We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soul Backpackers Barcelona
Ranked #182 of 738 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I loved it, best hostel I've ever!!! been in Europe. For that price (but off-season) I just couldn't believe it!
Lovely staff and the guests were also very nice. It was as quiet as hostel can be, and the facilities (kitchen, living room etc) were pleasant. Anytime again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

The hostel is located near the metro station but you can also easily get to the main turistic attractions on foot (approximately 20 minutes). Cheap restaurants nearby with good quality food. The staff in the hostel is very helpful and keen to talk. Rooms clean (staff provide clean sheets for each guest)with six beds in each of them. There is a locked wardrobe so you can safely leave your things while sightseeing. Two showers, one big bathroom, terrace and spacious kitchen at your disposal (you can make yourself tea or coffe or just use hot water). Decent breakfast included in the price. Though there were many backpackers staying in the hostel it was very quiet at night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

It's not another fun and party hostel in Barcelona, but rather quiet and peaceful place to sleep in. The staff is very open and friendly, willing to recommend nice places to see or/and eat at.
The hostel may be a bit difficult to find for the first time, but its location is really good. It takes about 5 minutes to get to Girona metro station. There are some shops around, and good and affordable restaurant just across the street.

We stayed in the hostel just for one night, but that's enough to recommend the place for other backpackers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kspr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

i started an 8-day visit to the city, my first time in Barcelona, by staying my first two nights here. It was reasonably easy to find, very close to a metro station. i was welcomed by a very friendly, Javier, i think it was. The room & bed was adequate, i was next to a window opening out to the main street, but it wasn't too noisy out there, and the guests during my stay also kept quiet. Some reviews have commented on the small kitchen, and it certainly is small if you're planning to cook a 7-course meal in there, but all i needed was to store some items in the fridge. There's enough common areas where guests can sit and chat or surf the net, and the terrace is also a nice place. Breakfast isn't much to write home about, expected for the price.

i recommend this place for the quiet location, the price you pay, and the staff friendliness.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tipu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Directions were not given properly in the website. They gave a wrong direction and I was searching for more than half an hour from the so called nearest metro station. Too many useless rules to keep the guests calm and quite. Guests were entering the room in the mid night disturbing everyone but they didn't allow me to shower in the morning at 6am saying that it would disturb everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkashyaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Really nice place, good staff, friendly atmosphere. Great location right in between Barri Gotic, Passeig de Gracia and Sagrada Familia. Large lockers, fit whole suitcases. Nice terrace in case you like to stay in one night. Only slight complain is the small number of bathrooms available, and there's only one stove for the whole hostel - queues for showering and cooking may happen. A little hard to find, no sign advertising the place. Look for the house number! Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street, the locals like using their car horns a bit too enthusiastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I was going to Barcelona on a budget. Have stayed there 3 times, even when I could have stayed someplace pricier.
Let me start from the beginning.
My first trip to Barcelona. Alone. I didn't know anyone and I didn't speak Spanish but when I got to the other, more popular, hostel they said there was no room even though I had a reservation. The desk called a bunch of different places and couldn't find any hostel that had room. I thought I would be sleeping on the beach or blowing my budget, but as I left, someone else offered to give me the name of a friend who was just trying to open a hostel.... it turned out to be Rosa and Moises, the fab owners of Backpackers. They took me in and really made me feel like a friend who was visiting more than a guest or customer. The other guests were largely European students who were in BCN for an extended period too, so we all got to know the city well. And backpackers was the perfect balance of friendly and privacy. The location is great and things like showers, breakfast, etc are all set up for maximum convenience. Plus I think it was less expensive than the place I had planned to stay!
I cam back a few months later, and then a few years later. They make it easy and stressfree to reserve, and are so upfront about everything - costs, rules, whatever and everytime I have been there the manager(s) have been super helpful as far as tips so far as what is going on in the city: places to check out, etc. They are happy to explain all sorts of random things that tourists typically might not know. They gave me tips when we rented a car to go to Port Llegat and Figueres to see the Dali sites. They explained how to see Sitges cheaply and where the best stalls were in the Mercat de la Boqueria.
I even finagled Barcelona soccer tickets on a couple trips through contacts at Backpackers. They'll give you the inside scoop about things that interest you or direct you to people or places who might know if they don't. You just don't get that kind of personal connection at every hostel.
Those sorts of experiences are part of the reason I love the city so much, and I have Backpackers to thank for much of it. It must have been destiny. Merci!

Room Tip: Check the website which has excellent descriptions, or email them directly. They are very responsive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank djinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
ANT Hostel Barcelona
ANT Hostel Barcelona
#257 of 738 in Barcelona
145 reviews
Eixample
Diagonal House
Diagonal House
#127 of 738 in Barcelona
291 reviews
Eixample
The Hipstel
The Hipstel
#181 of 738 in Barcelona
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Jam Hostel Barcelona
Jam Hostel Barcelona
#37 of 738 in Barcelona
165 reviews
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 738 in Barcelona
1,636 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#34 of 520 in Barcelona
4,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soul Backpackers Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soul Backpackers Barcelona

Address: Diputacion 323 | Principal 1a, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 738 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: £19 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soul Backpackers Barcelona - a hostel with soul. This cozy and charming hostel is located in a beautiful historic building of l'Eixample in the heart of Barcelona's modern city. It is only a 10 minute walk to the city centre (Placa Catalunya and Les Rambles), a 5 minute walk to the Old City, and only one block to the closest metro station (Girona Metro). So, main attractions like Sagrada Familia, Casa Batllo, Citadel Park and the districts of Gracia, Sant Antoni and the Barceloneta are all readily accessible. Small and cozy 26-bed hostel is located on the main floor of a Modernist building of the Catalan bourgeoisie. This apartment-style space features its original high ceilings and colour tiled floors, making the hostel a unique place to stay. In addition, our large exterior terrace is the perfect place to relax after a long day of visiting the city and to keep cool on hot summer days.Although a 19th century building, the hostel has all the comforts and conveniences of the 21st century - wireless internet, a computer, air conditioning, central heating, elevator, clean communal kitchen, and laundry services - the perfect fusion between Modernism and the modern world. We invite you to a hostel for those who want to experience the sights and sounds of Barcelona while having a clean and quiet place to sleep at night. Our friendly and approachable staff strive to offer you a warm welcome and provide you with any information you may need. We aim to offer a comfortable atmosphere that fosters a spirit of respect and a sense of community through activities and events - a hostel with soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Soul Backpackers Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Bcn Diputacio Hotel Barcelona
Soul Backpackers Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing