We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 4 star, room very dark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya
Ranked #96 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“not a 4 star, room very dark”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

First of all is that the hotel is not on the plaza Catalunya but 7/10 walking away in another street.
Check in OK, but not specially welcoming either. They advertise their rooms as with a superb view of Barcelona. We received room 109 with view on????????? open space build in between several rooms/buildings with just a small window. Due to this the room was very dark and you need to switch the lights on day/night. Room size is rather small. Coffee facilities are stored in a cupboard and you need to move it somewhere else to make coffee/tea. This is a task as there is only one electric point in the room. If you want to charge your laptop you need to restore everything in the cupboard which is now occupied with your clothes. They were doing constructions in one of the adjacent buildings, starting 8 am which not really attributed to the quality of our room comfort.
I referred to this at the check out and received the remark that the constructions were not done in the hotel, but probably in one of the buildings next to the hotel. Probably they were aware of this but decided to rent to rooms anyway. As a member of IHG for many years, we did not get the impression that they care about loyal clients anymore.

Room Tip: If you are claustrophobic, do not accept room 109
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marja-Alain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Marja-Alain,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room layout prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    335
    81
    33
    17
See reviews for
177
454
43
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure to stay at this hotel which is a lovely artisan hotel.

Centre of the city and walking distance to restaurants, main sites and the metro.

Free wifi and nice courtyard areas adds to the value of the stay and customer service very much top quality.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DemonTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Demon,

Many thanks for your feedback. As you very nicely stated, we are situated on the city center of Barcelona and very near the underground station, were you con easily get to any of the main attractions. Our solarium and terrace, makes the stay even better, as it is a nice area to relax after a long day around the city.

We hope to see you on your next stay in Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Having read the favourable review we booked a " 1 DBL BED DELUXE WITH TERRACE " as we prefer to sleep with an door/window open instead of A/C. A room with a terrace in the back of the hotel seemed to be a perfect choice.

The gentleman at the reception tried to give us a room on the 5th floor mentioning that the hotel was completely booked. When we reminded him of our reservation of the room with terrace and some discussion amoung the staff they "discovered" the last terrace room and we happily took it.

The bed turned out very small and way too soft. After hours of tossing and turning we both woke up with our bodies aching. Thankfully the room had a sofabed which we had made up for us. For the next 4 nights we took turns, one of us slept in the sofabed, while the other one was "punished" to stay in the " DBL BED DELUXE ". Not exactly our idea of a romantic getaway.

Unlike the terraces to our left and right which were nicely tiled, our "floor" consisted of an iron grid. Underneath is the exhaust of the air conditioning of the kitchen which blew up hot air. While it's nice to see that happen to Marilyn Monroe in " The Seven Year Itch " it's quite nerve-racking when it's happening to yourself every few minutes when you try to relax after a whole day of sightseeing. Also underneath is an open window to the kitchen. At 05:30 hours the kitchen staff start with loud clattering of dishes and as loudly exchange news of the night before. This continues until after the restaurant closed at night.

None of the terrraces was equipped with an umbrella so there is no shade on any of these terrraces in the afternoon. On the fire escape plan (picture attached) the terrace was crossed out, leading us to the assumption that room 105 was never to be rented out as a terrace room.

The rest of the hotel was okay. It was very clean and is very centrally located.

We did not receive what we had booked and paid for and the hotel staff had to be aware of this when they gave room 105 to us. Barcelona is one of our favourite cities, thankfully with many good hotels. This was our first stay at the Hotel Indigo and after this experience we will not return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CJL_Vienna_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear CJL_Vienna_Austria,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. I am glad to know that our location worked for you and that you found our hotel clean.

I am very sorry that your stay was negatively affected by the condition of your room, particularly the noise challenges and the bed condition. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Biggest plus for this hotel is its LOCATION. Bang in the middle of the city, all the best shopping and eateries are walking distance. As a tourist you are out most of the time,hence it makes a great place to stay. Food was just about average. Ideally walk out near the hotel to get better stuff. Staff was really nice, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mformalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear mformalay,

Many thanks for your feedback. We are really glad the team took such good care of you. As you very well said, we are right on the city center, what makes our hotel very convenient for tourism.

We hope to see you next time you are in the city.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Hotel Indigo in Barcelona and enjoyed our time there.
The Hotel location is great and most attractions are in easy walking distance.
The rooms are lovely and have a very modern décor.
The breakfast was excellent and Carlos took good care of us each day and especially for me as a Coeliac.
My only disappointment was not being allowed an early check in except if we had paid 40 Euro.
We had been travelling for 34 hours and were in need of a shower and a rest!
Recently in London we were allowed to check in at 8 am after flying for 27 hours.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a City view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Guest Relations at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Wendy,

Thanks very much for your recent review. I am really glad the hotel and the team went up your expectations. In special, Carlos, to whom I'll congratulate from you. As you beautifully state, our rooms have a modern decor, trying to recreate Gaudi's art.

We hope to see you on your next stay in Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A proper boutique hotel, contemporary stylish design, excellent location for metro and central Barcelona, great quality bedroom, bathroom, all areas. Reception service warm and helpful, especially Esther. Small pool and sun terrace on two levels a lovely (and rare) extra for a city centre hotel. Poolside service prompt and helpful, breakfast superb, coping admirably with dietary requirements. Cannot fault this little gem.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking main road have a pretty balcony, but can be a little noisy for very light sleepers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen8B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Guest Relations at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Helen,

Thank you very much for your amazing review! I am really glad the hotel and the team went up your expectations, especially your mention to myself, that I really appreciate. As you nicely state, it is not common to find a central hotel with two terraces and a pool and that is something that makes us stand out.

We will be really happy to welcome you back on your next trip to Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Indigo in Barcelona for 3 nights.
The location is AMAZING, walking distance to Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas, many restaurants and of course the metro. The hotel is nicely decorated and staff during check-in/out very friendly. We also got an upgrade to a bigger room with our own terrace which was really nice. Breakfast could be better - in my opinion there were too many sweet things (croissants, cake,..) in comparison to savory ones (only toast and one white bread).
What was really disappointing was that when we came back after our first day, the housekeeping had been there - however except for making the bed almost nothing was done - no refill for shampoo, coffee etc., no fresh towels, the ironing board was still standing in the middle of the room (so I'm wondering how they were able to vacuum the floor). When you are exhausted and only have some time to relax before going out for dinner you just want to find a nice and clean room instead of calling the front desk to have someone doing it again. This was very annoying, especially given the fact that the room rates are not cheap. Also, we weren't able to with the A/C off, but this could be solved by the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms with private terrace are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hTrinkewitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Guest Relations at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear hTrinkewitz,

Thank you very much for you recent review! As you said on your review, we are very walking distance to most of the major attractions in Barcelona, and to the ones that are a little bit far, we are very well communicated by underground, which is very close to walk to.
Regarding your issue with housekeeping, we are looking into what happened.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#116 of 513 in Barcelona
2,000 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Negresco Princess Hotel
Negresco Princess Hotel
#54 of 513 in Barcelona
671 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Roger De Lluria Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
#35 of 513 in Barcelona
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya

Property: Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 629, Eixample, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#49 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#73 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelona is the second largest and most visited city in Spain. Stay at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya and discover Barcelona's prime location, amazing beaches, famous architecture and exciting atmosphere.Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya is fully equipped with all the amenities you would expect from a fine hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, IHG, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing