We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Contempo

Contempo
Reserve with
Contempo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #297 of 9,411 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$26
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: El Raval
Description: Restaurante Contempo is a new Catalan cuisine project in the heart of Barcelona. It is located in the Eixample area, close to Las Ramblas and Plaza Cataluña, it is ideal for enjoying a great lunch or dinner around the most emblematic attractions, the route of modernism or the most famous shopping area in Barcelona. The restaurant has a maximum capacity for 50 people. Our cuisine offers a select menu and a new menu every week, all in a quiet, cozy, elegant with a professional service.
Level Contributor
166 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Our last night in Barcelona and found Contempo by chance. So glad we did. Four people, three courses, coffee and 2 bottles of wine €121 ( with 10%discount) about £102. Fab. The sommelier recommend our wine saying if we didn't like it he would give us a replacement. One of our choices was not available but they gave us a good alternative. One guest wanted cheese (not on the menu) but they gave him cheese, other wanted just ice cream, they gave it him. The ambiance was good, the service top notch. Cannot find anything to complain about. It was soo good we intend to return next year. Well Done Contempo.

Helpful?
Thank Garbu74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contempo C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Contempo, responded to this review, 17 June 2015
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our Restaurant.The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
Geanina N.
PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    77
    24
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romskog, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good to a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I visited this place night since it's located just across the street from my hotel, and I had heard that the food was good.

It sure was. It's actually a high end place which really know their food and accompanying wine.

I had some fried dumplings for a starter, I can highly recommend that. I also had a "spoon" with some delicious seafood. Not entirely sure what it was, but maybe done raw shrimp with a sauce.

For main course I had long cooked baby pig, and that also a great experience. The wine that I asked the staff to pick out, matched the meal perfectly

The staff was also very service minded and professional

All this for less then 30 euro is a bargain. Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Implantmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contempo C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Contempo, responded to this review, 17 June 2015
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our Restaurant.The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
Geanina N.
PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Real find.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is the hotel restaurant for Hotel Placa Catalunya. It's elegant, the food is very good and hotel patrons get a 20% discount.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contempo C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Contempo, responded to this review, 17 June 2015
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our Restaurant.The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
Geanina N.
PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

For our last night in Barcelona we had intended to travel to one of the highly recommended restaurants but being very tired decided to make do with this one because it was less than a minute from our apartment. The quality of the food, the service and the ambience were a lovely surprise. Our waiter Alphonso explained several dishes to us and impressed us with his knowledge of and passion for local wines. We both started to order when he suggested that we could have those dishes as part of the set menu for better value. At the end, a little gift of a glass of glorious dinner wine made us feel very special. It was easily our loveliest dining experience in Barcelona.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert R, Manager at Contempo, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are very glad to know you enjoyed the experience in Contempo, thank you for sharing with other travelers.

Looking forward to welcome you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Classic Catalan Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The menu is set to cater for most tastes [based on classical Catalan recipes]. The prices are realistic for a city hotel and the quality of the food was the best I tasted during my trip.
The staff are wonderfully friendly and attentive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mouse260265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contempo C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Contempo, responded to this review, 17 June 2015
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our Restaurant.The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
Geanina N.
PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Contempo also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Contempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing