We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best located hotel in Barcelona”
Review of Room Mate Pau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Room Mate Pau
Ranked #48 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just round the corner from the last stop on the airport bus...ditto the open-topped tour buses, our lovely, modern hotel was one of the best things about our trip. We only had to cross the Catalunya Square to take the metro or go down La Rambla, see the fab market, cut away to wonderful peaceful, shady squares. If you prefer, turn left out of the hotel at the end of the street on which the hotel stands and the metro will take you without a change to Barceloneta and the beach.While we were there the hotel had a promotion with Opel cars and we were chauffeured free to La Sagrada Famiglia (for which we had bought tickets online and printed off at the Caixa bank, to avoid queues). The next day we were chauffeured to Park Guell. Breakfast can be had right up till noon so surely helpful for everyone. We loved Pau (Paul).

Room Tip: Phone them if you want a bath..they hadn't got our request but altered the room they had selecte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molihua2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you very much Molihua,

We realy appreciate your nice comment.

All the team wishes to see you soon!

Best regards from all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent 4 nights in Barcelona, After a day of travelling we were greeted by very friendly girls on reception. This hotel is in a great location accessible to the metro, bus, and the Las Ramblas. Easy to walk to tourist attractions.
The room was very clean and everything provided. The girls at the reception were amazing, friendly and very helpful with information about directions to sights and tapas restaurants.
On the last morning we went to breakfast 15 mins early because we had a early flight. The young staff member told us breakfast wasn't open till 7-30(although we had been told 7 on arrival) but it was alright for us to stay after we explained our situation. Unfortunately her older colleague who made it quite obvious she wasn't happy and told the young staff member off then preceded to us and told us to go in no uncertain term. It was a shame the visit ended on a sour note but the hotel is great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerryG974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Kerry,

First of all, thank you for taking your time and wirte your opinion.
We are sorry for the misunderstanding on the time for breakfast.
Next month we are starting some works in the breakfast room/ bar, if will be great if you visit us soon and see all the changes.

Please feel free to contact us next time you plan to visit Barcelona.

Best regards from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We spent 3 nights 22-25/08/2013.
Great location, two block from the end of Las Ramblas, Close to Gothic Quarter.
Wonderful new hotel.
Spotlessly clean.
Amazing staff-they were so helpful.
Free internet.
Don’t take the breakfast its average minus.

Room Tip: WE had a quiet room on the forth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Shbloom,

Many thanks for writing your opinion. All the team hopes to see you soon!

Best regards from all the team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel the day before our cruise. It was easy to find (from aerobus, metro or other forms of transportation). We couldn't check in early, but they stored our luggage for us while we walked around. The hotel is convenient and within walking distance to La Rambla and other tourist attractions. For the farther attractions, we took the metro which was also close to the hotel. The hotel staff gave was very helpful with any questions that we had. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvDebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear Luvdebe,

Thank you very much for your opinion.

All the team hopes you had a great time during the cruise.

Best regards from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Great location. Two block from the end of Las Ramblas. Close to Gothic Quarter. Wonderful new hotel. Spotlessly clean. Amazing staff-they were so helpful. Free internet. Reccommended a great tapas restaurant close by, with typical Catlan dishes that was not expensive. Literally walked across the street to catch an airport bus for our return. This hotel is a real hidden gem!

Room Tip: WE had a quiet room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corbinjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear Corbinjo,

Thank you very much for your kind comment!

Next time you visit us we will recommend you some new nice tapas restaurants!

Best regards from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I would recommend this hotel because of its fantastic location, excellent staff very friendly, extremely clean. Room Mate Pau is in a very central location its very modern & funky which makes a refreshing change. If you are looking for something different this hotel is ideal.
The staff are welcoming and make you feel like nothing is to much trouble. You are within a stones throw of Las Ramblas the atmosphere is fantastic, If you are a walker its not to bad to walk to the cathedral (easy walk), familia La Segrada (a bit more of a distance), Montjuic Castle (quite a steep walk, we got the cable car back down) the Beach (easy) Loved it, would go again tomorrow.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor at the front and it was very quiet considering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear Karen,

Thank you very much for spending time in writing your opinion.

It is an honor to know that your stay has been excelent.

Best regards from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Happy to recommend this super little hotel. Our family spent a couple of days here. Very helpful friendly staff, great location for site seeing, clean & very modern rooms with a very good shower. Wifi and safe in rooms.

Room Tip: Front elevation rooms are I think triple glazed though if you are a light sleeper would recommend on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BH_Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you very much for your nice comment!
We are happy to know you had a nice stay in Pau.

Best regards, from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Room Mate Emma
Room Mate Emma
#90 of 516 in Barcelona
1,347 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#65 of 516 in Barcelona
3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#21 of 516 in Barcelona
447 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#16 of 516 in Barcelona
1,141 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#51 of 516 in Barcelona
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Pau

Address: C/ Fontanella 7, 8010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £67 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Pau 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Room Mate Pau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Pau Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing