We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Center Gran Via
Ranked #56 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Hotel Gran Via was my favorite hotel on our recent two-week excursion across Europe!

The hotel is in a fantastic location right in the middle of the "left" and "right" L'eixample neighborhoods. We arrived by AeroBus, and we only had to walk about a block to reach the hotel. It's inside an apartment building where they've turned one entire floor into hotel rooms. The space is really simple and beautiful. Right up my alley.

The best part of the hotel, though, is the receptionist (and office manager extraordinaire), Elvira. If the owner happens to read this, you need to pay her more money. Seriously, no matter what you're already paying her, it's not enough. She's *that* fantastic.

Elvira met us at the hotel late at night when we arrived, and she was incredibly warm and inviting. She whipped out a map of the city, circled all the "must-dos", and then even recommended a late-night spot for some grub. In my mind, Elvira *is* Barcelona. Throughout our entire stay in the city, she helped us many, many times. She even printed my airline tickets and helped me plan my AeroBus trip back to the airport.

As for the rest of the hotel...

Our room was beautiful! It had the great parts of being old and classical - tall ceilings, gorgeous moldings and floors, and our own private patio! But the room also had modern amenities - like a flat-screen TV, comfy bed, and powerful A/C.

My only gripe about the room was the shower. The bathroom was fairly large, and the shower was the largest we had in Europe. But the water pressure in the shower was merely a drizzle. And there was no shelves to put our toiletries - like soap and shampoo. Oh well, that's a minor gripe for an overall fantastic experience.

As for the cost? It was such a deal at about $120 USD per night! The next time I'm in Barcelona, I'm totally staying at the Hotel Gran Via - but I'm staying for more than three nights!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    72
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
38
87
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel was spotlessly clean. Staff friendly and knowledgable, multilingual.
Perfect location, just off the Universitat place with metro station, a short walk from Pl Catalunya, Las Ramblas etc...
Selection ofTeas and coffees, free of charge.
Large and spacious bathroom with double shower, hot water 24/7 and free toiletries.Small safe in the room. Computer and fridge in the common area. Free wi fi (fast internet)
Maps and guides. Lockers for luggage for storing suitcase after checking out.
We had a room with balcony facing the main street with beautiful view. There was table and chairs on the balcony, where we enjoyed our morning coffee.
Overall we had a really pleasant stay, the hotel was very clean and comfortable.After we checked out we were still offered a tea and coffee when we returned to pick up our bags. We had everything we needed. I would give 5* if the tea and coffee facilities were in our room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have nice balconies. Pillows were massive (way too big for me so I slept wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This was not our usual type of hotel and we did not know what to expect. We were in Barcelona primarily to attend the F1 Grand Prix and wanted to be in the centre of the city to make travelling to the circuit as quick and simple as possible. This hotel certainly fitted the bill. It is not a plush 4* Chain, it does not have a restaurant and cannot provide any food. It is however spotlessly clean, in a good location with friendly, helpful staff. We had a double room with a balcony overlooking the main street (which can be busy and noisy at times but that didn't bother us) There is a safe in the room and the ensuite bathroom is clean with a large double shower. The room is cleaned daily and clean towels & complementary toiletries provided each day. Easy walking distance to La Rambla, shops and restaurants with metro station (Universitat) a few hundred yards away. There is a computer available for guests to use in the hall, there is also a fridge there to store your drinks etc, (should you wish to do so) and there is complementary tea, coffee etc provided.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This hotel is a really nice place to stay. The price was reasonable, location good, our room was not spacious, but quiet, clean and tidy, it had no balcony but inner patio.Though there was no breakfast served coffee and tea was included in the price and available at any time of the day. Our room had a safe and there was a fridge and a computer in the corridor.
The staff was friendly, could communicate in foreign languages and was ready to supply us with any kind of information. Our warmest thanks to the woman who was at the reception most of the time and in the morning of April 16 as well (unfortunately we forgot to ask her name).
We advise this hotel to everyone coming to Barcelona.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aija K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Lovely staff, helpful and knowledgeable, and very friendly. Rooms are spotless, showers hot and powerful enough, beds large and comfortable. As others have said, location is great, for aerobus and for easy access to many sights on foot/metro/bus. Also found some really good eateries close by, as well as handy supermarket a couple of doors up the road. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This hotel was excellent for us in every respect:
- great location for arriving by the bus from the airport, for reaching Las Ramblas and many other attractions on foot and right next to the metro too.
- rooms were modern, clean, spacious and comfortable, with hairdryer, TV, towels and toiletries.
Balconies were also a bonus in the mornings - breakfast (from the minisupermarket just downstairs) in the sun! showers were hot and powerful.
- shared facilities were really useful - large fridge on landing, kettle with free tea and coffee, nice lounge area, lockers to leave your luggage on the last day, computer with free internet access.
- very friendly staff - maps and advice on what to see and how to get there.
A good price too!

Room Tip: we had adjacent rooms at the front of the hotel - these had balconies looking out over the Gran Via...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallylou-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights, and everything was great: from the warm welcome of Elvira ( I guess the owner/manager), to the nice room we had (spacious and extremly clean) and to the perfect location (center of barcelona, with many bus stops arounds, the Aerobus nearby - within 5 minutes of walk ).
I strongly recommend this place, as it is an excellent value !!!!

Only one down point: the shower water pressure is too low according to me....

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#56 of 512 in Barcelona
1,140 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#63 of 512 in Barcelona
1,407 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#9 of 307 in Barcelona
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hostalin Barcelona Passeig de Gracia
El Raval
Hostal Centric
Hostal Centric
#14 of 307 in Barcelona
297 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Brun Barcelona B&B
Brun Barcelona B&B
#79 of 307 in Barcelona
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Center Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Center Gran Via

Property: Hotel Center Gran Via
Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes 573, Principal, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Center Gran Via 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Barcelona, ​​in the heart of the city, close to Las Ramblas and Plaza Catalunya is located this small 15 room, "Boutique Hotel" occupying the first floor of a modernist building, Among Ciutat Vella and Eixample district, offers an excellent strategic location to visit on foot the city center and main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Center Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Center Gran Via Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing