We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya
Ranked #100 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, modern and chic. Great terrace with pool. Gym seems to be taking forever to be refurbished. Service is really great. Breakfast was good above average. Location great as quite central to everything and a pleasant walk to work. Great for both business and pleasure

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank LouisPRequena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Louis,

Thank you very much for your comment. I am really glad you had such a lovely time at our hotel. As you nicely state, our hotel is right on the city centre, close to places like Plaça Catalunya and las Ramblas, yet far from all the crowds and noise.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Barcelona, for business or pleasure.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a newish boutique hotel. The check in was painless and the 2 rooms we had were lovely, one with a balcony. The lifts are a little quirky, they seem to have a mind of their own as to whether they will go up or down. Small but nice pool and outside seating area. 10 mins to Las Ramblas and 20 mins The Gaudi (Book this in advance the queues were horrendous)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Stephen,

Many thanks for your recent review. I am really glad everything went perfectly during your stay. As you very nicely state, we are very close to Las Ramblas and most of the major attractions.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The worse service we had ever received. We got in and there was no one to help us with the luggage. The air-condition in the room didn't work and for 5 hours there was no maintenance guy to fix it. The pool had green dirty water which took them two days to replace. No one could go close to it as it was so filthy. We asked to talk to the manager and for three days he was not available. The worst service we had ever received.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mimiazem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Supervisor at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Mimiaze,

Thank you for your review. We do not understand your comment regarding the help with the luggage, as do we offer that service. If you read the other reviews that we were given lately, there has not been any complaints, that is why we do not understand your disconfort with your stay.

Kind regards,

Marcos Becerro
Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I loved staying in this hotel.
The staff came across as friendly and caring about the customers. The service from reception, restaurant & bar staff was personal and attentive.
The breakfast was lovely with a huge variety of fresh fruit, yogurts, meats, fish, cheeses, breads, pastries, eggs, bacon, sausages. There was a a four hour breakfast service which meant you could sleep in and still have time to enjoy a leisurely breakfast.
The room was modern and clean and the bed was so comfortable. We had a private terrace where we could sunbath or relax after a day sightseeing. At night there was no noise so it was easy to get a good sleep.
The bar was also a good place to chill out and there was a nice atmosphere. Drinks were reasonably priced and there were tapas for 1 euro too. We were given complementary snacks as well.
The location was central for Las Ramblas and the underground.
If I was visiting Barcelona again I would be happy to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micracon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Micracon,

Thanks very much for your recent feedback, I am really glad you had such a nice stay, even more thanks to the work of the hotel team. The breakfast, as you said, is amaizing, as you can have the best of all the breakfast: hot, cold, fruit, cereal...

We look forward welcoming you on your next trip to Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel served us well during our stay in Barcelona prior to going on a cruise.
Pros: modern, staff speaks English, walking distance to La Sagrada Familia and Las Ramblas as well as many restaurants and shops. The hotel has free wifi throughout.
Cons: Hotel room and bathroom are on the small side. Pool area is very large, but pool is small.
Caution: Inquire about a luggage hold fee. We arrived at the hotel early and our room wasn't ready. The front desk staff offered to hold our luggage while we went to a local café. When we returned to the hotel, our room was ready and the front desk staff informed us that they charged us an additional fee because they had to stow many pieces of luggage that day. I wish we would have known this when we initially arrived at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jms8119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear jms8119,

Thank you for your feedback. I am really glad you had such a nice stay. I do not understand though when you say that the reception desk charged you for keeping your luggage, as we do not charge anything for that.

We hope to see you next time you are in the city.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I just got back from our Euro trip and I cannot recommend this hotel enough. I was really confused over my choice of hotel in Barcelona City centre and picked this at the last minute....am so glad I did. This is a superbly located hotel - 10 minute walk from Las Ramblas and 5 minute from Passieg De Gracia, tucked away in a relatively quiet (but beautiful) area. The hotel is so inviting right from the minute you walk in - interiors so tastefully bright and colourful. The people at the reception are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. There was some confusion over the type of room I had booked and it was swiftly addressed and I was given an alternate room. The room i stayed in was more of a suite with a separate sofa and dress area, a huge and very comfy bed and a huge prized balcony/terrace overlooking the inner courtyard. All amenities were provided, including tea/coffee maker and an iron( I now from experience that this is not a give, even in 5 star hotels in Europe). The Breakfast was of very high quality too, although there is are several breakfast places around the hotel. Still at around Euro 12.5 seemed like a good deal to me. One caveat - if you are booking through any of the major hotel booking sites, you would find various types of room choices. Please be very careful with your selection as the smaller rooms are EXTREMELY small. You would not even have space to put your luggage. All in all this was a great stay in every way. Would definitely visit again!

Room Tip: room 101...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travelista99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Travelista99,

Thank you very much for your review. I am really glad the facilities and the team went up your expectations and helped you achieve a great stay. And good point the one of the iron and ironing board, as it is not common to find them on most hotels.

We look forward welcoming you on your next trip to the city!

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Indigo Plaza Catalunya November 2013 after our European Cruise. We loved this hotel....beautifully decorated and very close to Las Ramblas. Everyone at the hotel was super helpful in giving directions....we got lost anyway....and it was very centrally located to everything. We had a street view room with balcony on the 6 or seventh level. Room was lovely and quiet. It was fun to people-watch while relaxing at the hotel. There was a nice pool area, but it was November so we didn't use it. We will definitely stay at the Indigo next time we get to Barcelona!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street as high as you can get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Indigo_Bcn, Customer Service at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Lynn,

Many thanks for your feedback. I am really glad you had a great stay. It is not difficult to get lost in Barcelona, as there are many streets to walk about. But that is the best way to know the city. It is sad you couldn't use the pool because it was winter time. Next time you need to come on the summer, as that area is lovely to relax.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Esther Orta
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#122 of 515 in Barcelona
2,049 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
H10 Urquinaona Plaza
H10 Urquinaona Plaza
#33 of 515 in Barcelona
1,234 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#108 of 515 in Barcelona
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 629, Eixample, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#49 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#75 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £77 - £710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelona is the second largest and most visited city in Spain. Stay at Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya and discover Barcelona's prime location, amazing beaches, famous architecture and exciting atmosphere.Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya is fully equipped with all the amenities you would expect from a fine hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Barcelona - Plaza Catalunya Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing