We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #4 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boutique Hotel!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel was hard to find in the beginning as it is hidden within the old walls in one of the small little streets. Despite that, the very welcoming service you get the moment you reached the hotel doors make us feel we made the right choice. A cosy hotel where everyone recognizes us and always on hand when we need help.

The hotel staff from guest relations to the porter is always there to help with recommendations, reservations, and anything we may need help on. This is by far a most comfortable stay, exceeding the services usually expected at a regular corporate hotel. Perhaps this is why they are so well rated.

Overall, we loved our stay here and would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdHeinlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Sir,

I want to personally thank you for sharing with us your stay on the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

As General Manager of the hotel, I want tell you that all the staff works to provide the best hospitality services possible. I am glad to know that your stay with us was very good.

I hope to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,061
    139
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
177
787
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Extremely beautiful and modern . We were greeted by an excellent Concierge , who explained all we needed to know as we have been to Barcelona before . Breakfast in the courtyard was superb ( yogurt parfait , delicious ) . Staff friendly , bed fabulous .. mostly the feeling you have staying in a restored .. historical period building ! My husband loved his beer , sunning himself next to the rooftop pool .. as I shopped ! Lydia Shire PS: I wish the cab drivers were a little more helpful in dropping us off , they were not too keen driving into Barri Gotic w/ it's tiny streets .

Room Tip: All seemed perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Madam,

I want to personally thank you for sharing with us your comments about the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

As General Manager of the hotel, I am very proud to know that your stay with us was brilliant. Thank you for your support!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I booked a Junior Suite for 6 nights for our honeymoon and we loved it - it's a special hotel. The staff were first class - perfectly attentive, always helpful and never intrusive. We booked a Junior Suite and the room was great - more than enough space and hands-down the biggest and most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The hotel is small which gives it a friendly, intimate and relaxed feel - and it smells fantastic... every time you walk in off the street the unique fragrance they use to scent the lobby is the first thing that hits you, along with a welcomed sense of calm. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant one night and it was tremendous, really first class. We also opted to include breakfast in our deal which was a great move - definitely worth the extra! I would not hesitate to recommend the Mercer.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, go for a Junior Suite and enjoy the extra space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richardvstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Sir,

As General Manager of the hotel, I want to personally thank you for your enthusiastic review about the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

I am very proud to hear that your stay with us was great and you enjoyed all of our services. For all the staff of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona our guests are the most important and we try to provide him with the best hospitallity services possibles.

Many thanks for your comments!

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent 5 nights here for our first visit to this lovely city. It's in the heart of the old city, and only opened about 6 months ago. It's built into the old city walls, with features of the walls left prominent in different parts of the hotel.
All the staff are very friendly, from the door porter to the manager, who was often seen around, eg helping with waiting at breakfast. On arrival we were given a glass of cava, and while drinking this we were shown around the hotel, and then taken to our room. One of the most welcoming hotel arrivals we have experienced.
We ate breakfast in the hotel on our first morning, but at €25 each for continental (€30 for cooked) it's pretty expensive. We looked at the evening meal menu but it was too way out for our tastes, and too expensive.
However there are plenty of small cafes in the nearby streets, where a coffee and a croissant could be bought for under €2.50.
The room (called Superior, but really the basic one) was still very nice. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very nice, with a walk-in shower. The only complaint here was the toilet seat - the most uncomfortable I have ever sat on!!
The rooftop bar was very relaxed, with a live guitarist one evening. Didn't get chance to sample the small rooftop pool though.
Would have had 5 stars but dropped one because of the food prices and the toilet seat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Sir,

I want to personally thank you for sharing with us your comments about the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

As General Manager of the hotel, I want tell you that I appreciate a lot the feedback of my guests. I will tell you that after your comments, and the comments of another guests, we are talking with the maker of the toilet to change it. Thank you for your help!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel absolutely lived up to the many wonderful reviews we read here before booking. The hotel was incredibly clean and modern, with many small touches that went above and beyond -- free bottled water, even when we were just passing through the lobby; Moulton Brown bath products; gourmet desserts with turndown service, etc. The staff was phenomonal - so attentive and friendly. Bed was extremely comfortable. And the location was perfect! We loved wandering through the narrow streets of the gothic quarter, finding a new bar, restaurant, or cathedral at every turn. Check out the Bootlegger bar just down the cobblestone street. We enjoyed a nightcap there a couple of nights in a row. We did not do the hotel breakfast as I heard it was very expensive and there were plenty of options for breakfast very nearby. Not a cheap place to stay, but I definitely thought this was worth the money! Hope we can get back sometime.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

As General Manager of the hotel, I want to personally thank you for your excellent review about the Mercer Hotel Barcelona.

I am very glad to know that your stay with us was great: the staff was phenomenal, attentive and friendly, the bed was extremely comfortable and the location was perfect, through the narrow streets of the Gothic Quarter.

Thank you again for your comments!

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Having read glowing reports by Harper and Platinum Anerican Express, we were terribly disappointed when shown to our tiny room. Upon requesting to pay for an upgrade we were informed that we had already been upgraded and nothing else was available. When I asked if they really had smaller rooms, I was not answered. Actually, I don't blame the hotel,
it is well appointed , etc.. And the staff was lovely, except for a reception clerk devoid of personality.
I have read reccomedations by the above named sources in the past describing room size so was not prepared for this. 2 tallish people had a bit of a comfort problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walkersdining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments about our hotel.

As General Manager of the Mercer Hotel Barcelona, I take note of your comment about the size of your room and I apologize for the inconvenience that has been able to cause but I want to tell you that the room is not small, the smallest superior room have 28m²/301.39ft² and we have only one, the others superior rooms continues with 32m²/344.45ft² and 35m²/376.74ft², sizes that in others hotels in Europe like London or Paris, could be a Junior Suite Room.

After that, I take note about the lovely comments from our staff members and I assure you that they will be comunicated to all the staff.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

For my grandmother 90th birthday present I took her to Barcelona and we stayed at the Mercer Hotel. The rooms are lovely and the place is simply breathtaking! I highly recommend it. Oh and the bed was the most comfortable one I have ever slept on.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margherita_dE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director General at Mercer Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Madam,

As General Manager of the hotel, I want to personally thank you for your excellent review about the Mercer Hotel Barcelona. I am very glad to hear that the place for you was simply breathtaking!

Thank you for your highly recommendation!

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

Francesc Holgado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hotel Barcelona

Property: Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Address: Calle dels Lledo 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercer Hotel Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This architectural marvel is located in the heart of Barcelona's Gothic quarter on mythic Calle Lledó, just a short distance from the Plaza de Sant Jaume. It not only represents the splendour of the old Julia Augusta Flaventina Paterna Colony, in what was then the Roman city of Barcino, but is also an archaeological gem that combines past and present, the monumental and the latest design. Now travellers can enjoy the greatest hotel comforts in the heart of old Barcelona, with exclusive views of the dome of the church of Santa María del Mar, the basilica of San Just i Pastor, and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercer Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing