We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all you need for a perfect stay in barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Ranked #199 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“all you need for a perfect stay in barcelona”
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The hotel is a very nice and comfortable one. And the staff is really friendly, well educated and allway ready to help. I think is a perfect hotel to spend ome holidays in barcelona.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 2 February 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for all your description about us. We really apreciatte you take your time to wrotte about us.
For your information we continue working to continue to be very helpfull for you and very educate staff for a good qualitie and good service.
Again, thank you so much for staying with us and for all your comments.
Best regards
Borja Julia
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,025
    731
    362
    189
    114
See reviews for
61
1,092
466
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

beautiful rooms, great staff.I make 4 or 5 business and leisure trips to barcelona every year, and this is the best hotel I have found in the city yet. it is gay friendly, but I am not gay. still it will be my hotel of choice in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank jerry186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Google Translation
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us during your las visit in Barcelona.
When I started to read your comments I was scare about the title Absolutely Terrific Hotel...and then I found a nice surprise with your description. Thank you so much!
We inform you that we are HETEROFRIENDLY and we will be very glad if we can see you again with us! So please do not hesistate to come back!
Our best regards!
Borja Juliá
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Very friendly staff room was very nice and clean and location was fantastic for going out on the gay scene in Barcelona shall definitely be back to stay thank you

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKRYAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us during your last trip in Barcelona. We also thank you for your positive opinion about us.
We thank you that you take your time to wrotte about us and with such good comments, for us our guest opinion is very helpfull.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for any other information!
We hope to see you soon with us.
Borja Julia
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Was in Barcelona for a
Conference and was so happy with my stay that I decided to return after a weekend in Sevilla for a dew more days. Especially appreciated the slick bathrooms/dressing area in the deluxe rooms overlooking the quiet courtyard and the rooftop pool. Courteous staff, minimalist comfortable rooms, my only suggestion was larger soaps... and bigger robes as theirs have obviously shrunk. Was assured that they were working on it and based on their attention to details, I believe it.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LagunaInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your opinion!
We inform you that we continue working for an excellent service and your opinion is very helpfull, we really apreciatte you take your time to wrotte about us and to suggest, to include in our amenities, a bigger robes and larger soaps.
We hope to see you soon with us!
Borja Julia
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorca, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We had a lovely room on the 5th floor with a very comfortable king sized bed and great shower. We were at the front of the hotel but barely noticed street noise. Perhaps the room was missing a comfy chair and bin but the trendy decor and furnishings were fine. It was not the weather for the roof jacuzzi and pool but this hotel has the best location for the gay traveller to explore and shop!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alastairsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your positive opinion about your last stay in Axel Hotel Barcelona.
Your opinion is very helpfull and very important for us.
We really apreciate what you mentioned in your criticism and we hope to see you, again, with us.
Please, if you come again, let us know if the room is noise or not, and we are going to do our best for you.
Thank you in advance
Borja Julia
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Amazing Hotel in Barcelona. Super friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are just spectacular. Bathrooms are beautiful. Jacuzzi and pool on the roof. gym center downstairs. Great bar and location. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! (except closed minded folks, it is a Gay owned and run Hotel) But they truly are Hetero Friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isleb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you so much!!
We love that we have Amazing Guest like you!!
I inform you that we continue working for our excellent service and for excellent qualitie for a four stars hotel.
We really apreciatte your opinion and as you know in Axel:
Anything can happen!
Best regards
Borja Julia
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Axel in Barcelona for 5 days in January. The hotel is very nicely designed, converted from an older building. The hotel has a wonderful roofdeck and outdoor hot tub (which was closed for the winter), a clean and modern fitness center, which I used, and an excellent indoor pool and spa area. There is a sleek and elegant bar on the ground floor and a restaurant, which were very popular. My room was on the smaller but comfortable side, albeit a bit noisy because it was on a low floor and faced the street. The room was clean and elegant, and nice bathroom products were provided. Overall, this is an excellent choice, especially for a gay traveler, either solo or traveling as a couple, due to the very central location in the L'Eixample district of Barcelona, and literally a few steps to some of the best gay bars in the city. Since I stayed for 5 days, I got a substantial 22% discount by reserving on the hotel's website. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. My only complaint is that the wi-fi access in my room was very poor and the signal was weak. Overall, the Hotel Axel is a great value for the amenities, location, and vibe,

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSVNYC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your constructive criticism and thank you for take your time to wrotte about us.
I inform you that we modified our Wifi system one week ago, because as you said we had a problems with the connection in some areas or floors. Now everything is correct.
Please, if you come back again with us, let us know how is the Wifi system works.
Thank you very much for your support!
Borja Julia Blanch
Axel Hotel Barcelona
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#78 of 513 in Barcelona
601 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#147 of 513 in Barcelona
932 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#126 of 513 in Barcelona
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#50 of 513 in Barcelona
1,410 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#90 of 513 in Barcelona
1,604 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Property: Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Address: Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 105 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing