We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Room Mate Pau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Pau
Ranked #48 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Very good hotel, with very nice rooms, great location and friendly staff!
Rooms are large enough with a nice decorations and functional solutions. The locations is very good as it is a few meters away from Catalonia Square. The breakfast is more than enough with a great opportunity of enjoying it outdoors. The staff was very friendly! Definitely to repeat!

Room Tip: Top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear PPRR,

We are happy to know you had a great stay in Room Mate Pau,

Thank you very much for your review,

Best regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    372
    38
    7
    11
See reviews for
133
708
48
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Aus
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We recently stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Our original booking was at another place but they offered us a cancellation as their air conditioning had broken down. So at short notice, we found Room Mate Pau and it turned out to be a gem. Close to where you want to be, excellent if you have baggage and have arrived by Aerobus and on the way to everywhere. Carla and all the other staff were really helpful and the room design was clever and comfortable. We didn't have breakfast but there is a peaceful shady terrace to relax in. All in all we were very happy as the hotel had everything we needed and was really clean and comfortable. Free Wifi was good too. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby including an El Corte Ingles ( Spains answer to Selfridges), right next door, which was great for fruit and cooked meals as well as some classy shopping.
Well done folks. We had a daily coffe and croissant at Escriba on La Ramblas just next to the market. Absolutely excellent.

Room Tip: Even though we had a street facing room but with double glazing, there was no sound instrusion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussyaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Fussyaussie,

Thank you very much for your review, for sure readers will appreciate all your tips!!!

We look forward to welcome you soon,

Best regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

No better location. Literally steps from Placa Catalunya but without the noise. Cool rooms, nice breakfast and helpful, friendly staff. Stayed in Room mate hotels recently in Madrid and they are becoming a fave for great location, value and cool decor. Can't recommend enough!

Room Tip: Go for top floors to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I really do recommend this beautiful hotel right in the city centre.
We stayed here for few days and really enjoyed our stay. The staff helped us with metro , places to visit.
Will defo come back :)
The breakfast is also great enough to choose from ;)
Rooms are really nice this hotel deserve 5stars!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

First time in Barcelona and this was spot on! Literally 1 minute to the aerobus stop and little more to La Rambla. Also breakfast till midday was great for those lazy starts. Room at the front (104) on the ground floor had minimal noise from the busy street and was very clean and comfy.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iDJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is the best hotel experience. Even beats 5 star hotels! The staff is the BEST! Very Friendly and Helpful. The entire staff was all smiles! GENUINE SMILES! The guy in the morning even printed my boarding pass. His name STARTED WITH A G. Sorry I wrote his name down but lost the paper. Where to begin-- Best Staff, Good Breakfast. Clean rooms. Good air conditioner. Best location. Right in the thick of it but quiet. Easy to get to airport bus and handy store next door. Around the block from Old City. EASY. Friendly. LOVELY!!!! I wish I stayed longer. I will always return to this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: ALL ROOMS appear to be Excellent. Not all of them have views but the hotel is quiet and all have goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineMVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Pau, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Katherine,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we all look forward to welcome you soon,

Best regards from all the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a very good hotel.
It is in a great location - 30m from La Rambla and Plaza Catalunya.
The Aerobus ( airport bus) and the hop on/off busses stop 50 m away from the hotel.
Check in and out was efficient and we were able to upgrade to a larger room for 10 euro a night. The staff were polite.
You are able to stock up your own fridge by purchasing drinks/snacks from reception or from elsewhere. There is also a supermarket 30 m away.
I did purchase 4 bottles of water and a couple of snacks from the reception. Clearly i needed a bag to get everything to the room. After a lot of looking around i was offered a garbage bag to put them in. Better than nothing i suppose.
You can purchase tickets to Casa Pedrera and La Sagrata familia from the reception which allows you direct entry.
Our room , 609 was on the 6th floor and at the back on the building. Essentially it faced a wall but at least it was quiet.
The room is reasonably small with a separate toilet and shower. I think privacy ( when changing etc) could be an issue if you are sharing with a friend that is not used to seeing you running in and out of the shower naked. Otherwise it has a clever modern design.
Breakfast offered many options in a wonderful indoor/ outdoor setting.
There was a bit of room for improvement though......
For some reason room service kept replacing toiletries for one person despite of being two of us and requesting more supplies form the reception staff.
Also in a peculiar way , room service decided to not restock toilet paper. Once I had to call at 2 am to ask for toilet paper and reception staff asked me to go to the reception to collect it. Considering the time and that I was in PJs i was less than happy . He did bring it to the room fairly quickly.
The next day , on our way in I asked again for toilet paper( as room service had neglected to restock) to which I was told that if we noticed the same problem tomorrow to ask earlier bacause he may not have any left at reception.
One has to wonder how much toilet paper does reception give out...and why haven't they cottoned on to the problem.
I politely responded that I would prefer that room service stocks the room properly rather than us asking for supplies. From there on room service improved.
Also the room does not have an iron /ironing board so again we had to ask reception. They gave us the ironing board and the iron at reception and we took it to the room.
Also when I arrived although the staff were polite they did not seem to be very well informed on the services like the aerobus and operation times. They gave me a map upon request . One staff passed it to the other and she to me but without showing me on the map where was the hotel. I had to come back and ask her to point out our location to the map. She seemed to struggle with that.

We accidentally pushed the wrong button on the aircon which made it stop every hour. As the instructions were in Spanish despite our best efforts were unable to fix it , so we requested assistance from reception. The reception staff insisted on giving us directions over the phone with no result. We requested that someone has a look while we were out all day. Upon our return it had not been attended. Another call , another person trying to fix it over the phone....finally they sent someone up who fixed it.

IN SUMMARY: good hotel in excellent position. Good value for money. Room service and reception need a little bit of polishing and it will be perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha777s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#33 of 512 in Barcelona
2,072 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 512 in Barcelona
894 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#64 of 512 in Barcelona
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#19 of 512 in Barcelona
653 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#28 of 512 in Barcelona
190 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 512 in Barcelona
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Pau

Property: Room Mate Pau
Address: C/ Fontanella 7, 8010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Pau 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Pau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Pau Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing