We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for anyone exploring Barcelona!”
Review of Bird House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bird House
Ranked #96 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great base for anyone exploring Barcelona!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the hostel from the 3rd June to 10th June. We had a private room in the hostel, with a shared bathroom, kitchen and toilet.
The facilities were excellent (the kitchen comes stocked with fridge/freezer, a kettle, a hob and even a washing machine, which came as a surprise to me!). Everything was so clean and looked after!
The hostel is in a great location, it's about a 20 minute walk to Placa de Catalunya and La Rambla, and the metro stop is across the street. The aerobus stops really close too.

My only problem was we were told it would be a double bed when it was two twins pushed together. We had problems with the WiFi the first couple of days, but it was sorted very quickly!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstenw27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    67
    19
    9
    13
See reviews for
53
50
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- centrally located (metros, buses and city center nearby)
- clean and stocked with extra cleaning supplies
- large fridge and stove/ microwave
- private fourth floor (only accessible to guests)
- two toilets with a separate, large shower with detachable head
- personalized air conditioning
- towels and sheets provided
- large windows
- free laundry
- free breakfast
- very good value

Cons:
- breakfast at a restaurant a one-minute walk from the door
- no oven

My boyfriend and I stayed in a double room for 4 nights in June 2014 and were very happy with Bird House! The elevator to the fourth floor was private and required a key in order to access it.

The room had very good, self regulated air conditioning and beautiful large windows. Although there wasn't much of a line to hang laundry, there was a washing machine available to the 3 rooms on the floor (with a maximum of 8 people between the 3 rooms).

The kitchen was newly done and provided a large fridge/freezer. It also had plenty of additional cleaning products. There was s two-burner stove and a microwave, but no oven.

It was very centrally located. The metro and bus were just on the corner of the street. A grocery store, post office and many restaurants were also very close by. However, I do recommend taking the Aerobus to the airport as it is kind of far by public transport.

The staff was very helpful. The lady who greeted us was very knowledgeable of the area and very able to direct us where we needed to be.

Overall a pleasant experience and would recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank olivia1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We really loved our stay in Bird House, the staff are amazing, friendly and helpful. You have everything you need in these apartments, kitchen with cooker, fridge, washing machine. Very clean modern toilets and facilities. The internet access is great. Everything was super clean and tidy, the rooms look great. The bed was very very comfy. We literally have nothing bad to say about this place, everything was amazing, THANK YOU BIRD HOUSE! <3

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

After weeks of staying in dorms, I decided to spoil myself and book a private room at the Birdhouse. The location is great, and I walked everywhere throughout my entire stay in Barcelona (it's quite a walk from the main train station, but definitely possible). Oscar was really helpful, and marked a map with places of interest, making sure everything would be easy to find. The whole place was spotless, and the cleaner came and tidied regularly. The washing machine in the kitchen was a pleasant surprise, and lau dry dried quickly thanks to the heating in the room. Breakfast at the local cafe was simple and nice, but not very substantial - a choice of a drink and a pastry.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 178bridgettc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Everything was great! Location perfect - nice walk from la ramblas plus bus stop to el prat airport is just 1 min away from hotel.
Room was spacious & clean!
Staff friendly and helpful! We had really great holiday and hope to be back soon;)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights.
We wanted to extend our stay, but they were full.

The room is very clean, simple and spacious.
It is conveniently located close to an Aerobus stop and a subway station.

The breakfast place is pretty nice, too!
We enjoyed it a lot.

The staff are helpful.

We shared bathrooms with other people. One of the bathrooms has a leak from the ceiling.
And, it's not the hotel's fault, but people, who use the bathroom make a great mess since they don't have a curtain in the shower...
Well, we just wished that other people staying there were more careful cuz we didn't wanna use the bathrooms with all wet floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge_G_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Camino Bed & Breakfast
Camino Bed & Breakfast
#111 of 308 in Barcelona
34 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#112 of 308 in Barcelona
105 reviews
Eixample
La Isla Hostal
La Isla Hostal
#143 of 308 in Barcelona
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Barcelona Rooms
Barcelona Rooms
#135 of 308 in Barcelona
255 reviews
Albergue Studio
#109 of 308 in Barcelona
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird House

Property: Bird House
Address: Carrer del Comte d'Urgell 51 bis, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, bright, convenient, downtown, economic. This is Bird House, a Bed & Breakfast in Barcelona. We started in August 2012 and, since then, we have become a reference for all those who come to Barcelona, whether for sightseeing or for business. At the Bird House we offer you a modern and brand new accommodation in the city center: 50m from Urgell Metro station and the Aerobus stop with direct connection to the airport. We offer comfortable, spacious and equipped rooms with high ceilings and their original Spanish titles. The private rooms are for 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 people and our shared dorms are for 4 or 8 people. All rooms are new and have been decorated with attention to detail to make the stay as comfortable as possible to our guests. Our Bed & Breakfast is equipped with: • Air conditioning/heating • Wifi • Wardrobe and desk • Linen and towels • Fully Equipped Kitchens • Bathrooms with large showers • Breakfast included for private rooms • Netflix and X-Box • Laundry • Bike Rentals ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bird House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird House Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing