We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Generator Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Generator Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Nice hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I was at general for 4days, it was great! I had a 6doorm with 5Mexican guys. Realy fun!
The staff was helpfull and nice! Recomend it!!
It was a short way to walk to the metro. And it had some good resturants in the naborhood.
The drinks and food was cheep and good ;)

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Benjiii88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    431
    108
    34
    49
See reviews for
106
161
282
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a private room on the 7th floor, with a big terrace overlooking the Sagrada Familia. It made me feel sorry we were only staying for one night. The interior design is modern and delightfully minimalistic, it really shines in that respect. Very quiet, very clean. The bathroom was nice too, but the terrace really took the cake.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana_Ruxandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing hostel. Had the best time. Fantastic clean room, great atmosphere. Great shower - no complaints. Stayed just before primervera sound, however never had trouble with noise. Just met some really lovely people.
Was really not expecting the generator hostel to be as good as it was, I am definitely going back. ASAP.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed in a 8-bed mixed dorm with an ensuite. The hostel is very clean and the decor is very chic and modern :) They are located just 5 minutes away from Diagonal, which is a good area away from the crowds in the central, and it is just a 15 minute walk to main streets like Passeig de Gracia and 25 minutes to Catalunya. The staff are all very friendly and helpful with directions and tips on what to do. Guests are usually in their 20s, but we also saw big groups of teenagers that perhaps visited as a school trip, and also older travellers. The hostel is quite hip and happening with activities even at night and also since Barcelona is a party city, do expect fellow roommates to be back late. There are tapas restaurants and xocolata and xurros cafe just around the corner as well :) Definitely recommend this hostel for your stay in Barcelona!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cxsmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Great staff - all so helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Stayed in twin room in hotel which had HUGE balcony. Room was spacious, bed v comfortable. Had look at penthouse which was amazing. Luxurious, beautifully decorated and would def try to stay there in future. Perfect for long weekend break in Barcelona.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LordeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
203 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

When I was looking for a hostel in Barcelona I was looking at both boutique hotels and hostels. I wasn't backpacking around Europe or on a super tight budget, so could afford a nicer accommodation, but still enjoy the social atmosphere of hostels, especially since I was traveling alone. I read about Generator in the NY Times as a hostel trying to bridge the gap between these two categories.

I ended up booking a private room in the hotel section of the hostel. Everything was great. The staff was professional and up to the standards of a nice hotel, and the facilities were incredible. Good design, well built and very clean.

The only thing I think they could have done a little better was to try to organize more activities to meet other guests.

Overall Generator was an excellent choice, and if I make it to another city where they are located I will definitely consider staying there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuenosAiresFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Definitely the best place I have stayed- super friendly and helpful staff. Cheap restuarant, funky decor, excellent food, fantastic room (clean, modern, spacious, dressing gowns, slippers, shower gel in the shower!). Very central location, safe area. Sound proof walls. Absolutely loved it!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank concrete89
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#195 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Montjuic
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
#250 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#91 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Gracia
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Eixample
Hostal Martinval
Hostal Martinval
#23 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Barcelona

Property: Generator Barcelona
Address: Carrer de Corsega 373-377, 08307 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 760 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Barcelona 1*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Barcelona conveniently located just a 5 minute walk from two main metro stations, Diagonal and Verdaguer. Travelling to and from the hostel to all the must see sights is a piece of cake. The beautiful sandy beaches are just a 15 minute metro journey away, and only a short walk away are the maze of small streets of the Eixample district, home to Barcelona’s trendy shops, bars and restaurants. Generator is the perfect place for those looking to combine style with great atmosphere. You’ll find great beds for sleepy heads, a communal TV room with outdoor patio to a chill out lounge/café that serves the best drinks and snacks for miles around. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with your own power socket and LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay, visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. Barcelona is the latest edition to the Generator family, We will see you there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Expedia so you can book your Generator Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing