We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #2 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This beautifully designed modern hotel is set within the pale stone of the Roman & medieval walls & is perfectly located to explore the city, whilst away from the crowds. Everywhere is furnished & equipped to the highest standards & it makes for an extremely comfortable stay.
We cannot praise the staff highly enough. Before our stay, they provided a list of restaurants & booked one for us. They recognised that it was a milestone birthday & upgraded us to a fabulous, spacious room. They provided a bottle of cava & a tray of savouries on the day. & at breakfast even surprised me with a tiny cake with a candle.
Staff were most helpful in suggesting places to visit. They booked the Sagreda Familia on line for us to avoid the need for us to queue & they assisted with local transport. Their efficiency & welcoming manner made us feel really special & cared for.
We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106, which was huge, with a lovely bathroom & a balcony overlooking the inner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavZ760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

I would like to thank you for sharing with us your excellent experience in our hotel and your recommendation.

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, I am pleased to read comments like yours. We work to provide our guests with memorables stays. I am glad that it was succeeded in your case.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

927 - 933 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel was such a nice surprise. The decor is beautiful and so cozy. We will definitely choose this hotel again if we return to Barcelona. The staff is amazing and so helpful. You can't beat the location and Barcelona is such a beautiful city. I highly recommend this Mercer Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank choochoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for sharing with us your excellent comments about the Mercer Hotel Barcelona and your highly recommendation.

We work steadily to provide our guests with the best stays possible. I am glad that it was so in your case. As General Manager of the hotel, I am pleased to read comments like yours.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you come to Barcelona.

Kindly regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in some great hotels but the Mercer tops them all. Hidden away on the back streets of the gothic quarter you enter via huge woodern doors into a modern reception and bar area mixed with historical foundations.

The team couldn't be more attentive, offering a glass of cava on arrival to me and also a friend who wasn't even staying there!

Check in was simple. The rooms are large, designer and very quiet. Huge walk in shower, Lowe tvs, soft white towels and a huge and very comfortable king size bed.

Cosmetics are all Molton Brown, that says it all, class.

Will definitely only stay here from now on.

Incredible.




Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank kingkelly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing with us your excellent comments about the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

As General Manager, I am glad when I read comments like yours. All the staff of the hotel works steadily to provide our guests with memorable stays. I am pleased that yours was a very satisfying experience.

Many thanks!

We look forward to welcoming back when you come to Barcelona.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We went to Barcelona over the weekend, and made the reservations just two weeks in advance, but luckily manage to get the last available room at Mercer.

The Hotell is really nice, and the service was excellent!

I want to send an extra thanks to the guest relations-team who helped us arrange table reservations at the best restaurants in Barcelona (according to me); Pakta and tickets, even thought you normally need to book it 3 months in advance.

If you are looking for a first class hotell, I can warmly recommend Mercer!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for sharing your excellent experience in the Mercer Hotel Barcelona with us and with all our future guests.

As General Manager, I'm really satisfied when I receive comments like yours talking about my team. Many thanks!

I look forward to welcoming back when you come to Barcelona.

Best regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We recently returned from what was a truly lovely stay at the Mercer Hotel in Barcelona, which we will never forget. The building is absolutely gorgeous, beautiful and modern, while taking full advantage of the Roman structures within and around it, and our room also was fabulous and luxurious. The location cannot be beat, as we were right in the middle of all of the sights and restaurants. The thing that makes the hotel stand out however is the phenomenal level of service, as the hotel staff really went above and beyond with their responsiveness and kindness--everyone was amazing, from the staff of the restaurant at breakfast (and kudos to the folks who made the cafe lattes and baked the pastries!), to the guest relations staff who arranged for us to get tickets to an FC Barcelona soccer match, as well as tickets to the Picasso Museum and a Gaudi tour, and reservations at restaurants that were precisely what we said we were looking for. We were in Barcelona with our 7 year old son and they truly achieved what may have seemed impossible--providing sophisticated and responsive service, but also making sure that we had everything we needed to make the experience "kid friendly" for him (he wanted me to mention the breakfast pastries again!). Definitely obtain the map the hotel can provide via email in advance to give to your taxi driver at the airport, that allowed us to come right up to the front of the hotel at check-in. Overall, truly marvelous, it was such a great visit, at a really spectacular hotel.

Room Tip: Be advised that, at least in our room (208), the sink/shower area are not closed off from the main p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Madam,

Many thanks for sharing your truly lovely stay in the Mercer Hotel Barcelona with us and with all our future guests.

As General Manager, I feel really flattered when I read comments like yours. All the staff of the Mercer Barcelona work steadily to provide our guests with the best hospitality services possible. I am satisfied that yours was a excellent stay.

We look forward to welcoming back soon.

Kindly regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was such an amazing hotel - my only regret is that I didn't find it sooner. The hotel and room architecture are fascinating (ask the concierge for a quick tour), the staff are lovely and the decor beautiful. The free wifi throughout was such a nice touch relative to the price gouging other hotels engage in for this service.

This hotel reminded me why I stay away from the big, corporate, hotel-factories

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thanks a lot for your excellent reviews!

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, I feel really flattered when I read experiences like yours. You can rest assured that all the staff of the Mercer Barcelona works steadily to provide our guests with the best hospitality services possible. I am really satisfied that yours was a very good stay.

We look forward to welcoming back when you come to Barcelona.

Warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our stay at the Mercer Hotel was one of the most pleasant of anywhere in Europe. The staff were consistently friendly and helpful and genuinely interested in making our stay the best possible. The room and hotel common areas were very clean and sharp looking. The Internet worked great! The air condition/heating system was the quietest I've experienced anywhere in the world -- a really good system! Significant drawback: the bathroom didn't have a door. Our room overlooked a small courtyard, but was very quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plasalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Sir,

Thanks a lot for your excellent review about the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

As General Manager, I'm really satisfied when I receive comments like yours. Many thanks!

I look forward to welcoming back when you come to Barcelona.

Warm regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#6 of 515 in Barcelona
204 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 515 in Barcelona
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#4 of 515 in Barcelona
908 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#7 of 515 in Barcelona
1,761 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 515 in Barcelona
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hotel Barcelona

Address: Calle dels Lledo 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £260 - £612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercer Hotel Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This architectural marvel is located in the heart of Barcelona's Gothic quarter on mythic Calle Lledó, just a short distance from the Plaza de Sant Jaume. It not only represents the splendour of the old Julia Augusta Flaventina Paterna Colony, in what was then the Roman city of Barcino, but is also an archaeological gem that combines past and present, the monumental and the latest design. Now travellers can enjoy the greatest hotel comforts in the heart of old Barcelona, with exclusive views of the dome of the church of Santa María del Mar, the basilica of San Just i Pastor, and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercer Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing