We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Center Gran Via
Ranked #55 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had read various descriptions of this hotel, hinting at previous splendour, much of which, it was said, had been retained. We found odd examples of what the building must've been like in the past, but for the most part, the changes had rendered it almost like a Municiple Office. Our first impression therefore was one of disappointment. However, this soon changed as, although our room was not as we expected in terms of 'splendour', it was perfectly adequate for our needs: a comfortable bed, a good shower, with a small courtyard with table and chairs. There were no windows in our room but it was completely safe to leave the French doors onto the courtyard open during the day and night. Glowing praise for the staff who were so friendly, helpful and efficient, that we became attached to the place very quickly. There are no facilities for dining or having coffeei/drinks, although there is a communal area for making coffee (free) and the use of the computer (free). As for location, it couldn't have been better - central to both the lively parts of town and also lovely tree-lined avenues at the back of the University with lovely cafes and restaurants - lovely for breakfast, lunch or a late evening stroll, stopping off for cake and coffee. This hotel gave us everything we wanted: a very comfortable but basic room and a genuine feeling of welcome - nice and personal which one often doesn't get at a bigger hotel. Huge thanks again to the staff who made our stay so enjoyable. We definitely look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor with French doors onto a small courtyard which faced other buildin...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Center Gran Via
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

We picked this hotel due to its location and price.
On the plus side the staff are extremely friendly and will help you with just about anything. The hotel itself is very nice, the rooms are basic but very clean. The beds were changed everyday and fresh towels, shower gel and soap left.
On the down side, there are no tea / coffee making facilities or fridge in the rooms. These are all communal. Our major concern was that in the mornings (about 8.15 - 8.30am) there was constant "drilling" from someone renovating either below or upstairs which was very annoying. I don't know how long this went on for but it was usually still going when we were leaving the room about 9.30 - 10.00. Don't plan any "lie-ins" from partying the night before!
Also our room looked out to a courtyard which must have had a kitchen nearby as we could hear the dishes being washed, trollies being wheeled about in the mornings.

Room Tip: We had a room without a view - the window looked out into a courtyard and was noisy. Would have pre...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mousey1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Let me say this: Looks more like a hostal than a hotel. No restaurant. And for all the rest: we had a superb stay at this place. Mrs Elvira at reception made our trip one of the most enjoyable we have had in a long time. What a personalized service! Nothing seems too much for this lady to make the best of your stay in the hotel and your visit in Barcelona. Excellent insider tips no-one ever would tell you at a lobby of a normal hotel. You feel a warm welcome from the first minute you meet this person. Thank you sooooo much Elvira.
Excellent location near Metro "Universitat". Aerobus (shuttle bus airport-town) stop is only 5 mins walking. For your breakfast, plenty of good bakeries nearby. A superb choice of tapas bars within easy walking distance from the hotel. Thanks to Mrs. Elvira (reception) this place receives a 5 star!

Room Tip: Our executive room had a spacious outside terrace which we very much enjoyed. (During wintertime y...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pascal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We've stayed in Barcelona a few times but this little hotel was a real find. Just across the road from the Airbus stop in a lively area with lots of cafes and restaurants nearby. The staff were very friendly and helpful - and as it was my 50th birthday on the day we arrived, they gave us complimentary cava ;) Our room, 106, a superior double, was immaculately clean with a great shower, a safe and an amazing little terrace area. The room itself was quiet and the bed, though a little on the small side, was very comfortable. The hotel don't provide breakfast but there is complimentary coffee and the use of a communal fridge, so you can happily get your own breakfast and eat outside - or go to one of the many local cafes. There's free wifi too but the use of a communal computer if you don't have your own device. There isn't a full time reception - though staff seem to be around most of the time - and with an easy code entry system, you can certainly come and go as you please. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonuineill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

If you want to experience sleeping on a motorway, book the superior(?) rooms at the front. If you want construction noise, and the sound of patients from the Aged Respite Centre on the floor above, request an interior room. I booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor's high rating. Previous reviewers are either deaf, or, too young to evaluate a reasonable level of service. Be warned, the hotel takes 50% payment 10 days prior to the arrival date. If you are not satisfied with your booking, due to noise, or other issues, the owner, Hermini, refuses to refund. The only solution offered to me, as he was unable to change my room, or prepared to offer a discount, was to try and resell the space, and then refund the money. Reviewers have commented on the high level of personal service offered by the other hotel staff. This is true. They are amazing. However, when booking a hotel you are paying for the room and it's comfort factor. Hotel Center Gran Via offers the most basic facilities, and is not particularly price competitive. For €20 more, you can find a very good 3/4 star hotel in central Barcelona, and avoid staying in this extremely noisy B&B!!

Room Tip: Would not advise any room in this hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPVLondonGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

If you are searching for a nice, economic and well located hotel, please hear my words that this is the right place for you.
it is surrounded by a lot of nice restaurants, bars and shops that will make up your vacation.
the hotel have 14 rooms only and the door is always open anytime.
the staff are soooo friendly and well knowledgeable on what to do .Thank you again to Elvira ,Antonio and also valeria.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruby_marby17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and had such a wonderful time - I cannot rate this hotel more highly!

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the lovely Elvira who was utterly charming and beyond helpful throughout our stay - she recommended places for us to go, local restaurants that won't rip tourists off (La Flauta and La Catalana were our favourite tapas places!) and always ensured that we left the hotel with a smile on our faces each day! She was always consistent in her service and we cannot thank her enough for all her help during our trip!! (especially her recommendation to go to Monserrat, which was gorgeous!)

The hotel is just what we wanted. Its central location means that it is just a walk away from La Rambla, while the aerobus station is only 100m away. The metro station is also just across the road which comes in handy as well, especially if you buy a T10 ticket at about €9, which gives you 10 journeys on both the buses and the metro around Barcelona.

Our room was simple, clean and modern but with touches of its original interior. The wifi and air conditioning worked very well, without any problems. The room also had an outside terrace which was an added extra! Also included in the room was a safe, a TV and a hair dryer, though there was a communal fridge and computer which could be used by all the hotel guests. What makes the hotel really special is that there are only 15 rooms in total which makes it super friendly and personal, with a "hostal"-esque feel to it.

We cannot praise this hotel highly enough and would definitely consider staying again if we were to return to Barcelona! For a fantastic service, a clean and comfortable room, as well as value for money - this is the hotel for you!

Thanks for our stay :)
Emilie and Tom, UK.



  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank easims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#227 of 513 in Barcelona
345 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#82 of 513 in Barcelona
950 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#55 of 513 in Barcelona
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#8 of 308 in Barcelona
476 reviews
Eixample
Zoo Rooms
Zoo Rooms
#66 of 308 in Barcelona
126 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#48 of 308 in Barcelona
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Center Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Center Gran Via

Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes 573, Principal, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £71 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Center Gran Via 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Barcelona, ​​in the heart of the city, close to Las Ramblas and Plaza Catalunya is located this small 15 room, "Boutique Hotel" occupying the first floor of a modernist building, Among Ciutat Vella and Eixample district, offers an excellent strategic location to visit on foot the city center and main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Center Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Center Gran Via Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing