We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #4 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night in September 2013 prior to our cruise and our stay was a wonderful experience. The hotel is situated in the centre of the old section of Barcelona (Barri Gotic) and is an easy walk to restaurants, site-seeing, etc. We were welcomed like stars, given a tour of the building and shown the ancient Roman ruins into which the hotel is built, the service was very personalized, and first rate. The hotel itself has high end amenities, is very clean and quiet. Our room had a view of the interior courtyard and was gorgeous and most importantly, quiet. We were even treated to bottled water, fruit and a small tray of dessert. Staff provided us with everything we needed - from help with restaurant recommendations, tickets for the hop-on, hop-off bus tours, taxis, etc. After a great night's sleep, we ate breakfast in the restaurant next door which is part of the hotel (separated from the main check-in area by a curtain) and it was delicious. Fantastic stay...hope to be able to come back in the future!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic comment!

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona I feel really proud when I receive reviews like yours. We are always at guests disposal to provide them stays memorable. I am very glad that succeeded with you.

I hope forward to welcoming you again.

Kindly regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    140
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
180
810
31
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We are here for 4 days following a Backroads cycling trip to Mallorca. We arrived Friday evening after a harrowing flight from Palma in a terrible storrm. Our cab driver heroically negotiated the narrow streets to bring us to the entrance of this lovely hotel in the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona. Manuel's very personal welcome was most appreciated and a perfect example of the fine service and professionalism of this hotel. Our room(106) is lovely and we are at this very moment enjoying the balcony requested when we first made our reservation. Breakfast taken al fresco in the courtyard is quie nice and we have also availed ourselves of the lovely pool terrace on the fourth floor. We enjoyed an excellent dinner the first night at the hotel's tapas restaurant Le Bouchon.
The setting of the hotel is perfect for exploring the Gothic Quarter, El Born, Las Ramblas and El Raval. Expectations have definitely been met on this trip!

Room Tip: 106 is a deluxe double with balcony overlooking the interior courtyard- spacious and an easy walk up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yogagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs.

Thank you so much for your excellent reviews!

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona I appreciate a lot all the comments of our guests, they help us to be better.

Many thanks!

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Benefiting from a beautiful synthesis of old and new (an old palace was carefully reconstructed and complemented with appealing modern architectural elements), this hotel creates an aesthetically extremely appealing and, at the same time, relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are modern, while integrating pre-existing old architectural elements whenever these had survived. It is worthwhile mentioning that this hotel is one of the very few hotels in e old town of Barcelona that are very quite despite their central location!!! The staff was extraordinarily helpful (including in respect to rather unusual requests, for example regarding curtain fabric stores) and welcoming. We travelled with our three-year old daughter, who was treated with a lot of affection and patience by the staff. The quality of the breakfast is excellent. One caveat: There is some room for improvement for the restaurant. While it offers an attractively-priced menu for dinner, the quality of this low-price option was mixed and the flexibility of the chef in substituting another dish from the a la carte menu for one of the courses was limited. However, after we had complained about this, we were very pleasantly surprised at the time of the check out that the hotel had not charged us for this dinner. It is clearly our impression that the hotel management and the staff of this relatively new hotel is doing its utmost to resolve such issues and we certainly look forward to staying at this hotel again (many times!).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs.

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic comment!

All the Mercer Hotel Barcelona staff works to provide guests memorable stays. I feel really proud wich succeeded with you.

I hope welcoming back you soon,

Warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in the Gotic. Deserving of the hype. Public areas, rooms and service were outstanding. The rooftop pool and terrace were beautiful. We did not dine in the restaurant but the tapas bar was amazing

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs,

Thank you so much for your review!

We work steadily to provide our guests with memorable stays. I am glad that yours was an good experience.

We hope forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Loved the beautiful restyling design the attention to detail in the decoration , the ambience as a whole was tremendous . The location was great ( we really loved this part of gothical barcelona) the staff were very welcoming and helpful with everything. Food and service was exquisite

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanyeeast k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your excellent comment about the Mercer Barcelona.

The staff of the hotel works every day to provide guest memorable stays. I am glad that yours succeded.

Many thanks!

Warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My daughters, close friends and I recently returned from a marvelous vacation in Barcelona. We spent six nights at the Mercer and staying there was one of the highlights of our trip. The Guest Relations staff is truly exceptional--so helpful and always "going the extra mile" for their guests.

Everyone we met at the hotel was wonderful and helpful, but I particularly want to commend Florencia and Isidro. Florencia was so helpful before our arrival in setting up restaurant reservations (even getting us into the highly acclaimed Tickets) and arranging a car to pick us up at the airport among other very helpful suggestions and recommendations. Isidro was also very helpful (even providing great shopping tips in the nearby El Born area). The dining staff was also charming and the food was very good.

From our first impression (a glass of cava while we checked in and awaited our room) to check-out, we had a great experience.

Since the hotel is only one year old, the rooms are very well-appointed with all modern amenities. That said, the hotel is also very charming; taking advantage of its location next to the old Roman city walls.

I could not be more enthusiastic in recommending the Hotel Mercer! We have stayed at many fine hotels abroad (including several Four Seasons properties) and the Hotel Mercer experience is one we will always remember always.

One last comment on the location. It is simply perfect. We were a short walk to the waterfront, Las Ramblas, Placa Catalunya, numerous great local restaurants and shops, the Cathedral, museums, etc.

We can't wait to return to Barcelona and stay at the Mercer. On a 5-point scale, I rate it a 6+++!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldtraveler1951-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic comments!

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, I am very proud that you wrote us such a flattering review. We work steadily to provide our guests with memorable stays. I am glad that yours was an unforgettable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel soon.

Kindest regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We just came home from the tail end of our 2 week Spain trip. As a finish to our trip, my wife booked two days a the Mercer before flying home to the states. We have to put this hotel at the top of our "best hotels ever" list, supplanting the 4 Seasons in Vancouver, BC. (Sorry 4Seasons)!
Everything about this place is perfect, from check in to check out. Service is impeccable, without being stuffy or overwrought. Its a small place, only 28 rooms I think. I think that's a big piece of what we loved. The staff knew our names, and even though we were there for a whirlwind 2 days, we felt like we'd been there for 2 weeks. The hotel restaruant "Le Bouchon" was one of our favorite places we went in the Barri Gothic area. And we ate at a lot of places in 2 days (lots of small meals...)! We sat in there 3 times I think, and each time I told my wife, "I'd be happy to just sit here all evening.." Dibbern china, Cutipol cutlery. Fantastic.
My wife just said, "I'm not sure I want you to review that hotel, because I love it so much, I kind of don't want anyone else to know about it!!!!".
Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: We chose the "deluxe room" which I believe is their lower priced room, and even so, first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank benjohnson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Mr. Johnson,

When I read comments like yours I feel really flattered!

Thank you so much! for taking the time in sending us your excellent review of your stay at the Mercer Hotel Barcelona. We work to provide guests memorables stays and we try to find the best hospitality services for our guests. As General Manager I am very satisfied that your experience with us was excellent.

Many thanks!

Warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
177 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#6 of 513 in Barcelona
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,663 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#5 of 513 in Barcelona
842 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 513 in Barcelona
4,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hotel Barcelona

Property: Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Address: Calle dels Lledo 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercer Hotel Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This architectural marvel is located in the heart of Barcelona's Gothic quarter on mythic Calle Lledó, just a short distance from the Plaza de Sant Jaume. It not only represents the splendour of the old Julia Augusta Flaventina Paterna Colony, in what was then the Roman city of Barcino, but is also an archaeological gem that combines past and present, the monumental and the latest design. Now travellers can enjoy the greatest hotel comforts in the heart of old Barcelona, with exclusive views of the dome of the church of Santa María del Mar, the basilica of San Just i Pastor, and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Mercer Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing