We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in the centre of Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #4 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect place in the centre of Barcelona”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

In a small street parallel to via Laeitana, in the middle of the old quarter. Perfect place to visit the center of Barcelona.
The rooms are very spacious, with high quality modern decoration with respect for the old elements in the magnificent palace.
Service was excellent and very friendly.
Cocktailbar was a perfect place to start your evening.
One point of criticism: breakfast was excellent but the formulas are a bit weird; and the buffet was not really a buffet: they did bring everything to the table, with some strange pauzes in between.
A full breakfast for everyone would be better.

Certainly a place i would come back on a next occasion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your excellent reviews.

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, I take note about your comments about the breakfast. We are looking a excelent guest experience and all the comments help us to improve.

We look forward to welcoming back soon.

Warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,108
    144
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
192
819
32
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jurmala, Latvia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

A wonderful hotel! Really fantastic location in heart of Gothic quarter, but very quite, very modern, luxury feeling, nice decor, delicious food, good wine list, kind knowledgable staff is happy to help with everything. Really good value for money. Definitely will come back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland_Jurmala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your excellent review about our hotel.

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, I feel really proud when I read comments like yours. All the staff of the Mercer Barcelona work steadily to provide our guests with memorable stays. I am satisfied that yours was a very good experience.

I look forward to welcoming back soon.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sion, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Despite an incident we "experienced" the day of arrival at the tapas restaurant “the bouchon” we enjoyed a very pleasant stay. We have to say that the full young team around the Sales Manager Jordi Garcia did an excellent job: always helpful, providing good pieces of advice for excursions or restaurants, keeping smiling all the time. All the staff members we met tried their best to fulfil our wishes: thank you so much for that! The hotel location is very adapted to discover Barcelona, it’s perfectly situated between the port and the old city. The hotel offers a flawless mixture between an ancient and also historical construction and modern decoration, what we truly appreciated. We slept very well with the windows fully closed (the first evening we tried with open windows but it was impossible because of the pedestrians shouting on the street at night). The hotel generously gave us a late check-out till 6 pm for free, what was a benediction with our flight taking off at 8.30pm!
Queerly we didn’t see the manager during our 4 days’ stay.
To be honest the main frustration apart from “the bouchon” came from the room: it was beautiful but dark and lacking of equipment. We missed especially the minibar in the room and storing place for our clothes!
On the whole the stay was good but the hotel should concentrate on adding some equipment and services (for example a gym!) to compete with the conventional 5 stars houses.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olympicchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments about your stay in our hotel.

As General Manager, I will tell you that Jordi García informed to me on saturday morning about your incident happened in Le Bouchon on friday night and I told him that on Monday morning I would be at the hotel to listen your comments personally. When I arrived on monday morning I ask him about you and he explained to me that all was solved and that you don't wanted talk more about it. Is for that I don't tell you anything.

For all of us and especially for me, the most important of our hotel is the guests satisfaction. I want to ask you thousand apologies for the misunderstanding!

I look forward to welcoming back you soon.

Warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife an I often disagree a little about hotels. I like overt luxury and she prefers understated charm. Mercer Hotel in Barcelona hits the sweet spot for us. The Hotel, built into an ancient city wall, is unique and distinctively charming. The architectural details used provide modern luxury while retaining the essential and often beautiful characteristics of the original building. The service matches the building in its simple elegance - attentive but not intrusive. This is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location where the service and structure provide a peaceful and elegant oasis from the exciting bustle of Barcelona.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aaa60978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanks a lot for your excellent reviews!

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, I feel really flattered when I read experiences like yours. You can rest assured that all the staff of the Mercer Barcelona work steadily to provide our guests with the best hospitality services possible. I am satisfied that yours was a very good stay.

We look forward to welcoming back soon.

Kindly regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

What more can I say. I wanted to do this trip up right, just like all vacations I go on. So in terms of expense I tend to say "well, I only live once". The Mercer blew away all my expectations. I seriously wanted to stay at this hotel from the moment I laid eyes on it and read the reviews. It was in prime Gothic Quarter location - perfection. Within 5-10min walking of the best restaurants, shopping, and the most beautiful architecture I've ever seen.

1. The staff are the most pleasant, helpful, delightful hotel staff I've come across (and as a portrait & travel photographer the most stunningly gorgeous women and men). Kind of wish I booked a session. Seriously. Supermodels work here.

2. We were treated to a tour of the hotel. Since when does this happen? We felt like royals.

3. The hotel is gorgeous. From floor to ceiling, stunning. Guys, bring a girl here and she will be in awe. We stayed in the junior executive suite after being upgraded and requesting a cot (we made this request over the phone - 3 months after making the request the staff still remembered our conversation and knew who exactly I talked to).

4. The staff are at your beck and call. My brother and I enjoyed gin and tonics on the roof top next to the pool on an absolutely gorgeous day, enjoyed a delicious breakfast and splurged on tappas in the hotel bar.

You can see other photos of Barcelona here: http://davidaustinphotography.tumblr.com/tagged/barcelona

Notes:
If you're taking a taxi here: They'll drop you off on the main road and you'll have to walk about 5min to get to the hotel. Expect 30euro-ish from the airport.

My brother spoke Spanish and this helped quite a bit throughout our trip as not everywhere did people speak English.

Try not to walk by yourself in the gothic quarter after dark. It can be nerve racking and you can easily get turned around.

Room Tip: Email / call ahead if you have the opportunity. They're super friendly and attentive to personal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for sharing your excellent experience in the Mercer Hotel Barcelona with us and with all our future guests.

I say always that we work 24/7 looking for the best hospitality services to provide our guests with unforgettable stays and when I read your comments, I felt really flattered. Many thanks!

I look forward to welcoming back when you come to Barcelona.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Even before you officially set foot in the Mercer there is much anticipation as you walk the streets of the old city. You really do feel transformed and transported into a different time. We were greeted with much warmth and the check-in was a breeze. After check-in is complete the concierge gives you a tour of the hotel and describes the surrounding neighborhood. The concierge team was very gracious and very helpful if you needed any destination or restaurant suggestions. Rooms are modern/minimalist and the bathrooms and shower are very functional and modern. Beds were super comfortable. One drawback is the lighting in the room as it is not a very well lit room to read a book in the evening unless of course you own an iPad or an e-reader. We chose not to eat in the hotel as there were so many places to eat near the hotel. Also the hotel had a nice terrace to rest and lounge with a very small pool.

Location is central to many locations which include the waterfront, Picasso museum, shopping, and most of the great restaurants in the city. For sights like the La Sagrada Familia you can definitely walk or take the excellent metro system which is quite easy to use even if you speak no Spanish. We found Barcelona to be a great walking city with so many different and distinct neighborhoods.

Overall it was a great experience and we will definitely stay here on our next visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CETNYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your excellent comments.

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, I am glad when I read experiences like yours. I will tell you that after the comments of our guests, we are working in the new lighting in the room and I hope that when you return to the hotel try our gastronomy, In my opinion is fantastic.

Thanks a lot and I look forward to welcoming back when you come to the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

Warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Currently staying here for a week and loving it! A little hard to find but that just adds to the charm. Staff incredibly friendly and attentive and our suite is superb, well laid out huge bathroom and bath.
Bed very comfy and great amenities although only a courtyard view. Price reasonable and easily the best hotel we have stayed at in Barcelona....make the effort and find it!

Room Tip: Try for the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for sharing your excellent reviews with us.

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, I feel really flattered when I read comments like yours.

Thank you so much!

Warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
213 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 512 in Barcelona
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 512 in Barcelona
858 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#10 of 512 in Barcelona
1,693 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#23 of 512 in Barcelona
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hotel Barcelona

Property: Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Address: Calle dels Lledo 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercer Hotel Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This architectural marvel is located in the heart of Barcelona's Gothic quarter on mythic Calle Lledó, just a short distance from the Plaza de Sant Jaume. It not only represents the splendour of the old Julia Augusta Flaventina Paterna Colony, in what was then the Roman city of Barcino, but is also an archaeological gem that combines past and present, the monumental and the latest design. Now travellers can enjoy the greatest hotel comforts in the heart of old Barcelona, with exclusive views of the dome of the church of Santa María del Mar, the basilica of San Just i Pastor, and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Prestigia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercer Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing