We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”
Review of The Hipstel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hipstel
Ranked #163 of 722 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Beirut
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The Hipstel was the cherry on top of a great vacation !
It's very well located in the center and the building is very cool and the price is v.good.
Clean and comfortable beds with AC and free internet. The ppl there where very friendly.
I would definitely recommend this hostel for a cheap and cozy stay in Barcelona!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibrahim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    193
    88
    46
    37
See reviews for
18
40
228
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The Hippest place to stay in Barcelona ,
Cool Young, and central Hostel , the building was amazing, and it looks like the best part of the city!!! Not in the TO MUCH touristic Ramblas , it the main Modernist part of the city , where scent of Real Barcelona is all over u look .
Olee

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Niro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This hostel really lives up to its promises! Me and my friend had a great time in Barcelona and spent five nights at the Hipstel. We arrived a day early but that was no problem, it was arranged that we could stay in the same room. Rooms were air conditioned and the beds really good. Things are well kept clean, it seemed there was always a cleaning lady around. Lots of laid back other travellers to chat with during (the included) breakfast, the ambiance is really good. Staff members were nice and friendly and told us a lot about the city. On top of all this, the location is great, in the city centre, close to the Ramblas, subway stations and Placa Catalunya. I would stay here again if I am to visit Barcelona again (and I probably will!)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Hipstel Hostel. It's really in the city center, you can walk easily till Las Ramblas. All the rooms have lookers, and the bathrooms are clean, the only thing it's that they are not separated, so you don't have too much privacy. But who it's used to be in mixed rooms can easily deal with that. The kitchen it's quite good, fully equipped and it's clean.
The breakfast it's simple but good, really enough.
It's just a pity that the common rooms close at 23h, but it's understandable because of the neighbors. The people from the Hostel are really nice and always available to help.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaM91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Excellent hostel! Good location. Very welcoming and friendly staff. The 10-bed dorm is spacious and have very, very comfortably beds. Good showers and toilets and common areas and professional cleaning staff that kept the place really clean and tidy. Breakfast was also included.

Couldn´t possibly ask for more but put in an extra toaster and a sign above the door and everything will be perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Hey thanks Andra and staff! My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. Very friendly welcoming staff that are accomodating. The facilities are new and perfectly located for an easy wealk to Gracia and la Rambla. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the common area if you want a early sleep and/or you are a light sleeper:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Nice place, helpful staff, near the metro and cheap.
Communal places are off limits after 11 and the kitchen was a bit small but that was the only negatives I think!
This was my 1st time staying in a hostel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hipstel h, Gerente at The Hipstel, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
hope to see you again soon,

greetings,
The Hipstel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#87 of 722 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#40 of 305 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Buba House
Buba House
#155 of 722 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Eixample
Ona Paseo De Gracia Hostel
Ona Paseo De Gracia Hostel
#74 of 722 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Barcelona Urbany Hostel
#71 of 722 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hipstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hipstel

Property: The Hipstel
Address: Valencia 266 | Carrer de Valencia, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 722 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hipstel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you planning your trip to Barcelona and want to explore a different way of staying? Join the Hipstel-Family!The Hipstel is more than just a hostel - It is a home away from home.Located in the city´s most emblematic area, the hostel provides you the perfect base for sight-seeing along the day and partying all night long! Our friendly staff will be more than happy to offer you a good insight into this magical city When will you join?A quick overview of what we offer you:• Breakfast service included (extra charge)• Free coffee• 24/7 reception• Free Wi-FI• Amazing dinners!• Private and shared rooms• Bedlinen included• Towels for rent 2€• Free walking tours• Free city maps• Free activities• Free lugagge room• Common rooms• Big exterior terrace• Board gamesThe Hipstel offers private rooms as well as various sized dorms for affordable prices. Depending on your personal needs, you can either book a private room for you and your company or you just check in to a dorm to get in touch with loads of interesting peole from different countries all around the globe. The rooms are spacious, bright as well as secure . This will ensure, that your stay is going to be 100% comfortable. All our rooms are with shared bathroom. You will find air conditioner, big lockers in dorms, keycard access, bedlinen and blankets included in the rate, towels for rent at reception. Our staff will take care of every detail and your room and common areas will be perfectly clean and tidy. Location InformationThe Hipstel C\ de València 266, Barcelona 08007Due to its location next to the the city center, pretty much every hot spot in Barcelona can be reached by feet. But no worries - if you prefer to go by Metro, there is one stop directly across the corner of the Hostel. Within a few minutes you can reach Barceloneta metro station, where you can find the most popular beaches, or Park Güell, one of the hot spots in the city.Also, our location allows you to come and get to main airport and stations easily and cheap. There are bus stops as well as train stations closeby.In a nutshell, we are really proud to say that our location is pretty much unbeatable – can’t believe it? Just check it out on a map! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hipstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hipstel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing