We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Musik Boutique Hotel
Ranked #51 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal for city break”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from a three day break in Barcelona which we thoroughly enjoyed. I wouldn't say the hotel was the highlight but it certainly didn't detract from our stay. Be aware that it's tucked away off the main road in the old part of town down a narrow side street so it might be a bit intimidating for ladies or couples, especially late at night. The facilities in the hotel are adequate and the buffet breakfast varied and tasty though not as hot as it could have been. Don't expect a great view from your window either as the streets are so narrow you'll be looking at a brick wall! Having said all that I would have no qualms about staying here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    142
    32
    4
    4
See reviews for
47
302
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

First I must say that I disagree totally with Ed and Mariilyn. The hotel is situated on one of the central narrow streets in the centre of Barcelona; although I don't know of their experience of course, I had no concerns at all about the location at any time of day. The lane has a street market outside during some days where local goods are sold - it is well worth a look. It is a thoroughfare so used throughout the day in a way that made me feel quite comfortable in using it well into the late evening ( i am female adult, and travelled with my grown up daughter). I saw no signs of it being dirty at all and if you have a front facing room you see the balconies of the buildings across the street - so lovely to see.
The hotel is absolutely lovely, decorated in cool modern style and with welcoming warm helpful staff. It was easy to stay here, the room was well equipped, with bottle of water included and the breakfast buffet was good value and good start to the day.
Returning to the location, the hotel is about 10 mins from the place de catalunya so well located for coach to the airport and underground network as well as the beach and sights of barcelona.
I hope very much to stay at this hotel again and recommend it to all.

Room Tip: We had a lane facing room which was lovely for its view of the lane and the balconies opposite and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I am writing this review to help people who have not been to Barcelona. Do not stay in this hotel. We are seasoned travelers in our sixties and this was the first time we have been truly afraid to walk out the hotel door. Scoff if you will, but do not pick this place. We learned the hard way.

We thought this was an ideally located hotel central to all the sites we wanted to see. The fact is this hotel is located on a very dirty and noisy street frequented only by locals. The street is full of little candy stores, rundown appliance stores, and fruit stands - nothing attractive or interesting - with lots of trash scattered about on the sidewalks and gutters.

We found out what a bad choice it was when the four of us arrived by taxi at 3pm in the afternoon. Literally 3 feet from the hotel lobby door, while unloading the taxi, two men came up and tried to snatch our small carry bags. They got our friends' bag which was at his wife's feet. He lost passport, Kindle, camera, and laptop. They ran down an alley which is directly opposite the front of the hotel - making it an ideal place for this kind of theft.

When we went to leave at 11am four days later, a similar thing happened when the taxi pulled up - two men suddenly appeared alongside the taxi. This time we were ready and loaded our bags one-by-one and carried on the hand bags. Because of the seediness of this area, we believe this type of theft must be commonplace or is becoming such. Tourists unloading baggage are easy prey on a narrow street with an alley only 10 feet away.

Besides the crime, the street was noisy until 1am in the morning: people yelling continuously, dogs barking, garbage trucks, slamming doors.

The hotel itself is nice once inside, though the rooms are smallish. We had a deluxe room, #20, that fronted on the street. Service is not great: they did not make up our room on one of the four days we were there. Do not stay on street side if you decide to risk staying at this hotel.

Ignore this review at your own risk. I am trying to do everyone a service. Our friends reported the theft of their luggage at the police station, but the police did not do anything at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank EdandMariilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lovely hotel, great location. Lots of tiny streets, so good for strolling and just soaking up the atmosphere. Quiet at night time, so we got a good night's sleep. Buffet breakfast was good, with lots of choice. Staff at front desk were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSmyth77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This location is really fantastic. Once you know where you are!
Thanks to Orange, I didn't have internet access in Barcelona. So didnt' have Google Maps. There are no maps of this area that are large enough to read all the small little streets unless you have Google Maps. I have mentioned this to the hotel --- that they should have print outs of the immediate area for guests, so hopefully they will have these for you when you arrive. SO...if you are like me (ie without internet), prepare to get lost coming back to this hotel until you get your bearings! Not great when you're tired and cranky and you just want to put your feet up.
BUT --- don't let that detract you. This place is amazing. It's a boutique hotel - don't expect a layer foyer where you can mingle with other guests --- but then again, when do you do that anyway. The decor is modern, clean contemporary - I loved it. Front desk were probably the most helpful I've ever experienced. The breakfast for 10 euros is really good value. The room was incredibly clean and the towels... I've never had towels that big from a hotel! Amazing.
AND THE LOCATION IS STILL AMAZING - you are 15 mins max walk from everything.
Would I go back to this hotel - you bet. Too bad it doesn't have a pool though for when its a hot day!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily_Shangrila2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Located near the Barri Gotic, and only 400 meters to Urquinaona metro station this small cozy hotel allows you to visit Barcelona comfortably while staying away from a busy area like Rambla. The staff is very welcoming and the hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebalardone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 day break and agree 100% with all of the recent reviews. The hotel is ideally situated in a quiet location but only 5 minutes walk from some of the main sights and metro stations. The room was lovely and modern and exceptionally clean. Bedding and towels changed daily as were the toiletries and bottles of water. We were even given complimentary breakfast on our first morning which was an added bonus along with free wifi. The staff were always friendly and welcoming even though they seemed to work really long hours. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone considering a visit to Barcelona

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#40 of 513 in Barcelona
1,555 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,358 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#101 of 513 in Barcelona
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
#39 of 513 in Barcelona
474 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#53 of 513 in Barcelona
3,048 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#137 of 513 in Barcelona
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Musik Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musik Boutique Hotel

Property: Musik Boutique Hotel
Address: Sant Pere Mes Baix, 62, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Musik Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and great taste come together to welcome guests to Musik Boutique Hotel. Enjoy the comfort, quality and the latest trends of Hotel Domus Selecta´s Musik Boutique Hotel in the fantastic city of Barcelona. A hotel that exudes the spirit of the city: the historical spirit of its eighteenth century façade, and the ultra modern minimalism of its interior surroundings. And we attend to every detail to make our guests feel at home. Style, quality and exquisite taste are the key to its modern rooms, each of which is equipped with the latest technology such as an iPod music player and LCD TV. In addition, this fantastic corner of Barcelona is one of the best parts of the city, in the district of La Ribera, near the Cathedral, and only 10 minutes from Las Ramblas. A unique location for fantastic vacations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Musik Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Musik Boutique Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing