We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silken Concordia Hotel
Ranked #224 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had a nice 5 day stay at Hotel Silken Concordia in August. The hotel was better than expected from the pictures we had seen on the internet.

It was really lovely with the small pool area on the roof of the 5th floor.

The location was central but a bit far to walk to for example Placa Catalonia. Very close to Magic Fountain, and a decent walk to the harbor promenade.

If the chance arises I will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharina73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    398
    135
    44
    13
See reviews for
124
388
28
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

It may be a good hotel for business travel, it's 5~8 mins walk distance to plaza republica, nothing else rgding vacation travel, I will not choose it for next travel in Barcelona. No, I probably will never travel to Barcelona again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 拓 李
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Silken Concordia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear guest,

thanks for having chosen hotel Silken Concordia for your stay.

We regret you didn't enjoy the beautiful city of Barcelona in your family trip.

As any other big cities in Europe, sometimes travelling with children or elderly people is not easy. But Barcelona has got a great public transport and weather that make easy to move from one place to another.

Wishing you the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have been to Barcelona a few time. This time I booked a hotel then decided to stay a few extra days and ended up staying here, much to my disappointment. This hotel is just awful. They claim to be a 4 star but are more like 2 stars.

Staff: The staff was rude and unhelpful. I had a few issues during my stay(see below) and the front desk staff did not care at all. It seemed like I was bothering them if I asked a question or for directions. The staff in the restaurant ignored us until I repeatedly asked for assistance.

Location: Even though this hotel is located in neighborhood convenient to transit, it is run-down and rough. Do not be expecting it to be tourist friendly. It was not pretty and at sometimes we felt a little uncomfortable.

Rooms: The room was an okay size, but the lay out was odd. There was a long narrow hallway inside our room with a closet not even big enough for a small suitcase. I had to beg to receive an actually queen size bed, not one with two twins pushed together. It was dark and didn't receive much light through the one small porthole sized window. Furthermore the A/C did not function properly. Our room was as hot and humid as a steam room. I complained on multiple occasions. I was first told they would have someone look at it. No one ever came to look at it. I tried to leave the system running all day and told the front desk as well as left a note in Spanish for the cleaning staff to not turn it off. Later in the day we returned to a balmy room because it had been turned off. I complained again and asked if we could change rooms. We were informed the hotel was full and there was absolutely nothing they could do. We suffered through another hot night.

Other: The pool was the nicest thing about this hotel but they close it FAR too early.
The business center was more like a corner with a computer and a broken printer.

I do NOT recommend this hotel. There are many other options in Barcelona that are of better value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Luis L, Public Relations Manager at Silken Concordia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
First of all,

thanks for staying at Hotel Silken Concordia. We are happy that you were pleased with our brand new Swimming pool. In your comment you state that you would like it to be open longer, but for the rest of the other guests in their rooms and for the safety of our guests, we consider that from 10am to 8pm is a good timetimeble. Nevertheless we will consider your comments and we will reconsider the opening and closing hours.

On the other hand we would like to excuse ourselves for the problem of the Aircon, it is our priority the satisfaction of our clients, and for this reason we will make sure that any problems that may occur during our guests stay are solved at once.

Thanks again for staying at out hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you want to visit a lot in a few days this is the hotel you should stay in. First of all, the bus which takes you from the airport to the city has its first stop 10 minutes by walk from the hotel (Placa Espanya stop). Secondly, it's a short ride from here to the airport (about 20 minutes). Thirdly, there is a metro station 2 minutes away from the hotel. Also, in placa de Espanya you can see the magic fountain- which starts playing at 9 p.m. until 11:30 p.m. (which, by the way, is one of my fav places in Barcelona - I should say a MUST SEE). You are just a few metro stops away from Las Ramblas or from La Sagrada Familia. The breakfast is great -plenty of options (both for vegetarians or non-vegetarians) - among others a good selection of cheeses (camembert,cheddar cheese etc.), fruits (kiwi, mangos, pineapple, melon etc.), the traditional Jamón ibérico and the Spanish Omelet (Tortilla Espanola) and as a drink they are offering, natural orange juice. It was a pleasant stay. I didn't spend so much time in the room, but I should say that the room was nice and clean. I didn't have time for the pool, though, it is not a place to stay longer that a few hours because the pool is really small - it is more like a kids pool. I went there one morning after breakfast and stayed only 10 minutes. They have also a small terrace. There were not so many people around at that time. All in all, it was a good stay, I have nothing bad to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Synthia_Jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is based in a nice location with it only being couple stops on the metro to La Ramblas, The rooms are reasonable size with a massive bed and very clean rooms. I recommend to stay here if your stopping into barca for a few nights to see the sights

We didnt have breakfast there but plenty of places around to get a bite

Free wifi and helpful front desk

The traffic on the road can be loud but just stay out and drink a bit more

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chademan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location not far from La Rambla (10 min walk). The rooms are clean and modern. The only problem we had were hard beds and noisy room. Room 111 (first floor) was basically street level. Very very noisy in the early morning. We heard recycling truck pick up bottles? Cars honking, sirens, and people singing right outside out window. I would suggest not to room on first floor

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butterflytravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Silken Concordia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

thanks for staying at Hotel Silken Concordia,
we are happy that you had a nice stay in Barcelona.

We are sorry for the inconveniences caused by some noises in the street, unfortunately in summer time people goes out more frequently and tend to be more noisy, plus usually the garbage is being picked up late at night in this city.

We thank again for having stayed in Hotel Silken Concordia and we look forward to greet you in your next trip yo Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel was reasonably located and priced. However, one's experience is almost directly related to the welcome one receives and the feeling of being a valued guest in the hotel. Having traveled all over the world, I was particularly keen in visiting Barcelona. The hotel staff never greeted me once or looked up as I or my family passed by the lobby. We asked for only 2 things - an electric converter and 2 extra pillows. We never got the converter - the front desk staff said that nobody returns them! The extra pillows were delivered on the last night of our stay after 3 reminders. I will absolutely never stay here again and not encourage a traveler that values customer service to do so either. My wonderful impression of Barcelona was marred by the hotel, when it could have easily been otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbitsi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Silken Concordia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
First of all thanks for choosing Hotel Silken Concordia in your stay in Barcelona.

We are sorry that you were not pleased with our Guest service.

It's our objective to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible. Regarding the electric converters we usually have them in stock and we are more than happy to lend them to our guests but unfortunately some people do not return them and it must have been the reason why we were not able to help you with that matter.

We will pass on your suggestions to our reception staff to make sure that no other guests find themselves in this particular situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
HCC Lugano
HCC Lugano
#198 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Montjuic
Hotel Paral - lel
Hotel Paral - lel
#99 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Montjuic
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
#258 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Hotel Diagonal Barcelona
Hotel Diagonal Barcelona
#228 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Montjuic
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
#115 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vilamari
Hotel Vilamari
#188 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Concordia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Concordia Hotel

Property: Silken Concordia Hotel
Address: Avinguda del Parallel, 115, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#188 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Concordia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silken Concordia is situated 800 metres from Plaza Espana and the Fira de Barcelona Exhibition Centre. It features an outdoor swimming pool, hot tub, cocktail bar and mini golf. The Silken Concordia's bright, spacious rooms feature contemporary decor and air conditioning. Each room includes free WiFi, a flat-screen TV, safe, minibar and a marble bathroom with a range of amenities. The Concordia's modern, elegant Bistro Triple Sec Restaurant serves typical Mediterranean cuisine, specialising in veal, steak tartar and homemade tomato salad. The varied breakfast buffet includes healthy options. There is also a cafe. Located next to Poble Sec Station, the hotel is a 5-minute Metro journey from Barcelona Port and La Rambla. You can also walk to the Rambla in 15 minutes. Direct airport buses stop in Plaza Espana, a 15-minute walk away. Private parking is available on site for an extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Lastminute, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silken Concordia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Concordia Barcelona
Hotel Silken Concordia
Silken Concordia Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing