We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I couldn´t have had a better experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Ranked #210 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“I couldn´t have had a better experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I knew that Axel Hotel Barcelona was cool, the staff very kind, the localtion couldn´t be better (in the right center of the gay district), the rooms beautiful and the terrace sooooo fun! but know I personally can confirm it!!! AXEL HOTEL BARCELONA is a wonderful option!! I will never forget ¨THE BELLBOY party¨... the party of sundays in the sky bar! guys!... must go there! I really love Barcelona!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the magnificent views and the confidence you have placed in us as Axel hotel.
We always try to offer the best service and quality to our guests and we are delighted that you value our efforts; please we invite you to repeat with us and be part of Axel hotels.

Kind Regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    716
    357
    186
    114
See reviews for
61
1,063
458
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very good!!! The service is amazing, they are very tough-full and they care a lot for the guests needs. We had a great time during our stay so thank you so much for everything! We will definitely think about axel hotel when we return to Barcelona!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaeljameson1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment about Axel Hotel Barcelona. We are pleased that you have stay in our hotel. We strive to provide the ultimate service while maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.

We look forward to seeing you here again in the not-too-distant future.

Best Regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Axel Hotel is slap bang in the centre of the Eixample (or Gayxample as it is known locally), the gay area of Barcelona. The overwhelming number of guests are gay, so if you are in any way uncomfortable being around gay people this is probably not the hotel for you!

To be honest, our first impressions when we arrived weren't great and didn't improve through our stay. I hadn't realised that unlike every single other hotel I've ever stayed in they wanted me to pay for my entire stay right there and then at check-in. In fairness to them, when I went back to my e-mail confirmation it did state that was their policy, but I hadn't thought to look for it because I'd never experienced it before. We had guaranteed the reservation on my credit card, but wanted to pay with my partner's card. Things got too complex for the young receptionist and a supervisor had to take over. He was not pleased with us and didn't hide it very well! It felt awful being those "difficult" guests and holding up check-in for the people behind us.

Eventually we got things sorted and made our way to our hotel room. The lifts and corridors of the hotel are pretty dark, like a nightclub. We had reserved a premium room and we were disappointed with what we got. A lot of the fixtures and fittings were worn. One of the bathroom sinks was chipped, there was wallpaper peeling off, some dust on the telephone. The water pressure from the peekaboo shower was dreadful (I think there may have been a leak in the hose) and the hooks to hang-up your bath towel were inside the separate toilet which was a bit of a design fault. We had a balcony that looked out on to the street, but it was completely enclosed in glass, so was way too hot and not really conducive to sitting out in. It also looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while.

We did spend some time in the Sky Bar which was perhaps our favourite part of the hotel. It's only for guests during the day up till 6pm and is open to the public after that time. Like most other hotels in Barcelona, the pool itself is quite small and is only for cooling down rather than swimming. Normally, you can get a pool towel at the bar, but on the second day of our stay there was some problem so we just brought our own from our room. Drinks are pricey, but that's to be expected.

On our last morning before we checked out we wanted to use the pool and asked the same receptionist from our check-in what time the rooftop opened from. He thought it was 9am, but wasn't sure and didn't bother finding out for us. It kind of summed up our customer service experience at the Axel hotel. We had to pay for the drinks we had ordered at the bar anyway on check-out, so it baffled me why we couldn't have paid for the room at the same time.

Barcelona is a fantastic and very gay-friendly city. It begs the question whether there is a need for a "hetero-friendly" hotel at all, especially when it manages to get much of the basics of any hotel experience so wrong.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdublin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would really like to thank you for your opinion and the time you have spent on it. In Axel Hotel Barcelona, we always try to improve our services so that our customers can enjoy the hotel and its facilities.

I would also like to apologize if your room was not as your expectations, but we put the reception staff at your disposal for any issues during your stay 24h a day, they will be more than happy to find a solution for that problem and make your experience exactly as you expected.

I hope you can give us a second chance and we wish to see you soon with us at any of our Axel Hotels.

Best regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at Axel Barcelona 11-14 July and had a great time. Room was comfortable with all necessary amenities. The Sky Bar on top floor is an excellent place to relax, sunbath and socialize. It also attracts a very hip gay crowd at nights from all over the city , both local and tourists. The atmosphere of the hotel is "playful" and there are lots of cute gay guys around to meet. If you want to stay alone in your room and not talk to anybody, maybe this hotel is not for you. Best if you are gay.

PS Congratulations to the 4 masseurs from Peru, Spain, Poland and Venezuela (can't remember their names) who performed an 8-hand massage on me. It s a bit expensive but definitely worth it. A fantastic experience. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: If you are "shy" don't choose a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 31man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great opinion!!
We really appreciate your time to give us your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services.
We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at any of our worldwide Axel Hotels.

Million thanks,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel looks great, especially the spacious terrace. But there is things that doesn't work in the rooms (we had problem with the front door locker, since the staff were incapable to fix it we had to change room, and was in fact downgraded. No compensation for that and other problems). The roof is fabulous, but there is also a lot of noice from there and from "private" parties in the hotel as well. Compared to the well maintained Hotel Axel in Berlin, this one is a laugh.

Room Tip: To to close to the roof activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JournalistEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would really like to thank you for your opinion and the time you have spent on it.

I would also like to apologize if your room was not as your expectations, but we put the reception staff at your disposal for any issues during your stay 24h a day, they will be more than happy to find a solution for that problem and make your experience exactly as you expected.

I hope you can give us a second chance and we wish to see you soon with us at any of our Axel Hotels.

Best regards,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel upgraded to large suite had great large room with 2 balconies. Large king bed which we liked.
Central location.
A little over priced with other hotels in Barcelona. Close to many bars and transport.
Good restaurants near buy.
If you enjoy going out and partying then this is your hotel as there is a party on the bar top deck every night.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Barcelona. Also thank you for your opinion and for sharing it with all travelers on Trip Advisor. Your opinion it´s very helpful for us and we really appreciate you take your time and give us your point of view about us.

We hope to see you very soon,

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torremolinos, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Decided to stay for another 3 days in Barcelona after a 1 1/2 week vacation in Sitges with my husband. I wanted to try Axel Barcelona out, since I had a nice experience in Axel Berlin few years back. Decided to book a "Premium Room" since we wanted a bit extra for the remaining days.

For a nearly 200 euros per night I expected the Premium room to have something, well, premium included. Well, a great disappointment. While the room description said there'd be a balcony overlooking the city, there was, but only a French balcony in which two people could barely stand. No chairs, just a plain balcony. The room itself was quite ok, clean and comfortable, but I would rather call it a standard room - compared to other hotels in the L'Eixample - Gracia area. Obviously what made it "premium" was that the windows faced the street, not the dark inner yard as the standard rooms. Even in a standard room with a mini bar one could expect to have drinking glasses - all we had was small cups that you obviously were supposed to use both for teeth brushing as well as your drinks... The standard Wi-Fi is a joke.

While the room was certainly a big disappointment, the rest of the hotel was a satisfying experience. The Sky Bar with pool and sun loungers was great with superb views over the city (even though one of the bartenders wanted to play the music too loud for a daytime sun worshipping - you couldn't hear what the person next you was saying...), the breakfast at Bench restaurant was good and - in contrary to many other reviews here - we experienced nothing but very attentive and friendly service everywhere - at the reception, restaurant and even in the Sky Bar.

I think that the superb location and brand positioning gives Axel the possibility to add a material pink markup to the room rates. If you're ok with that, give it a try. We most probably won't return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaPee1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORGEPEREZ, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Barcelona. Also thank you for your opinion and for sharing it with all travelers on Trip Advisor. Your opinion it´s very helpful for us and we really appreciate you take your time and give us your point of view about us.

We will really take note about your comments regarding to the room and we will be more than happy to see you again and offer you the best room we have available.

I hope you can give us a second chance and we wish to see you soon with us in any of the Axel Hotels.

Jorge Perez
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#67 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#156 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#93 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#122 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#88 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#51 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Property: Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Address: Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#138 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 105 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing