We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home thanks to 5 star receptionist Mrs. Elvira”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Center Gran Via
Ranked #54 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Home away from home thanks to 5 star receptionist Mrs. Elvira”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Let me say this: Looks more like a hostal than a hotel. No restaurant. And for all the rest: we had a superb stay at this place. Mrs Elvira at reception made our trip one of the most enjoyable we have had in a long time. What a personalized service! Nothing seems too much for this lady to make the best of your stay in the hotel and your visit in Barcelona. Excellent insider tips no-one ever would tell you at a lobby of a normal hotel. You feel a warm welcome from the first minute you meet this person. Thank you sooooo much Elvira.
Excellent location near Metro "Universitat". Aerobus (shuttle bus airport-town) stop is only 5 mins walking. For your breakfast, plenty of good bakeries nearby. A superb choice of tapas bars within easy walking distance from the hotel. Thanks to Mrs. Elvira (reception) this place receives a 5 star!

Room Tip: Our executive room had a spacious outside terrace which we very much enjoyed. (During wintertime y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pascal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    71
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
37
87
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
simonuineill
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We've stayed in Barcelona a few times but this little hotel was a real find. Just across the road from the Airbus stop in a lively area with lots of cafes and restaurants nearby. The staff were very friendly and helpful - and as it was my 50th birthday on the day we arrived, they gave us complimentary cava ;) Our room, 106, a superior double, was immaculately clean with a great shower, a safe and an amazing little terrace area. The room itself was quiet and the bed, though a little on the small side, was very comfortable. The hotel don't provide breakfast but there is complimentary coffee and the use of a communal fridge, so you can happily get your own breakfast and eat outside - or go to one of the many local cafes. There's free wifi too but the use of a communal computer if you don't have your own device. There isn't a full time reception - though staff seem to be around most of the time - and with an easy code entry system, you can certainly come and go as you please. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonuineill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

If you want to experience sleeping on a motorway, book the superior(?) rooms at the front. If you want construction noise, and the sound of patients from the Aged Respite Centre on the floor above, request an interior room. I booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor's high rating. Previous reviewers are either deaf, or, too young to evaluate a reasonable level of service. Be warned, the hotel takes 50% payment 10 days prior to the arrival date. If you are not satisfied with your booking, due to noise, or other issues, the owner, Hermini, refuses to refund. The only solution offered to me, as he was unable to change my room, or prepared to offer a discount, was to try and resell the space, and then refund the money. Reviewers have commented on the high level of personal service offered by the other hotel staff. This is true. They are amazing. However, when booking a hotel you are paying for the room and it's comfort factor. Hotel Center Gran Via offers the most basic facilities, and is not particularly price competitive. For €20 more, you can find a very good 3/4 star hotel in central Barcelona, and avoid staying in this extremely noisy B&B!!

Room Tip: Would not advise any room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPVLondonGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

If you are searching for a nice, economic and well located hotel, please hear my words that this is the right place for you.
it is surrounded by a lot of nice restaurants, bars and shops that will make up your vacation.
the hotel have 14 rooms only and the door is always open anytime.
the staff are soooo friendly and well knowledgeable on what to do .Thank you again to Elvira ,Antonio and also valeria.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruby_marby17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and had such a wonderful time - I cannot rate this hotel more highly!

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the lovely Elvira who was utterly charming and beyond helpful throughout our stay - she recommended places for us to go, local restaurants that won't rip tourists off (La Flauta and La Catalana were our favourite tapas places!) and always ensured that we left the hotel with a smile on our faces each day! She was always consistent in her service and we cannot thank her enough for all her help during our trip!! (especially her recommendation to go to Monserrat, which was gorgeous!)

The hotel is just what we wanted. Its central location means that it is just a walk away from La Rambla, while the aerobus station is only 100m away. The metro station is also just across the road which comes in handy as well, especially if you buy a T10 ticket at about €9, which gives you 10 journeys on both the buses and the metro around Barcelona.

Our room was simple, clean and modern but with touches of its original interior. The wifi and air conditioning worked very well, without any problems. The room also had an outside terrace which was an added extra! Also included in the room was a safe, a TV and a hair dryer, though there was a communal fridge and computer which could be used by all the hotel guests. What makes the hotel really special is that there are only 15 rooms in total which makes it super friendly and personal, with a "hostal"-esque feel to it.

We cannot praise this hotel highly enough and would definitely consider staying again if we were to return to Barcelona! For a fantastic service, a clean and comfortable room, as well as value for money - this is the hotel for you!

Thanks for our stay :)
Emilie and Tom, UK.



  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I have only praise for the Center Gran Via-excellent staff, spotlessly clean, quiet, great facilities including a safe, use of a computer, fridge and complimentary tea and coffee. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We booked a triple room here for 4 nights. Aerobus stop (Pl. UNIVERSITAT) was located fifty metres from the hotel. Just cross the road and head left away from the university. We were greeted warmly by Joey - he was so professional and friendly that we asked if he was the owner! He was so helpful and told us some key places for us to visit, and gave us some invaluable tips on finding our way around the city. He said that the wifi signal was not great in our room, but it was enough for loading Web pages and doing basic WhatsApp messaging, when it worked it was very fast indeed, the signal was just low. Computer was just down the hall but we didn't need it. Upon arrival, you get a little basket for the fridge which is useful for storing some basic breakfast things. We made a lot of use of this because we had a nice little outside terrace where we had our meals in the morning.

What also impressed me was the little introduction folder that is placed in every room. It has some recommendations, safety tips, transport advice which we found very helpful. This added a personal touch which we appreciated.

Some other reviewers mentioned the shower pressure but we did not experience this, as our shower was working fine. Either the management has fixed this, or our room was just an exception.

This hotel is basic, and I must stress this because you should not book here if you are are used to a very comfortable level of accommodation. Our room had some antique looking tiles which added a unique touch but they were cracked and scuffed in places, and the bathroom tiles need to be maintained more I think. It is not the most modern hotel but it is extremely clean and our room was punctually refreshed every morning.

As other reviewers have mentioned, what sets this place apart is really the service. The receptionists were so helpful and friendly, and their grasp of English was excellent. They never hesitated to ask us how our day was when we came back to the hotel in the evening. I have stayed in many establishments, but this was the first time that I was truly welcomed and made to feel at home. When we came back to pick up our luggage before our flight, the receptionist asked if we wanted to use the computers, toilets or help ourselves to tea and coffee before leaving.

Overall, this was a very good choice in terms of location. Barcelona is easy to navigate and we were able to easily walk to la ramble or take the metro to the beach. We also found a couple of great restaurants less than a minutes' walk away. Also I would normally prefer a more modern hotel, , I would certainly return to this place when visiting Barcelona again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildchild188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#56 of 513 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#9 of 308 in Barcelona
461 reviews
Eixample
Hostalin Barcelona Gran Via
Hostalin Barcelona Gran Via
#56 of 308 in Barcelona
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#51 of 308 in Barcelona
339 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Centric
Hostal Centric
#14 of 308 in Barcelona
292 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Oliva
Hostal Oliva
#49 of 308 in Barcelona
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Center Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Center Gran Via

Property: Hotel Center Gran Via
Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes 573, Principal, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Center Gran Via 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Barcelona, ​​in the heart of the city, close to Las Ramblas and Plaza Catalunya is located this small 15 room, "Boutique Hotel" occupying the first floor of a modernist building, Among Ciutat Vella and Eixample district, offers an excellent strategic location to visit on foot the city center and main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Center Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Center Gran Via Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing