinion it´s very helpful for us and we really appreciate you take your time and give us your point of view about us.

We will really take note about your comments regarding to the room and we will be more than happy to see you again and offer you the best room we have available.

I hope you can give us a second chance and we wish to see you soon with us in any of the Axel Hotels.

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

It was our second time to Barcelona and our first at the Axel hotel - we have to say it will not be our last.....from walking in the door and being welcomed by the great staff the whole experience was exceptional, super location and good value, sky bar and pool was excellent overlooking the city finest thanks team we will be back very soon.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your opinion, it´s very helpful for us. We strive to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We provide maximum efficiency in your individual care regarding both quality of our services and accommodation aspects.

Hope to see you back here in any of our Axel Hotels.

Kind Regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Booked a 3 night stay here July 2014.
The hotel mentions on its website Hetro-friendly and has many guests returning.

Location ----
We travelled by Train from Airport and alight at Passeig de Gracia which was opposite the Gaudi house, from there it is 5 min walk and your there (easy to find) We found the location to be spot on to be so near to the gay bars etc.

Reception ----
Trendy and quiche I would like to say, the staff are so friendly (model like also) and they could not do enough to help you find your way around Barcelona and anything about the Hotel itself.

Rooms ----
We were upgraded to the premium room with a balcony and french doors. The room was spacious and was in tip top condition.
The bed was huge and so comfy along with the air con which was needed as the sun was shining in the room most of day. Bathroom had a bubbly bath and shower over,toilet and basin.
Safe was provided free and a mini fridge with drinks to pay for.

Gym / Steam ----
This hotel had a gym with plenty of weight machines and free weights too, treadmills and well air-conditioning. this was free of charge for guests to use, however if you wanted to use the sauna, steam area then you had to pay €10, shame this wasn't free for paying guests. We did have a look at the steam area it was trendy but with only one person in there.

Wifi ----
Free of charge. Good connection and speed.

Roof terrace ----
This was closed when we arrived as Barcelona had just had a huge thunderstorm, but reopened the following day. Its had sunbeds, and shaded areas too, pool and Jacuzzi tub. Drinks were well overpriced, we had 3 drinks (spirits + Splash of Cola) Approx €40 later !

Restaurant ----
I was disappointed in what it had to offer. we ordered fillet steak and although it looked nice it was not the best. the menu needs to be looked at and maybe add vegetables to the plate would of been nice. Service although the guy was pleasant and could not fault that he did seemed a little unorganised thank goodness it wasn't busy. After that evening we ate out and found some stunning places to eat.

Overall ----
+ Fab Location / Room Size / Roof Terrace / Friendly Staff / Free GYM / Free WIFI / Quiet Hotel with trendy fixings etc / We would book again to stay here
- having to pay for the steam or sauna as a guest / Organisation in the restaurant / Pricey drinks on roof terrace.

Room Tip: Always worth that upgrade to Premium city view for a bigger room and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E-Ticket-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great opinion!!
We really appreciate your time to give us your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services.
We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at any of our worldwide Axel Hotels.

Million thanks,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My third visit. The hotel describes itself as hetro-friendly - which it is. There is a spa/sauna in the basement which can be smelt in the lobby The staff are efficient rather than friendly; but will help with all requests Buffet breakfast is good and constantly restocked.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 63Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great opinion!!
We really appreciate your time to give us your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services.
We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at any of our worldwide Axel Hotels.

Million thanks,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Visited the Terrace at Axel twice in the last week for a pre dinner drinks and then for post dinner on another occasion. A great terrace taking most of the top of the building with a Jacuzzi and pool and some great lounging areas to chill. We had a DJ on both occasion and it was super cool to sip a cocktail while listening to music and getting the fresh breeze while looking at the Barcelona lights.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great opinion!!
We really appreciate your time to give us your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services.
We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at any of our worldwide Axel Hotels.

Million thanks,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#88 of 517 in Barcelona
731 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#49 of 517 in Barcelona
1,517 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#139 of 517 in Barcelona
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 517 in Barcelona
2,125 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
#170 of 517 in Barcelona
2,537 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 517 in Barcelona
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Address: Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#117 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £50 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 105 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing