We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD LOCATION”
Review of HCC Lugano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HCC Lugano
Ranked #207 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Iver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCATION”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Cannot find anything to complain about regarding this hotel which is very unusual for me if you have read any of my other reviews. I chose it because it was close to everything I wanted to see or had close connections available to more distant attractions and it was good value for money.

I was upgraded to a twin room from a single room which gave me more space to move around even though I did not need an extra bed. However, the upgrade was very much appreciated. I was on the fourth floor so traffic noise was not a major problem and nor was the gentle rumble of the subway trains beneath the building. One small tip, if you want to use the TV but you see the legend 'sin senal' (no signal) when you switch it on, check the connections at the back as mine were not actually plugged in. Power to the room is activated by putting your key card in a slot by the door and this will turn on the air-conditioning or heating every time whether you want it or not. There is a panel by the bathroom door that you can adjust as required. I was there the first weekend of March, 2014 and did not need either.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful and greeted you every time they saw you, in the corridor, at breakfast, in reception but they were never intrusive or forceful.

There was sufficient cold fare at the breakfast buffet to set you up for a few hours until you found a suitable cafe or location for a late, leisurely lunch. A few hot breakfast items were also available if required.

This was a private visit nothing to do with the recent Mobile World Congress and I would select this hotel again if I return to Barcelona regardless of what I wanted to see.

It is not a pretentious hotel, trying to be too flashy with over the top decor or desIgner fixtures and fittings and lots of rarely used facilities. It is a good quality, good value for money hotel for those who just want a bed for the night and a good breakfast in the morning and I hope it remains that way as it ages.

Room Tip: A higher room may get a little less traffic noise bit with only seven floors, this may not make a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCCLUGANO, Gerente at HCC Lugano, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your time used in writting this comment. We try to improve every day.
We are proud to see that you had a nice stay. Thank you for your comments.
Kind regards,
Direccion HCC Lugano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    171
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
33
148
24
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
183 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel while attending Mobile World Congress and I was really surprised with the quality of the hotel. I found out that it is a quite new hotel in Barcelona. It is located within 5 minutes walking distance from the Plaza de Espanya, where you have one of the main subway stations. The congress attracts over 80,000 people and the hotel prices just triple. This hotel is within a reasonable price for this particular busy week, but what surprised me was the quality of the room and particularly the service. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The room was good size, with a nice TV, mini bar and it was very clean. The room has WiFi for free, but the connection is not that great. A simple YouTube vide is buffering every 5 seconds, however you can do your stuff.
The desk in the room is quite small, so if you need to have papers around your laptop is impossible.
The breakfast is very good with quite good variety for e 3 start hotel, from deserts to fruit, different bread, coffee, and some hot dishes that you can order for free, such as scrambled eggs.
The rooms have air conditioning too, but not a kettle for tea or coffee.
Overall this was a very good stay and I will definitely look at this hotel as my main option for next time I stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fjeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCCLUGANO, Gerente at HCC Lugano, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
First of all thank you for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Barcelona and for your review!!
Your comments are very important for us and make us keep improving. We really appreciate it!!
All the staff are so glad to know you had a nice stay with us.

Thanks a lot! We are looking forward to see you next time!

Kind regards,
Management HCC Lugano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roussillon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This place is on one of the main streets into Barcelona and there is space to park outside whilst you get a pass to the carpark, which is secure and underneath the hotel (paying).
The hotel is right near the collection of Adria brothers restaurant and bars, so perfect for Tickets, Pakta etc.
The hotel is very new, very clean and spacious. There seemed to be no-one else staying there the night we were there, so it lacked a little ambience. Our room was a reasonable size for the price, and absolutely spotless. Double glazing blocked out the noisy street.
It did seem very hot in our room and we couldnt find the aircon, but apart from that a great place to stay - we paid 80€ for the night, which is pretty good in Barcelona.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angers, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I chose this hotel based on tripadvisor comments and because it is located near to my conference venue. Very nice, modern hotel, friendly staff, clean room, large by European standards. Clean bathroom though too small to swing a cat, but well equipped.
Bus to the waterfront and La Rambla outside the entrance, metro 5 mins walk at Plaça de Espanya (incidentally the Aerobus stops here too).
Can't comment on noise, yes the walls are thin but aren't they in practically all hotels? My room was not street side.
Only minor gripe is the cost of the breakfast (€ 18.70)!! The price of 4 or 5 delicious tapas (called tapes in Catalan). Several cafés in the vicinity offer breakfast for about € 6 to 10.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 5 days recently at this hotel.
On arrival we were met with very helpful reception staff and as we found out this was the norm.with everyone connected to the hotel.
The room we had on the 7th floor was kept spotlessly clean by our maid .
The breakfast area again was very clean and had a good selection on bread,pastries etc.
If your are looking for a good 3 star hotel in Barcelona this is the place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barmy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. Around 15-20 minute walk from Las Ramblas and 5 minutes from nearest Metro station. There are cafe bars just outside hotel and plenty of places to eat. We had a lovely meal at Basilico Restaurant just down from the hotel and price was reasonable. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, rooms clean, towels and linen changed daily, buffet breakfast with plenty of choice. No tea & coffee in rooms, but this is not the norm in Spain we were told. Overall hotel great value and we would stay again.




Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank HilaryJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights from September 15th to 22nd. We had a really positive experience. The rooms were a decent size and really clean. The location is good. We even walked to La Rambla from the hotel. It is near the Metro line and there are good restaurants in the area of the hotel. The breakfast is a good value - you don't need to eat until dinner after a late breakfast here. The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to help us with any questions we had about Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Evenia Rocafort
Evenia Rocafort
#190 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Eixample
HCC Open Hotel
HCC Open Hotel
#310 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vilamari
Hotel Vilamari
#192 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#157 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Montjuic
Hotel Paral - lel
Hotel Paral - lel
#103 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#156 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HCC Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HCC Lugano

Property: HCC Lugano
Address: Avda. Paral lel, 172, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HCC Lugano 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to la Fira trade fair grounds, Plaza Espanya, and a few minutes away from La Rambla and Plaza Catalunya is located in a new building the last hotel from HCC Hotels, in the middle of Avinguda Paral·lel at the junction with Entença street. In the same avenue there are emblematic theatres from the city of Barcelona that fill the area with an interesting cultural activity. The hotel HCC Lugano opened during the month of May, 2012 wishes to offer its customers the most modern facilities for a pleasant stay in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your HCC Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HCC Lugano Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing