We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The definition of a well-managed hotel”
Review of Room Mate Pau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Room Mate Pau
Ranked #49 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I am a frequent traveller and spend maybe way too many nights in hotel rooms. Oh so often it happens that one wonders how hotels can be so overwhelmingly badly managed. And I wonder how this is possible, given that it is no rocket science to run a good hotel.

This hotel, in sharp contrast, can easily serve as the definition of a well-managed hotel.

In fact, I think the people running it did pretty much everything right. The location is great. The design is fancy, original and tasteful. Of course free broadband wireless is included and there is no need to say many words about it. Staff is friendly, open and superbly professional. The bed is huge and comfortable. There is even a small balcony. Breakfast is healthy and good. The back yard is designed in a cool fashion and is charming.

I am not saying that this is a luxury hotel. Quite the opposite is true, in fact; this one is fairly on the budget side. Still, given the limited resources available, it is very obvious that the makers of this hotel spent a brain cell or two to figure out how one could make a good hotel possible. Last week I stayed in a hotel charging a factor of 3 more for a room, and I felt much less welcome.

At the entrance, a bright sign asks: Do you want to sleep with me?

And, well, there is no denying. I say yes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karlkoreander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Karl,

Thank you very very much for such a possitive comment on our hotel.

This is exactly what we pretend: confy bed, good breakfast and good shower!!!

We try to improve daily and this is a very important recompense, to read such a nice comment.

All the team hopes to welcome you soon,

Best regards from all the team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

My wife and I were here for 3 nights on our first trip to Barcelona. Great little hotel. Hip, clean and a super friendly staff. I was a bit worried at first with our street facing room, but no complaints for noise. The room was clean and the bed comfortable.
We were able to walk just about everywhere but the metro and Aerobus are literally down the block.
I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Mike,

Thank you very much for writing a comment.
It is very important for to know our guests enjoy their stay.
We believe that the most important is that you receive all our help to make you stay unforgetable.

All the team hopes to welcome you soon,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

super clean, friendly staffs, very close to 'Plaça de Catalunya'(2 mins walk).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windy0200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you Windy!

It is a pleasure to read a good comment from our customers.

Thank you very much for taking the time,

We look forward to see you soon in Pau,

Best regards from all the team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We normally don't enjoy European hostels, as much of them feels quite out-dated. Not this one. You can see right from the start that the whole complex has been renovated not too long ago. The room are indeed quite small, but we found it to be very cozy. It was super-clean and was cleaned everyday by the staff.

Speaking of the staff, It's been a while since we met such a friendly bunch of people. They helped us with every question we had, and sincerely felt like a nice people. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We payed some extra Euro for the room with the Bath. Nothing like a Hot bath after a long day of wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tygan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Tygan,

First of all, thank you very much for your comment.

We are glad that your stay has met iyou expectations, is a pleasure for us to make your stay even better and help you with everything during your stay in Pau.

We hope to see you soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Room Mate Pau is a modern hotel located down the side of the Corte Ingles store at Placa Catalunya. It is ideally located for exploring the Ramblas, the Barri Gotic and for easy access to the metro and buses.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful in answering all sorts of questions throughout our stay and helping us to printout travel tickets.

We had asked for a quiet room and were given a double room overlooking the terrace on the second floor. This proved to be quiet enough in January but I’m not sure how it would be in the summer months with people on the terrace below. The modern, comfortable room had a very comfy bed but we had some problems with the walk in shower flooding the area round it. I was also conscious of a water tank refilling late at night but it did not continue for long. This may have been caused as we were next to a room service store.

The smart breakfast room served a wide range of hot and cold assortments but we only ate in it once as I wanted to find a café for the famed ‘chocolate and churros’.

We had a very good stay at the Room Mate Pau and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms over the terrace are quieter, maybe higher up in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Achi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Mr Achi,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review of the hotel.
Next time you visit Pau we will do everything possible for you to enjoy chocolate with churros.

Greetings from the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This hotel is ideally located on a stone's throw away from Barceloan's main square Place Catalunya. The hotel is pretty basic in its services (no spa, room service, fancy restaurant etc.) but all the important basics are excellent: good bed, great shower, stylish and pleasant interior, friendly staff, superb location. The style of this hotel is urban cool minimalist. Interiro design is fantastic. The hotel has a great patio / roof terrace and offers a basic breakfast service. We never used it, because in barecelona it is so easy and pleasant to just pop in to one of the many local bars where you can have breakfast. We stayed two nights and would definitely recommend this place and return here on a next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcandMarijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Marc and Marijke,

Thank you very much for spending time writing your comment.

We are happy to know you had a great time in Barcelona and that next time you visit Barcelona you will choose Pau!.

Please feel free to contact us next time you plan to visit this great city.

Best regards from all the team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at room mate pau for 4 nights at the end of January we upgraded to an executive suite and had a room facing the mail road ... We did not her a thing from the busy street and our view was lovely ... Our room was perfect enough room and storage areas for suitcase etc. mini bar was fairly priced and cleaners couldn't of done more. My only opinion on the hotel was the lack of English tv channels CNN was the only thing we where able to watch and me and my partner enjoy settling down with the tv on ... That was my only comment. Overall there was a lovely vibe ... Location couldn't of been better and the bed was really comfy!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajfilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlalorente, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Ajfilson,

First of all, thank you very much for such a nice comment.
It is very important for us to receive our guests feed backs, to give our best services and improve them.

All the team hopes to see you soon in Pau.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Room Mate Emma
Room Mate Emma
#90 of 515 in Barcelona
1,336 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#22 of 515 in Barcelona
431 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#15 of 515 in Barcelona
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
943 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#52 of 515 in Barcelona
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Pau

Address: C/ Fontanella 7, 8010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £71 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Pau 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Pau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Pau Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing