We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good coffee”
Review of Cafes El Magnifico

Cafes El Magnifico
Ranked #10 of 130 Coffee & Tea in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Neighbourhood: El Born / La Ribera
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: El Born / La Ribera
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good coffee”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is a coffee shop, so there is just 1 small table, and a bench to sit on. Compared to all the crappy coffee we had in the vacation, this shop produced very good double shot capuchinio that we enjoyed very much. You might have to wait for the table to clear if you want to sit down properly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debdebdebdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    39
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Great coffee in a lovely area of Barcelona. Well worth the visit and would go back here! Highly recommended...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best coffee i've ever had”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Café El Magnifico has what is basically a catalogue of coffees from all over the world with all the facts that might influence your decision listed alongside them. They have a description of the flavours in 3 languages and you can have your coffee prepared one of 4 or 5 ways, (drip, French press, etc.). when you order your coffee it is brewed right there and then so it is always 100% fresh, the people who make the coffee are comparable to chemist. They really know what they're doing and make good recommendations. I`m genuinely disappointed I may not get a chance to go there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

I love coffee and what's better to start the day than a good cup of "cortado" Cafes el magnifico is not only the best coffee in Barcelona but the baristas know a lot about coffee. From having a cup of coffee there or take away or if you prefere you an take coffee home! They sell over 40 types of coffees from all over the world! The people working there know so much about coffee it's even nice if you have the time to ask them a few questions and they will answer you and explain everything you need to know about coffee... And did I mention coffee there is great?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alinach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb coffee and freshly roasted!!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I love my coffee and found this place using the beanfinder app. It did not disappoint as the quality of the coffee was fantastic. Ended up buying 2kgs and bringing it home with me. Why not check out this place for a coffee, then head around the corner to the church of Santa Maria del Mar followed by a stop at the Picasso museum (2 minutes walk). Afterwards there are some amazing tapas bars in the vicinity of which many will not disappoint. I ate in Tapeo, anem de tapes, literally a 30 second walk to the left of the picasso museum ticket entrance. It was a really nice tapas bar, excellent food and very nice wine. So much to see and do within the same area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garvey1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafes El Magnifico also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cafes El Magnifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing