We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya
Ranked #93 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have recently stayed in Hotel Indigo Barcelona and found the property to be exactly what we were looking for, for a short weekend city break.

The location is simply great. minutes walk from the famous Rambla and the gothic quarter, close to many cafes and bars.

Service at the hotel is very good all around. The staff at the reception is smiling, helpful and seemed to genuinely care.

As some have already mentioned, rooms are contemporary and clean, not big of size, but of sufficient size. Walls do seem to be a bit thin as we could hear voices from adjacent rooms.
Our room had a shower (no bath) but it was just fine for us.

A/C - As some reviewers had issues with the room A/C, I admit I was a bit concerned over this but was very pleased to find that our room was equipped with an individual air conditioning unit that was working absolutely fine. I do not know if other rooms have the same unit or a central air-conditioning outlet.

Elevators - Some reviewers have mentioned that the elevators are running slow. While this is correct, we never had a problem with this and did not have to wait more than a minute or so for a lift.

Pool side - the pool is not big but is a relaxing spot from the commotion of the city, with lovely tables and waiters service.

Bottom line - We have enjoyed our stay and would book a room here again in the future.
The Hotel offers everything one would expect, and more, from a four star hotel. I can recommend this property to those looking for functionality in modern and clean environment.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are similar. Inquire about rooms with good sized terrace and sun-beds, if this is what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNBCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Guest Relations at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear JNBCPT,

Many thanks for that amazing review. It was great to read about your wonderful stay, and so pleased to read that the team and the hotel lived up to your expectations, and from the reviews you have been reading about.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed 7-10 nights combined (for business).
Overall: OK. Half baked accommodation. for those who don't expect to be pampered in luxury or just spend minimal time in room (leisure, business travelers)

Plus
- very nice and helpful staff (they seem to care)
- rooms are decent size, clean
- equipment OK (TV,iron board, minibar, iphone dock, etc)
- bed (a tad too soft for me)
- breakfast : good buffet (but you pay a lot for BCN)
- modern air con
- room rates are generally fair (depending on availability)

OK
- elevators, on the slow-ish
- free wifi (don't expect broadband)

MINUS
- NO soundproof at all (it s an old building and money was not invested...) thankfully I always had silent neighbors, but you can really tell tiny details.
- NO sufficient water pressure in bathrooms (again, old building, old pipes)
- NO other facilities (no in-house gym, a minuscule pool, etc)
- expensive services (eg. laundry)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank duke_clar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear duke_clar,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured that your comments will be used for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The decor in this hotel is really super, even down to the disabled toilet!! Well located in the centre of town, easy walking distance to everything such as shops, metro, airport bus etc. The rooms are really fabulous and inspires by Gaudi but I was surprised to find that in the minibar there is no bar, just water and orange juice. Only one thing put me off this hotel slightly. It was a strong smell as you came in to the ground floor lobby that to me smelt of toilets... The toilets don't smell at all, so maybe they use the wrong air freshener in the lobby? Or maybe the toilets air extract work on positive air pressure? Either way, I would want assurance that this is fixed before I came back

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Guest Relations at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear David,

Many thanks for your great review. As you pointed out, our rooms are very special and original, showing our guests Gaudi's art.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Barcelona.

Kind regards.

Esther

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

So glad we booked this lovely hotel. Rooms are small but adequate, fridge had complementary water and orange juice replenished daily. Nice terrace to sit out after a busy day visiting the sights. All staff were very helpful and knowledgeable on the city. If in Barcelona again would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Guest Relations at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Maxine,

Thanks a lot for your lovely comment. Our swimming pool area and solarium, as you said, are really nice to enjoy the sun during the day or a relaxing drink just after a long day walking around the city.

We do look forward your next visit.

Regards.

Esther Orta
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We spent four nights at the Indigo in Barcelona recently in this delightful and very welcoming, friendly hotel Without exception the staff were superb, from the cleaners up to reception and restaurant - many spoke English and could not have been more approachable The hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of many of the popular sites and only a short metro ride away from others. The standard room we had was well equipped, with free orange juice and water every day, free tea and coffee and even an iPod charging station. Also an iron and ironing board. The weather was hot and we were unable to open the windows in the room, so we asked at reception for help. They immediately sent someone to sort the problem, but without success. Within minutes we were offered a larger room as an upgrade, which we readily took. This action epitomises the staff at the Indigo.
Food was excellent - good breakfast choices and very good evening meals, both in the restaurant and in the bar.
We would recommend this hotel unreservedly and look forward to staying there again in the future. If you are looking for a first class, value for money hotel with caring staff, the Hotel Indigo is for you!

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DewsWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Guest Relations at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear DewsWestMidlands,

Thanks a lot for your amazing review. We are so pleased to read that the hotel and the team lived up to your expectations. We have got a great team and it does make all the difference to our guests stay.

We hope to see you next time you are in Barcelona.

Kind regards.


Esther
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is just off Catalunya square away from the traffic and very near to all attractions including the famous la rambles , the hotel room quite good in space and clean, break fast is selection is reasonable but not many and Resturant staff was very helpful to help me out in making some sandwiches. There are many Restaurants nearby and walking to Caralunya and la rambles you have everything you want.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohamed_Roushdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Guest Relations at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Mohamed,

Thank you for your recent review on Hotel Indigo. We were overjoyed to read you had a great stay and experience with us and the city.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards


Esther Orta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

If you are looking for a hotel with excellent service, beautifully cleaned rooms, comfy sleeping conditions and will be spending your time enjoying what the city has to offer, then this is definitely the place for you. We will be back.

We booked in for a 4 night holiday stay and were blown away from the very start. 5 days later and we were still feeling very smug about our choice of hotel. It is in a great location, within walking distance from everything, with very professional and friendly staff. If you like Gaudi, then you'll love the decor of the hotel reception and the rooms!

Arriving early in the day, we planned to dump our bags at the hotel. The reception staff greeted us in English (all had name badges with little flags of languages they spoke). Within minutes, we were upgraded to an Executive room (211) and allowed to check in straight away - no fuss. The room was stunning (very colourful shot of Casa Battlo as the feature wall), massive comfy bed, espresso machine, tv etc; bathroom was huge with a fab shower over a jaccuzzi style bath. Any worries we had about the room facing the road with early morning sun and traffic noise, disappeared when we woke up at 12:30 the next afternoon. Blackout blinds and double glazing definitely work! We never made it to breakfast on any morning (which finished at 10:30am - we slept well), but there was always orange juice and water available in the room. Still plenty of alternative options in the city. Turn left out of the hotel and then right at the crossroad, we found a small cafe where we had 2 americano's, a croissant and a Spanish baguette outside on the pavement for less than €5.

We spoke to Cristina (I hope I've got the name right) on reception about football tickets to see Barcelona play on the Saturday night, she said she could book tickets and it was cheaper online, but within seconds she had the web site up, told us where the best seats were, and was booking tickets for us anyway. Wifi is fully available throughout the rooms, with extra tablets, macs and a printer down in the reception area so we could print the tickets. Easy peasy - and the football was excellent.

Although we didn't eat at the hotel, so we can't comment on food, the cocktail bar was a good start to the evening.

I've read one of the other recent reviews and whilst they might have a point on the lift being slowish, we preferred to take the stairs. We had a small balcony - but that is in keeping with the rest of Barcelona. You don't go to Barcelona to stay in a hotel room unless it's for business reasons. As for the air-conditioning, it was 23 degrees C outside and the locals were still wearing coats and jumpers (what!) - we didn't have an issue with the room temperature in April. We didn't actually notice anything that affected our holiday adversely.

Room Tip: We had a room over the road - no issue with sleeping! Room 211 bed was massive and do comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy-Ali2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Director de Recepción at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014
Google Translation

Muchímimas gracias por sus comentarios Happy_ali2013,

Su valoración nos ayuda a mejorar cada día y da sentido al esfuerzo diario de todo nuestro staff.

Opiniones objetivas como la suya hace que cada sigamos esforzándonos en hacer de cada estancia la mejor posible, creando experiencias inolvidables y dando ese valor añadido que tanto nos reconocen nuestros huéspedes.

Deseamos verle de nuevo entre nosotros.

Un cordial saludo,

Marcos Becerro.
Front Desk Supervisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
Eixample
H10 Urquinaona Plaza
H10 Urquinaona Plaza
#36 of 518 in Barcelona
1,272 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#130 of 518 in Barcelona
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#25 of 518 in Barcelona
779 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#114 of 518 in Barcelona
2,584 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#75 of 518 in Barcelona
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 629, Eixample, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £76 - £697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelona is the second largest and most visited city in Spain. Stay at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya and discover Barcelona's prime location, amazing beaches, famous architecture and exciting atmosphere.Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya is fully equipped with all the amenities you would expect from a fine hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing