We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”
Review of Primavera Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Primavera Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I stayed at this hostel for four nights together with my two friends. We had a great stay!
The hostel is easy to find altough google maps gives you a wrong adress. It's in a quiet area but there is quite a lot of noice from the road/intersection at the front of the building during rush hour. But sleeping with earplugs solves this problem.

The people running the hostel are really nice. We had a warm welcome and they explained all the big touristic things to us and everything else we wanted to know or see. Everyday they are in for a chat and curious about what you did that day.

The rooms are really authentic, which is nice. The beds are quite comfy and there is a nice little balcony. The room is also really clean, as well as the bathrooms and kitchen. The general areas have everything you need, nice couches, laptops, a goog kitchen and a fridge for your food or drinks.

All together I think it is a wonderfull hostel with a lot of personal attention for every detail from the great staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyne2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    56
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
64
78
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is a very nice hostel in a good part of town. Just around the corner from the Sagrada Familia and Casa Batllo, it is in a relatively quiet part of Barcelona between the centre and the village-like Gracia.

The hostel itself has an amazing ambience, with wonderful domed brick ceilings, tiled floors and shuttered balcony doors.
The people working there are friendly and very helpful. There are lockers for your personal belongings in every room, and the place feels secure with 24/7 assistance around.
It is also generally clean, though I must say there was a small downside to all bathroom facilities being shared-sex and the lodging men at the time apparently being a little drippy around the toilets... Not a fault of the hostel, most facilities were clean and everything was cleaned daily.
One other thing to note is the music-school upstairs. Personally I really enjoyed it, but if you are a late sleeper and dislike waking to music, you have been warned.
Last thing is to keep an eye on your booking. The dorm I was put in was eight beds instead of the booked, and paid, six. And yes, there were also six to eight people in it for all nights. I felt bad to ask for a refund to make it the price of an eight bed dorm, and thus did not try very hard and got none. But besides this my experience there was lovely, and I would wholly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful clean hostel. The girls there are lovely and take a lot of pride in keeping everything clean. Christina was an amazing host explaining exactly what we needed to see in Barcelona. I have stayed in many hostels and hotels on my 2 month trip of Europe and this stay was one of my best.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephHaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I just returned from a week at Primavera Hostel with my two sons. I have to admit I was skeptical and reluctant to stay in a hostel since I'm clearly no longer a college student. However, I was pleasantly surprised. We had a "quad" room with a comfortable queen bed and bunk beds. It was immaculate and spacious with a charming balcony overlooking the city. The hostel is on the second floor of a beautiful old building, so it was quite noisy at night with the balcony doors open. I was glad I brought earplugs. The staff is friendly, helpful and welcoming. My biggest fear was the shared bathroom arrangement, but it was really not a problem. There was ample privacy, cleanliness and availability and it was just down the hall. Although the hostel was at full capacity, I was amazed at the level of mutual respect among the young people staying there. Everyone seemed to abide by a "hostel code of behavior" and were quiet, polite and friendly. Barcelona is amazing and we had a wonderful experience I will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed in a 6-bed dorm room for two nights. I was assigned in a 6-bed dorm inside another dorm room. Not summer yet, so it was a bit cool. We opened the window for ventilation. It felt a bit odd to pass by another room to go to the bathroom, but it was alright. The bathrooms were spotless all the time. Check the other side of the floor if you need to use the bathroom/toilet - they have a lot actually.

Breakfast is not served, but that is fine, because you can use their kitchen and fridge (they have 2 kitchens) to store and cook your food. The dorm had lockers, numerous plug outlets and night lamps.

The staff was very helpful in giving us tips and advice how we can maximize our stay in Barcelona for two days.

The location is a super ideal base for exploring Barcelona. Located in a really charming picturesque neighborhood, just a couple of blocks from Sagrada Familia. Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melodymedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We booked this hostel through hostel world but recommend you book through their own web site www.primavera.hostel.com as you could cost less. This hostel is in a great location, Christina and her staff are great and helpful. Kept very clean and has good facilities. We enjoyed our stay there and would stay there again when we are next in Barcelona. Could do with a better sign on the door but that is only a very minor problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Primavera Hostel has heart. I was very lucky to spend four nights in this wonderful hostel -- situated in a gorgeous historic building -- at the beginning of June and would recommend it without reservation to other guests. Rooms are absolutely spotless, very well decorated (the designer has done a phenomenal job!), and comfortable. This is a hostel that feels more like a cozy shared flat, and has a nice mix of common areas and two kitchens. It also has spotless bathrooms with strong, hot showers. I never needed to wait to use a shower or toilet.

Location is outstanding -- just a few seconds away from a metro station with two lines, five minutes to Sagrada Familia, and just 10-15 minutes walking to other major sites, including both Gaudi houses. There are also some great restaurants and bars near by (ask for directions to the Italian one, trust me!) that represent exceptional value -- these are places frequented by locals, and not the tourist traps present closer to the sea. At night, I would recommend you walk 10 minutes to the Vila de Gracia area for great pubs.

The best feature of this hostel, though, is the staff. They bend over backwards to make sure you have a great time in Barcelona and to promote a friendly atmosphere in the hostel.

Is there anything missing? Not really -- I just wish there was a cork board available to have left a note saying how very much I adored the hostel and staff! Thank you, Primavera!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwiz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Jam Hostel Barcelona
Jam Hostel Barcelona
#28 of 722 in Barcelona
157 reviews
Eixample
Fabrizzio's Petit
Fabrizzio's Petit
#46 of 722 in Barcelona
212 reviews
Eixample
Black Swan Hostel
Black Swan Hostel
#18 of 722 in Barcelona
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Rodamon Barcelona Hostel
Rodamon Barcelona Hostel
#71 of 722 in Barcelona
283 reviews
Eixample
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
Urbany Hostel BCN GO!
#66 of 722 in Barcelona
1,212 reviews
Eixample
Casa Kessler Barcelona
Casa Kessler Barcelona
#53 of 722 in Barcelona
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primavera Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primavera Hostel

Property: Primavera Hostel
Address: Mallorca 330, 08037 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 722 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Primavera Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primavera Hostel is located in a building of the Barcelona of the early twentieth century, which has been renovated and transformed into a dynamic, bright and warm space preserving the touch of traditional architecture and decoration but with designs that transport it to modernity.Primavera Hostel is designed for a kind of traveler who is looking for comfort, good service but without having a high budget. We offer spacious private rooms and bedrooms very well distributed. We are committed to making your stay comfortable and safe.We have wireless Internet service, lockers, a wide kitchen and living room where you can also share with people from around the world! We are located in the heart of Barcelona, just meters from the famous Gaudi Church: The Holy Family and a few minutes from downtown. From our hostel you can go to all the attractions of the city quickly and safely due we are to a few steps from metro stations and bus stops. The hostel provides a double/twin, triples and quad room and as well a beds in a 6 beds dorm. There is a full equipped kitchen for the guest use where you can cook and make a coffee exactly like at home. All the rooms have shared shower and bathroom. As well, you can enjoy and relax in our living room with a television, big sofas and good books. A computer is located in the living room for the guests use for free! and as well, free wifi in all the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Primavera Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primavera Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing