We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Ranked #195 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced hotel”
Reviewed 5 February 2011

I went to Axel Hotel because everybody is recommending it. But I was quite disappointed.
So I did not get a king size bed although I ordered it. And the famous Wellness Center was closed during the whole weekend "for technical reason" and you did not get any discount or compensation. Service was quite average and not very helpful
I think 300 USD for a room in this hotel is far too much. You will find much nicer hotels in Barcelona for less
Marco

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcozurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Dear Sir,
Sorry if your last stay with us disappointed you. We would like apologize if you had the Spa Area, not the Gym, closed during that days. We had some problems with our Jacuzzi, but last saturday was open again. It was close for a few days.
We hope you decide to stay again in Axel Hotel Barcelona during your next visit to Barcelona so we can show you our improvements and you can use our Spa from Wellness 33.
Thank you in advance, and sorry for the inconvinience.
Borja Juliá
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,042
    738
    364
    191
    114
See reviews for
61
1,106
474
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Service was lovely, decor very gay, contemporary and chic. No free wireless internet and no bahtub, which i desperately needed after several days of unjust abuse at the hands of the spanish authorities. Staff at lounge bar was very friendly. Despite the nightclub style athmosphere at the ground level, the room was very quiet. Location is ideal. Rooms on the smaller side. Price is well worthit but when i wanted to rebook for August, their rates were exorbitant and we decided against it. Overall i loved it.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LUXTRVLXPERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice opinion, for us is very important.
Also, thank you for consider us Gayest Hotel In Barcelona, we try to be, but, also do not forget that we are a Heterofriendly Hotel.
We hope to see you again with us in Axel Hotel Barcelona
Best regards
Borja Juliá
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Situated ideally (University Square) for the Metro and the T2 Aeport bus (5.05 euro, don't know why it was this strange price) and within a block or two for most of the clubs and bars we wanted to visit in the gay example area, I have no hesitation in recommending this lovely hotel. No worries about the staff speaking English (although I used a few Catalan phases that seemed to go down well). We were immediately upgraded when we said it was out first visit (tip) into a very nice 'superior' room with a balcony. Some might say the street noise is audible a bit, but to be fair we hardly noticed it. There are smoking facilities on the second floor patio area and the bar downstairs was very nice with an outside (arch covered) smoking area as well. We also used the cafe across the road Lorenza (cheapest coffee 3 euros for two!!) and the staff were very friendly. We had breakfast in the hotel and it was just the same as any holiday hotel with hot and cold buffet, toast tea etc..(but a bit pricey, but I've paid the same/more in London 14-16 euros each.). Would I go back? yes. There are some hotels on and around the Ramblas, but I liked the stroll down into the Plazas (5-10 minutes) and I didn't feel as edgy as I did in the Ramblas area! I know the Ramblas is a people watcher area, but I wasn't sure the right people were watching me (be aware you will look like a tourist)! (nice to be a few blocks back). This time of year was quiet (good) and I forgot most of the shops close on a Sunday (good for them). Had a night in the Axel bar and it seemed to be popular with both gay men and gay women (which helped me enjoy it more). quite a few women coules staying thee at the same time from Manchester) Most of the people I met were only too pleased to help and didn't mind the fact I have virtually no Spanish (but if you can use French, that seemed to get me half way there). Like any city break a few days is not enough to to see everything, but we have used the tour bus (22 euros ish) in the past and it takes you to all the major attractions and you can hop on and off wherever you like. The Barcelona Card is pricey(not useable on the tour buses) and we used it this time and it paid for itself in reductions to the museums/art exhibitions/Metro and red public buses after a day (and you don't need to worry about buying tickets all the time). I read a few reviews before I went and I think they were mostly correct, but it tried to be plush and modern and I think it succeeds and for that you might have to pay a bit more than the lesser hotels. So in conclusion will I stay there again in September on the way back from Sitges..YES.
PS(47 euro for 200 Malboro gold, might be just as well buying them at the airport now on the way back). Forgot to mention, go to the rooftop bar and be amazed with the style and views!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brianTManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Axel Hotel for your recent stay in Barcelona. We have read your comments about the hotel on Trip Advisor, and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
We are very glad to have a guest like you and we inform you that if you had fun during in our The Ground Bar Club, you will love our SkyBar during the summer.
Hope to see you again in Axel Hotel Barcelona
Best regards
Borja Juliá
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The hotel is a very nice and comfortable one. And the staff is really friendly, well educated and allway ready to help. I think is a perfect hotel to spend ome holidays in barcelona.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 2 February 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for all your description about us. We really apreciatte you take your time to wrotte about us.
For your information we continue working to continue to be very helpfull for you and very educate staff for a good qualitie and good service.
Again, thank you so much for staying with us and for all your comments.
Best regards
Borja Julia
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

beautiful rooms, great staff.I make 4 or 5 business and leisure trips to barcelona every year, and this is the best hotel I have found in the city yet. it is gay friendly, but I am not gay. still it will be my hotel of choice in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank jerry186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Google Translation
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us during your las visit in Barcelona.
When I started to read your comments I was scare about the title Absolutely Terrific Hotel...and then I found a nice surprise with your description. Thank you so much!
We inform you that we are HETEROFRIENDLY and we will be very glad if we can see you again with us! So please do not hesistate to come back!
Our best regards!
Borja Juliá
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Very friendly staff room was very nice and clean and location was fantastic for going out on the gay scene in Barcelona shall definitely be back to stay thank you

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKRYAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us during your last trip in Barcelona. We also thank you for your positive opinion about us.
We thank you that you take your time to wrotte about us and with such good comments, for us our guest opinion is very helpfull.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for any other information!
We hope to see you soon with us.
Borja Julia
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Was in Barcelona for a
Conference and was so happy with my stay that I decided to return after a weekend in Sevilla for a dew more days. Especially appreciated the slick bathrooms/dressing area in the deluxe rooms overlooking the quiet courtyard and the rooftop pool. Courteous staff, minimalist comfortable rooms, my only suggestion was larger soaps... and bigger robes as theirs have obviously shrunk. Was assured that they were working on it and based on their attention to details, I believe it.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LagunaInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your opinion!
We inform you that we continue working for an excellent service and your opinion is very helpfull, we really apreciatte you take your time to wrotte about us and to suggest, to include in our amenities, a bigger robes and larger soaps.
We hope to see you soon with us!
Borja Julia
General Manager
Axel Hotel Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#71 of 512 in Barcelona
626 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#146 of 512 in Barcelona
949 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#127 of 512 in Barcelona
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#47 of 512 in Barcelona
1,431 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 512 in Barcelona
4,461 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#34 of 512 in Barcelona
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa

Property: Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa
Address: Aribau 33, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faithful to the concept and style of Axel-design, comfortable, cosmopolitan atmosphere, is a good value for price. The 105 rooms combine the touch of decoration from Modernism with the warmth and elegance of the Mediterranean. New spaces at Axel Hotel Barcelona, will become the urban meeting point of the heterofriendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Lastminute, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Barcelona & Urban Spa Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing