We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bcn Urban Hotels Gran Ducat
Ranked #370 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 5 November 2013

What a good little hotel with the perfect location and great value for money! From the moment you arrive the staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are small but super clean and well maintained. We had the option of courtyard view or street view with a balcony which we were warned could be noisy but it was not and watching the world go by is priceless. Located in a good area half a block from Place de Cataluna which is the heart of the city and the transport hub. Many cafe's and restaurants around with endless options. I highly recommend the Gran Ducat

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dyllan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Simple, clean and comfortable hotel, very polite staff; well located right next to Las Ramblas and also next to McDonald's/Starbucks and another 24 hour cafe - for a quick bite in case you are leaving early for the airport. 2 minutes walk from the airport buses - noone recommends taking a cab, as the buses are every 3 minutes and very comfortable with stacks for suitcases etc.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing away from the front of the hotel, as despite being blocked off by a set of buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank electricshoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights with my husband and teenage son at the beginning of October 2013. As previous comments have said the location of this hotel is spot on. Slap bang in the centre and easy access to a multitude of tourist attractions . I chose this hotel because of this, but I was also aware of the negative comments made by others, so I knew what the hotel could be like.
I can only relay my experiences for people to make up their own minds on this hotel and whether to use it or not.

As I have said it is in the perfect position for tourists, easy access for Aerobus, hop on off bus, Ramblas, metro, museums, Gaudi's buildings, Gothic Quarter etc, etc. We were in room 309, it was a fair size, was very clean had comfy beds, good wifi but it urgently needed a coat of paint, the bathroom smelt very, very musty and had several broken tiles. Although it had a TV, we were told it couldn't pick up English channels but having re-tuned it ourselves we did manage to get one
English Channel!!! I know it seems a bit petty but in this day and age I would expect a 3 star hotel to provide English channels on their satellite TV when it describes it as one of their facilities. The room was next to the lift and yes we could hear it going up and down, in fact as others have said it is a noisy hotel, I think it wasn't quite as bad for us as we weren't there peek season, but I can imagine then it must be really bad. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on this. The room was well lit but then it had to be because there was no view from the windows and no light could come in either.
I would not totally dismiss this hotel to stop in because of the location, and to be honest when on holiday you only sleep there, and it was very clean and the beds were comfy. If you are armed with the facts you can make a decision that is good for you, like we did. Just be aware it can be noisy and it is not really a 3 star.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scarlet062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

The reception was probably on siesta when we arrived. We waited at the hotel door about 20 mins till 14:30. That was the first in my life that a hotel was closed at any time.. my room was so small that the door of the closet was not opening because of bed. It was a €95 room and that is too much for such a room. On the other hand rooms are clean and peaceful. Don't expect any luxury.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank akays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

HOTEL
- EXCELLENT LOCATION. Just opposite Placa Catalunya and Las Ramblas and Passeig de Gracia is just a minute walk from the hotel. Got a starbucks just next to the hotel entrance which is a plus for me.
- GOOD TRANSPORT. Substantially all buses goes around the hotel. Airport buses just opposite the hotel which goes to terminal 1 and 2 every 5-10 minutes. Service starts early as well for those hotel guests that have red eye flights. The hotel is opposite to the metro as well.
- FREE wifi which is a plus.
- Small reception and small lift with digital buttons. Digital buttons not really helpful (especially if the lift is packed inside) as it is sensitive even to slightest touch.

ROOM
- Clean room and bathroom.
- Average sized room.
- Airconditioning is really good especially if it is summer.
- Dodgy bathroom ceiling. Keeps flapping every time the bathroom door is opened. Not sure if this applies to all rooms but we had this problem in our room.
- View is not good as the view we had was the window of another room opposite us.
- We have requested for an iron and an ironing board but they only gave us an iron as there were no ironing board available. Seriously???
- The room is not sound proof so door banging and people talking can be heard inside the room clearly.

STAFF
- Pleasant, helpful and friendly staff - Thank you.
- Some cleaners are noisy - Keep banging doors and their trolleys as loud as possible. This should not trouble you though if you are up by 9 AM to go around the city. Just a nuisance if you stay asleep in the hotel until late like 11AM.

OVERALL
- Average hotel. Serves its purpose. Location is great. Highly recommended if you are not so sensitive with your surroundings.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, you have to compromise as this would be noisier, as the hotel is sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel is an average hotel but the location of this hotel is absolutely amazing. Its right across the street from the main plaza in the center of Barcelona, Plaza Catalunya. La Rambla is on the other side of the plaza. Passieg de Gracia is literally right around the corner (this is where Gaudi's Casa Batllo and Casa Mila are). About a 20 min walk to Port Vell and Sagrada Familia. There are many shops and restaurants to choose from on Passieg de Gracia and La Rambla. All types of Tapas bars etc. We really liked the seafood paella from the restaurant about 4 shops down from the hotel called Picadero. Now back to the actual hotel, it's as I said before average. The rooms were clean and a nice size but it seemed as if only half the channels on the TV worked because of the satellite not getting good reception. We stayed on the 6th floor facing an inside type of courtyard. This floor was pretty quiet but on Saturday we heard people coming in from club so the walls are pretty thin but that was the only noise we heard. Also, the AC wasn't super cold it was just enough but at night it still got a little warm.The staff was very helpful and nice so that was an extra plus. We stayed for 5 days. When coming to this hotel take the aerobus. Its 5.90 Euro each way. The bustop is right across the street from the hotel on the side of the El Corte Ingles. This is way cheaper than taking a cab each way. Overall I would stay in this hotel again if for nothing else but the location it's a prime location that cant be passed up.There are also other hotels in the area too so those may be better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Location is excellent for Las Ramblas, approximately a 5 minute walk and is central for most of the area's attractions. We had a room on the 3rd floor and did not find that the metro noise was a problem for us, however the hotel does not appear to have any internal soundproofing or if they do it is not very effective. Unfortunately we could hear the rooms above us and the shower/toilet/water flowing. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel as there are ample alternatives (including McDonald"s) 2 minutes away. Hotel room was clean and a good size for a twin room. As a base for Barcelona this is perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above floor 3 if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolyn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda
#309 of 520 in Barcelona
716 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#316 of 520 in Barcelona
448 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#197 of 520 in Barcelona
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Bcn Urban Hotels Del Comte
Bcn Urban Hotels Del Comte
#294 of 520 in Barcelona
607 reviews
El Raval
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
#365 of 520 in Barcelona
364 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
ILUNION Almirante
ILUNION Almirante
#435 of 520 in Barcelona
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bcn Urban Hotels Gran Ducat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bcn Urban Hotels Gran Ducat

Address: Ronda Sant Pere, 15, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £57 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bcn Urban Hotels Gran Ducat 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience the real Barcelona, the BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ducat offers you the possibility to host you next to Plaza Catalunya, at the center of Barcelona with the services of a 3 star hotel. The perfect place for tourism in Barcelona. Modern, comfortable and with a dinamic design, the BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ducat is versatil and offers you the possibility to enjoy all type of details such as the breakfast terrace, free WiFi, parking $... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bcn Urban Hotels Gran Ducat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ducat Barcelona
Hotel Gran Ducat
Bcn Urban Hotels Gran Ducat Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing