We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and classy place.”
Review of A Casa Portuguesa - CLOSED

A Casa Portuguesa
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Eixample
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Good food and classy place.”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

If you're looking for a nice place for lunch (for work or in couple) or if you want a REAL coffee (not water boiled with vague coffee arome) and you live near. GO THERE! And while you're at it, have some pastel nata. Real good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CasperBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    55
    10
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice tastes, but a bit expensive.”
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

We went there for dinner searching for a good compromise between taste and price. Moreover we wanted a place away from the tourists, and that's true, few tourists, some couples and other tables with 2-3 persons. The first thing that I didn't appreciate was when the waitress brought us a board with some olives, a really tiny box of pate' and a bit of biscuits to eat with. She said that this is a Portuguese tradition and that if we wanted we could refuse it, otherwise it costed 5 ?. If the cost had been 2-3? me and my friend,would have accepted, likely, as a form of courtesy, since the quantity was not worth it. Then we ordered a kind of fish soup. It was made in a brass pot shell-like formed, and thus enclosed in order to keep the food warm. The quantity for 2 persons was just sufficient, the quality was good but not exceptional. I'd say this is a good restaurant for who wants a relaxed atmosphere and doesn't mind spending a bit more of what is worth it. Just average for who likes a good compromise of tastes, cost and quantity, as I do.

Helpful?
Thank Angelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
“Cozy, traditional, perfect food!”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Surprising Restaurante, with a lot of Portuguese specialties and more! Try the "caldo verde", the "pastel de nata", "francesinha" or the wonderful codfish. There's also dishes everybody knows! Go, have fun, enjoy the familiar environment and the relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inesm0ura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Recommended by local people”
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

We have been there with friends who live in this area of Barcelona (Gracia district), very warm welcome and hosting, good choice of portuguese wines, and dishes. very relaxing atmosphere, and nice pictures of the wall one can buy. The surroundings are full of little coffee shop, bar, restaurants. Probably less touristic then the usual ramblas, paseo de gracia, etc worth to visit ! Will go back for sure !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rdolci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Portuguese taste in Barcelona”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

"A Casa Portuguesa" started as a shop with coffee shop located in the traditional and old Gracia neighborhood, in calle Verdi. It sells different Portuguese products, mainly pastries (pastel de Belém), food and wine, with a very good cellar selection of Portuguese wines.

More recently the same group has opened a Portuguese restaurant called also "A Casa Portuguesa" in a different neighborhood, Eixample, calle Aragó. The space is very nice, with a sort of terrace/chill-out lounge and cafeteria at the entrance. Inside, the restaurant is also vey cozy and comfortable. The decoration is inspired in some traditional Portuguese handcraft like "azulejos" or "galo de barcelos", but mixed with other elements in a modern and tasteful way.

The food has good quality, with excellent relation price/quality. You can taste the world famous "Melhor Bolo de Chocolate do Mundo", the world's best chocolate cake, original trade mark from Campo de Ourique, Lisbon. Another "must try" is pastel the Belém, the traditional custard little tarts from Belém, Lisbon.
The cellar offers a wide variety of wines. The staff is very friendly and their recommendations can be trusted.

No doubt, we recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MilaPrimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Casa Portuguesa also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing