We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, interesting boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #1 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here with 3 other couples in Sept 2013 for 3 nights, and had an excellent stay. The concierge, Juan Manuel, was probably the most helpful we have ever had (and we just got off an excellent cruise). We could walk everywhere - and did - from this great location. The rooms are very modern in this very old area. Be forewarned that taxis seem to have trouble finding the hotel because it is on such a tiny street. They have to get you close, then you call the hotel and they walk out to get you. (This happened to all 4 couples). On our departure, the driver did come to the front door, and then we had an interesting ride out. There is a nice rooftop sundeck with pool.

Room Tip: If you are someone who applies makeup, ask for another room than 101. The 3 rooms that pur friends...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Madam,

I am very grateful for your comments about your stay with us.

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona I would like to tell you that we work steadily to provide our guests with the best hospitality services possible. These is the reason why our guests are picked up from where the taxi stops so that they have a comfortable arrival. In addition, we are making our best efforts to show taxi companies how to get to our hotel.

I appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
There are newer reviews for Mercer Hotel Barcelona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

930 - 936 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

my first stay at the Mercer could not have been better: Great location within walking distance to all major sights and shopping, lots of good restaurants around.
Great architechture and cool interior design. My room (106) on the 1st upper floor was large and quiet with a little sit on balcony. Well equipped bathroom with separate WC and walk-in closet and generous selection of English luxury toiletries.
Breakfast a la carte was a must, served like in a 3 star restaurant, very tasty and incredible selection of cakes. The real plus is definitely the staff, The evening concierge a top professional, Gloria and Jordi and all the others i don't remember the name of were so helpful and efficient

Room Tip: 106, quiet and comfortable overlooking the interior courtyard
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RudyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Sir,

First of all I would like to tell you how thankful I am for your enthusiastic review.

Secondly, as General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, I am very satisfied that you wrote us such a complimentary assessment. We work 24/7 so that our guests experience enjoyable stays. I am pleased that yours was a positive experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I held our wedding reception at the Mercer and it was one of the best decisions we could have made. From the first meeting with the staff to go through the requirements of the day they made us feel welcome and at ease. The attention to detail and the personable service is second to none. The food at the reception went beyond our expectation and the service through the night was exceptional. A HUGE THANK YOU to Joerdi for having the wedding completely under control and for making us feel so special during our stay - he was never seen without a big smile on his face! Thank you also to Gloria, Joan Manel (see you in the Valleys) and to the lovely Nicoletta...
I cannot recommend this beautifully renovated hotel highly enough; The food, the decor, the room (401 - WOW), the location, I could go on and on...a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evswilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Mrs. Williams,

Thank you so much for choice the Mercer Hotel Barcelona for your wedding and for your enthusiastic comment!

As General Manager of the hotel I feel really flattered when read comments like yours about my staff. All the Mercer Hotel Barcelona staff works to provide guests gorgeous stays.

I hope welcoming back you soon,

Kindly regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night in September 2013 prior to our cruise and our stay was a wonderful experience. The hotel is situated in the centre of the old section of Barcelona (Barri Gotic) and is an easy walk to restaurants, site-seeing, etc. We were welcomed like stars, given a tour of the building and shown the ancient Roman ruins into which the hotel is built, the service was very personalized, and first rate. The hotel itself has high end amenities, is very clean and quiet. Our room had a view of the interior courtyard and was gorgeous and most importantly, quiet. We were even treated to bottled water, fruit and a small tray of dessert. Staff provided us with everything we needed - from help with restaurant recommendations, tickets for the hop-on, hop-off bus tours, taxis, etc. After a great night's sleep, we ate breakfast in the restaurant next door which is part of the hotel (separated from the main check-in area by a curtain) and it was delicious. Fantastic stay...hope to be able to come back in the future!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic comment!

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona I feel really proud when I receive reviews like yours. We are always at guests disposal to provide them stays memorable. I am very glad that succeeded with you.

I hope forward to welcoming you again.

Kindly regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We are here for 4 days following a Backroads cycling trip to Mallorca. We arrived Friday evening after a harrowing flight from Palma in a terrible storrm. Our cab driver heroically negotiated the narrow streets to bring us to the entrance of this lovely hotel in the Gothic Quarter of Barcelona. Manuel's very personal welcome was most appreciated and a perfect example of the fine service and professionalism of this hotel. Our room(106) is lovely and we are at this very moment enjoying the balcony requested when we first made our reservation. Breakfast taken al fresco in the courtyard is quie nice and we have also availed ourselves of the lovely pool terrace on the fourth floor. We enjoyed an excellent dinner the first night at the hotel's tapas restaurant Le Bouchon.
The setting of the hotel is perfect for exploring the Gothic Quarter, El Born, Las Ramblas and El Raval. Expectations have definitely been met on this trip!

Room Tip: 106 is a deluxe double with balcony overlooking the interior courtyard- spacious and an easy walk up...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yogagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs.

Thank you so much for your excellent reviews!

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona I appreciate a lot all the comments of our guests, they help us to be better.

Many thanks!

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Benefiting from a beautiful synthesis of old and new (an old palace was carefully reconstructed and complemented with appealing modern architectural elements), this hotel creates an aesthetically extremely appealing and, at the same time, relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are modern, while integrating pre-existing old architectural elements whenever these had survived. It is worthwhile mentioning that this hotel is one of the very few hotels in e old town of Barcelona that are very quite despite their central location!!! The staff was extraordinarily helpful (including in respect to rather unusual requests, for example regarding curtain fabric stores) and welcoming. We travelled with our three-year old daughter, who was treated with a lot of affection and patience by the staff. The quality of the breakfast is excellent. One caveat: There is some room for improvement for the restaurant. While it offers an attractively-priced menu for dinner, the quality of this low-price option was mixed and the flexibility of the chef in substituting another dish from the a la carte menu for one of the courses was limited. However, after we had complained about this, we were very pleasantly surprised at the time of the check out that the hotel had not charged us for this dinner. It is clearly our impression that the hotel management and the staff of this relatively new hotel is doing its utmost to resolve such issues and we certainly look forward to staying at this hotel again (many times!).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs.

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic comment!

All the Mercer Hotel Barcelona staff works to provide guests memorable stays. I feel really proud wich succeeded with you.

I hope welcoming back you soon,

Warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in the Gotic. Deserving of the hype. Public areas, rooms and service were outstanding. The rooftop pool and terrace were beautiful. We did not dine in the restaurant but the tapas bar was amazing

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TLL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs,

Thank you so much for your review!

We work steadily to provide our guests with memorable stays. I am glad that yours was an good experience.

We hope forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
265 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 513 in Barcelona
191 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#19 of 513 in Barcelona
2,072 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 513 in Barcelona
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hotel Barcelona

Address: Calle dels Lledo 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £271 - £609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercer Hotel Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This architectural marvel is located in the heart of Barcelona's Gothic quarter on mythic Calle Lledó, just a short distance from the Plaza de Sant Jaume. It not only represents the splendour of the old Julia Augusta Flaventina Paterna Colony, in what was then the Roman city of Barcino, but is also an archaeological gem that combines past and present, the monumental and the latest design. Now travellers can enjoy the greatest hotel comforts in the heart of old Barcelona, with exclusive views of the dome of the church of Santa María del Mar, the basilica of San Just i Pastor, and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercer Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing