We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressive at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unimpressive at best”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

There were some good things about this place, but unfortunately the bad ones outweighed them. First, we thought we would be staying in the hotel part, but ended up in the hostel section. Making our own beds and being charged 7 euros for a fresh towel were not what we expected.

The WiFi didn't work at all during our 3-day stay, and the two computers in their entertainment room didn't work either. The employees at the front desk said their server was in London, and they were trying to repair their service, but in the entire 3 days it didn't function at all. We had to leave the premises to use the internet elsewhere, a huge issue for us.

The breakfast was a sorry joke. The muesli was tasty, and the croissants were good, but instead of butter they had only margarine, very strange for a place that claims to be environmentally-conscious. The coffee was too strong, and when we added enough milk to make cafe au lait, the resulting beverage was cold since they didn't have hot milk. The breakfast items were not replenished once while we were in the cafeteria, so people who came down to breakfast later on did not have very much to eat.

The Generator points out the security of their place, and a key is needed to use the elevators, but the stairs are open to anyone and they open on every floor. Further, the rooms do NOT have security holes to see who is knocking at the door. Not very secure for a place that boasts about its security. The security guard was never seen anywhere except in the lobby area. In two of our rooms, the heat ran non-stop. We tried to turn it off, but the system wouldn't let us do that. The oppressive heat quickly became unbearable, and we were forced to open the windows so we could finally sleep. For a place that touts the importance of being environmentally-friendly, it is quite the opposite.

The bathroom light has a motion sensor to turn itself off after a short time (about a minute) if you don't move around in there. When you shower, you will need to flap a towel around or step out of the shower to turn the lights back on. Our bathroom sink didn't drain well, so water backed up in the sink. In one of our rooms, the shower head was broken and wouldn't point the right direction. It had to be held in place while we showered, a difficult task while washing your hair.

The location was convenient, but we were expecting to stay in a hotel, so the Generator was a huge disappointment. If you travel alone or with a small group of friends and want to sleep in a hostel, you may like this place. Travelers who want to stay in a hotel should avoid this place like the plague.

Room Tip: Be careful to book rooms in the hotel section unless you intend to sleep in the hostel part. Since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeDreamOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    459
    113
    35
    51
See reviews for
123
168
319
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Huge bilding, brand new place. The staff is wonderful, very nice people, as usual in Barcelona... I stayed at a 6 beds room, I really loved it! The location is perfect, really close from La Pedrera and Casa Batló. I recomend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneratorBarcelona, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel Barcelona, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hola!

Thank you for your review. I’m delighted to hear that you found our team to be both attentive and helpful. Thank you so much as this is exactly what we’re aiming for.

Best Wishes

Cristina González
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

The generator hostel is brilliant. I arrived here as a solo traveller not really knowing what to expect. I had read loads of reviews both good and bad but at €15 euros a night for a 6 bed dorm u couldn't go wrong.
The hostel is in a good location, 2 minutes walk from the passeig de Garcia ( one of the most expensive shopping streets in barcelona) and about 15 minutes walk to the playa de la catalunya, which is the where the world famous las ramblas begins. The hostel is the perfect distance away from the action, as the lively areas can stay lively ( loud!!) till around 6-7 am!
From the airport, if u are a little sceptical about the metro like me the easiest way to get to the hostel is using the aerobus. U can catch it from outside the airport terminal for €10 euros return and the bus goes about every 5 minutes straight to le playa de la catalunya. From there you can either walk to the hostel or catch a taxi for around €5.
I used the Barcelona bus turistic for 2 days of my stay, which is one of the official city bus tours which operates around most of the sights in the city. It has 3 routes and your ticket ( costing €25 for one day or €33 for 2 days) can be used on all 3 routes. The nearest stop to the hostel is only about 5 minutes away and you can purchase the ticket at the stop or on the bus. It is Perfect for all sightseers looking to see everything as you can hop on and hop off the bus whenever you want to and just catch the next one which is only about 10 minutes behind.
The hostel itself is amazing. It is so relaxed yet anything you need is here. The dorms are basic but have everything you need. Lockers under the bunks require you to bring your own lockers, they are actually large enough to fit a medium sized suitcase inside. The beds are comfy and the showers are amazing!!!
After one night I realised sleeping with strangers wasn't for me so decided to go to reception and try and upgrade of a private room. This was never too much hassle for the receptionist who changed it for me straight away. The private rooms where great. The beds were so comfy and the room was perfect for what i needed it for. The only downside was there was no tv but in a city with so much to do like Barcelona it was not really a problem.
The bar and lounge area was great, everywhere was so clean and relaxing. A bottle of Heineken cost €3 and a mojito was €5 so not bad at all. The staff were always on hand to help you with anything you needed to know about the city and knew all the cool places to hang out which aren't necessarily in the city guide books.
Overall my stay at generator in Barcelona was brilliant, and I would like to thank all the staff for making my stay perfect.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneratorBarcelona, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel Barcelona, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and you would choose Generator Barcelona again. We hope to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards

Cristina Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Good Clean rooms. The staff was very helpful and friendly when asking for directions. Centrally located within the city. Very large setup so it was nice to be able to chill and spread out after touring the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brennan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneratorBarcelona, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel Barcelona, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hola!

Thank you for your review. I’m delighted to hear that you found our team to be both attentive and helpful. Thank you so much as this is exactly what we’re aiming for.

Best Wishes

Cristina Gonzalez
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our group of 3 booked our beds in a mixed dormitory of 8. Arriving at the hostel was a little tough mainly because the airport Renfe train did not connect directly to the Metro at Passeig de Gràcia. The location of the hostel was not amazing (ie. not really within walking distance to any main attraction), but it was close to a few metro stations which made up for it.

The hostel itself looked impressive from the outside and was nicely decorated in the inside. On the positive side, each room had an ensuite toilet and shower, with wash basins in the room. There were also additional shared showers and toilets on the floor if you can't wait your turn in the room. Each bed also had its own lighting and electric socket, which was really convenient. The bed and pillow were comfortable and sleep quality was good. There was storage space allocated to each bed although you need to bring your own locks.

On the flip side, the rooms were quite bare and the 8-bed dormitory was really quite a squeeze. There was only a really narrow passageway between the two rows of bunk beds which was hardly enough for anyone to open a suitcase in. One problem we had was when the heater/air-conditioning was turned on, the top bunk beds literally felt like a sauna, so we had no choice but to leave it off throughout since we could not adjust the temperature. A separate issue was that our group shared the room with another group which had a vastly different schedule from us, and it was difficult not to disturb each other when one group wakes up early in the morning while the other group returns late after midnight every day. I would strongly advise picking the room with the smallest number of bunk beds that you can afford for this reason.

I would recommend this hostel if you are looking for good, clean, safe and affordable accomodation in Barcelona.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharingan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneratorBarcelona, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel Barcelona, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hola!

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Barcelona. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for all the positive comments.

We hope to see you again in the future,

Cristina Gonzalez
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Being a family with a 12 year old son we were skeptical to book a hostel. How wrong could we be? This was a fantastic hotel. No added extras but its very clean and a a great place to stay to explore Barcelona. Food was great, Pepitos restaurant down the street was fantastic too. We are looking now to see what other cities we can explore where they have a Generator!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linz812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneratorBarcelona, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel Barcelona, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Barcelona. We are delighted your family and you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Cristina Gonzalez
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed here as a single traveller in an 8 person room, mixed sex room, I made friends so quickly. In just one week I spent time with people from South America, North America, Australia, Japan, Korea. The hostel is quit hip, so you get an eclectic mix of people staying.
When I had a problem/question the reception staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is 4.50 euro and includes bacon, egg, toast, unlimited coffee and some pastries, as well as cheese/ham, good value considering a coffee and pastry in Barcelona is usually about 3 euro anyway.
Free wifi, there are two computers you can use. free use of some games, like Chess and a pool table which is about 2 euros.
Hostel bar usually has something going on every night, whether that's nachos nights with football or RnB nights, even in low season and with reasonable prices for drinks and food. Try the very spicy patatas bravas :)
There is a free walking tour from metro Jaume, that you can get information about from reception. I highly recommend it :)

Room Tip: You can also stay in a single sex dorm if your a bit shy around the opposite sex :) but I recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abby425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneratorBarcelona, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel Barcelona, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hola!

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on the Generator Barcelona. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you felt the Generator experience, we are more than a hostel.

We hope to welcome you back to Barcelona!

Kind regards

Cristina Gonzalez
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hesperia Sant Joan
#202 of 513 in Barcelona
875 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,702 reviews
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#178 of 513 in Barcelona
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#110 of 308 in Barcelona
105 reviews
INOUT Hostel
#318 of 723 in Barcelona
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Barcelona

Property: Generator Hostel Barcelona
Address: Carrer de Corsega 373-377, 08307 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Hostel Barcelona 1*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Barcelona conveniently located just a 5 minute walk from two main metro stations, Diagonal and Verdaguer. Travelling to and from the hostel to all the must see sights is a piece of cake. The beautiful sandy beaches are just a 15 minute metro journey away, and only a short walk away are the maze of small streets of the Eixample district, home to Barcelona’s trendy shops, bars and restaurants. Generator is the perfect place for those looking to combine style with great atmosphere. You’ll find great beds for sleepy heads, a communal TV room with outdoor patio to a chill out lounge/café that serves the best drinks and snacks for miles around. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with your own power socket and LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay, visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. Barcelona is the latest edition to the Generator family, We will see you there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Generator Hostel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing