We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location with city noise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Ducat Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gran Ducat Hotel
Ranked #372 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location with city noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Generally speaking this was a good choice as the hotel is very close to Plaça de Catalunya. Apart from using the sightseeing bus on Day One, we walked everywhere from the hotel base. On the plus side, the room was clean (tiled floors) and the bed was comfortable. There was a kettle to make tea and coffee, no fridge. Our room had a very small bathroom with a bath and a shower over the bath. The water pressure was good and plenty of hot water. Towels were changed daily. A small wardrobe with fixed hangers also housed a room safe. Gripes about the room: Our room faced onto the street and it was very noisy. The air conditioning did not work so we had to have the window / double glazing open at night to breathe. There was constant street noise of traffic and people passing by. Also the underground trains rumbled through underneath the building. At times there was noise from within the hotel and rooms either side. No hooks on back of bathroom door, curtains over window were dirty and the plastic 'blackout' curtain was ripped and useless. No English TV channel. Breakfast was quite adequate, though the 'hot' dishes were usually lukewarm. The staff were helpful and polite and spoke good English. I probably would stay there again but would request a quiet room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    224
    164
    60
    49
See reviews for
80
238
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The location of this hotel was perfect for getting around & seeing all the main sights in a short space of time + travel links couldn't be easier. Our room was at the front of the hotel so we got a balcony & a nice bright room. Beds were hard & quite uncomfortable & it's pretty noisy at night but if you know you'll struggle to sleep or want to spend a lot of time in the hotel rather than exploring this beautiful city, don't book a budget hotel or one that's situated right in the middle of a very touristy part of the city. We just booked the room so I can't comment on the food but everything was clean & the staff were courteous & for a city break on a buget, you can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NHammy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The location was great, the staff was very kind and pleasant, price is very good and the room was clean.

On the other side... the room was very small and there was no option to sit on the toilet (there was a wall close to the toilet)!
Also, the room had a balcony that anyone could enter from the stairway and people that walks in the hall could see the inside of the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaofix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was a very good value and a comfortable place. Well located within walking distance of nice shops and places of interest.The only problem we encountered was getting in when no one was at the desk,and the front door was locked,but the desk agent was just gone for a few minutes. If you know that,you won't be panicked as we were.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dudley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel during the holidays of 2013. I was extremely happy to be so close to all of my planned activities. The famous Placa Catalonia is within two blocks of the hotel. All major public transportation, stores, banks, and various tourist attractions are within walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel if you want to save time, money, and enjoy your stay in the city of Barcelona. Buen viaje!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and spend a few more euros to enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This hotel is right next to plaza Catalunya, begining of las ramblas.
The room was simple and clean
Hopefully I was on the intern side of the building because the street on the other side (entrance) is noisy.
I didnt taste the breakfast but there is a starbucks at the corner of the street

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_squarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yerevan, Armenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Great stay! Excellent location very close to Plaza Catalunya and La Rambla. Small but convenient and very clean rooms. We stayed here for a week in September and I am very satisfied. The staff was very kind and friendly and there are two underground stations nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LevonAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda
#283 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#134 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#147 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#72 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
HCC Montblanc
HCC Montblanc
#212 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#42 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Ducat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Ducat Hotel

Property: Gran Ducat Hotel
Address: Ronda Sant Pere, 15, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Ducat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience the real Barcelona, the BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ducat offers you the possibility to host you next to Plaza Catalunya, at the center of Barcelona with the services of a 3 star hotel. The perfect place for tourism in Barcelona. Modern, comfortable and with a dinamic design, the BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ducat is versatil and offers you the possibility to enjoy all type of details such as the breakfast terrace, free WiFi, parking $... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gran Ducat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Ducat Barcelona
Hotel Gran Ducat
Gran Ducat Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing