We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing hostel. Had the best time. Fantastic clean room, great atmosphere. Great shower - no complaints. Stayed just before primervera sound, however never had trouble with noise. Just met some really lovely people.
Was really not expecting the generator hostel to be as good as it was, I am definitely going back. ASAP.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Shelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed in a 8-bed mixed dorm with an ensuite. The hostel is very clean and the decor is very chic and modern :) They are located just 5 minutes away from Diagonal, which is a good area away from the crowds in the central, and it is just a 15 minute walk to main streets like Passeig de Gracia and 25 minutes to Catalunya. The staff are all very friendly and helpful with directions and tips on what to do. Guests are usually in their 20s, but we also saw big groups of teenagers that perhaps visited as a school trip, and also older travellers. The hostel is quite hip and happening with activities even at night and also since Barcelona is a party city, do expect fellow roommates to be back late. There are tapas restaurants and xocolata and xurros cafe just around the corner as well :) Definitely recommend this hostel for your stay in Barcelona!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cxsmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Great staff - all so helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Stayed in twin room in hotel which had HUGE balcony. Room was spacious, bed v comfortable. Had look at penthouse which was amazing. Luxurious, beautifully decorated and would def try to stay there in future. Perfect for long weekend break in Barcelona.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LordeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

When I was looking for a hostel in Barcelona I was looking at both boutique hotels and hostels. I wasn't backpacking around Europe or on a super tight budget, so could afford a nicer accommodation, but still enjoy the social atmosphere of hostels, especially since I was traveling alone. I read about Generator in the NY Times as a hostel trying to bridge the gap between these two categories.

I ended up booking a private room in the hotel section of the hostel. Everything was great. The staff was professional and up to the standards of a nice hotel, and the facilities were incredible. Good design, well built and very clean.

The only thing I think they could have done a little better was to try to organize more activities to meet other guests.

Overall Generator was an excellent choice, and if I make it to another city where they are located I will definitely consider staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuenosAiresFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Definitely the best place I have stayed- super friendly and helpful staff. Cheap restuarant, funky decor, excellent food, fantastic room (clean, modern, spacious, dressing gowns, slippers, shower gel in the shower!). Very central location, safe area. Sound proof walls. Absolutely loved it!!!!!

1  Thank concrete89
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The best thing in the hotel is what you get for a Cheap price. the hotel is clean, nice young team that helped us in everything we asked.
The design of the hotel is very colorful, the rooms are very comfortable and i strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 437dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Right smack between two metro stations, and a bus stop right in front of the hostel that takes you straight to Camp Nou (think Barcelona FC). There is a lovely bakery across the road La Panella that serves good croissants. Rooms were very clean, loving the design in the main hall and great social amenities too... TV, pool table, random ceiling swings. Vending machines readily available for midnight snacking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaniSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#216 of 517 in Barcelona
1,202 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 517 in Barcelona
4,154 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#214 of 517 in Barcelona
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#66 of 740 in Barcelona
1,197 reviews
Gracia
Casa Gracia
Casa Gracia
#25 of 308 in Barcelona
1,378 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#121 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Barcelona

Address: Carrer de Corsega 373-377, 08307 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 740 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: £21 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Hostel Barcelona 1*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Barcelona conveniently located just a 5 minute walk from two main metro stations, Diagonal and Verdaguer. Travelling to and from the hostel to all the must see sights is a piece of cake. The beautiful sandy beaches are just a 15 minute metro journey away, and only a short walk away are the maze of small streets of the Eixample district, home to Barcelona’s trendy shops, bars and restaurants. Generator is the perfect place for those looking to combine style with great atmosphere. You’ll find great beds for sleepy heads, a communal TV room with outdoor patio to a chill out lounge/café that serves the best drinks and snacks for miles around. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with your own power socket and LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay, visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. Barcelona is the latest edition to the Generator family, We will see you there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Generator Hostel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing