We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal with friends during a city break”
Review of Restaurant Koxkera

Restaurant Koxkera
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Restaurant Koxkera is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #514 of 9,690 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meal with friends during a city break”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We chose Barcelona for a weekend city break with friends and turned to trip advisor to solve the difficult issue of where to eat. Restaurant Koxkera came up as the nearest best restaurant within our search (Seafood, Spanish & price range). We booked a table for 8pm, the welcome and service was excellent as was the food. There were not many people eating at that time, but that didn't detract from the atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chevlibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    165
    47
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, excellent value”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Background
I am traveling with my wife. This is our first night out in barcelona. I made reservations.

The restaurant is in a quiet street. Since it was sunday night, we were the only couple at the restaurant. The service was excellent. The server spoke english and explained the items on the menu and made excellent suggestions. He switched the music for us to make it more romantic for us. He really went up and beyond what was expected. We both ordered the prix fixe menu of 30 euro per person. The value is amazing. Each of us got one appitizer, one main, dessert, coffee, bread, bottled water, and we shared an jug of tasty sangria (server gave us a limonceta shot for a night cap with good chocolate almonds as well). All was included in the price! They specialize in seafood. We ordered octopus which was cooked to perfection (no rubbery texture) and the server recommended a seafood plate for the other appetitizer which was filled with clams, mussels, and razor clams( our favorite). For our mains, the paella was excellent, i highly recommend it. The monkfish was good. Dessert was standard, choice of cake,creme brule, or ice cream.
We highly recommend this place and we would come back again!

Helpful?
3 Thank Positivetens1on
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wirral, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money for great seafood and an authentic experience”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Great seafood (we had mussels and paella) at a very reasonable price - drinks included - with friendly service and a very authentic dining experience. Recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaWirral_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Was there for lunch on a Saturday. The food was delicious and the service was fast and friendly. I added the place to my list of Barcelona restaurants worthy of additional visits.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Really good seafood at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

This place was indeed a good surprise. The place is somehow small (I recommend reservation) and is certainly a place where locals go. No tourist trap here! When we were here, the other tables were all celebrations of some kind, which is a good indicator of the quality of the restaurant.

The service is very kind, professional and quick.

I recommend doing the same as we did. Order appetizers to share: "tallarines", "escopinyes" (tiny mussels) "pop a la la gallega”, "xipirons" (small fred fish); all fresh. Order one different appetizer per person, and you're good. The rice dishes like "arros negre" (black rice, like paella without the seafood, died with octopus ink) is of the best I've had (and I've lived a long time in this city). The "paella" is also really well prepared. The duck was good, maybe a little small in size. The fresh fish, grilled, as the "lenguado" is first class. Basically you can't go wrong in you choice.

The prices as very good. Appetizers in the 8 euro range, and main course around 12 euro. Wine, a lot to chose from at decent prices (for 13 euro you get a good Spanish wine, so keep them coming!). The desserts are also worth a try, we had the lemon sorbet to finish off.

Highly recommended visit if you're nearby. The location is a little out of the usual areas, but has easy access and plenty of places to park in the neighborhood.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Koxkera also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurant Koxkera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing