We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy bed in great Barcelona neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Trendy bed in great Barcelona neighborhood”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Trendy hostel and hotel in Barcelona, the Generator is a great place to stay. I had the chance to stay with them in Denmark and loved the experienced. Barcelona was no different. We stayed in an en-suite room and even though the room was small, the huge window and beautiful view really made up for it.

Decoration is really trendy and the whole place has a nice vibe to it. As the Generator in Denmark, this one was very clean and people were attentive. Great localization, close enough to everything, but immersed in a true Barcelona neighborhood.

If you ever come to the city, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAmados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneratorBarcelona, General Manager at Generator Hostel Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thanks for sharing your experience after staying in Generator Barcelona. it is good to know that you have enjoy in two Generators, incluiding Copenhagen.

I appreciate your opinion about the style and location, we have tried from the beginning to show a little bit of Barcelona within the building, the desing team did a great job and we realise thanks to comments like yours.

thanks for your time and we hope to see you soon in any of Generator Hostels.

Regards,

Enrique Portales
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    460
    113
    35
    51
See reviews for
123
169
320
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Generator Barcelona was a great place to stay overall, though it was a bit of a metro ride from the beach, montjuc and the barri gothic.
We stayed in an 8 person dorm, which was a little small on walking space between the beds, but had lots of storage, good lockers, two sinks and separate bathroom and shower facilities. We never had to wait for a shower, as there is a very clean extra shower room as well. There's lots of space to hang out in common areas as well, so the size of the room wasn't too much of a problem either.
Best of all, the beds were very comfortable, had their own light and outlet, and the sheets were changed every day.
The hostel also had lots of events and two eating areas as well as a breakfast cafeteria with cheap food and drinks, and was open later than many neighbouring establishments.
A little disappointing was the lack of kitchen, but the food sold there was reasonably priced, as long as you're expecting to buy most meals out.
The location was nice, just up from ave diagonal, which was a fancy shopping area, so it felt safe, even late at night. It's walking distance from the sagrada familiar and parc guell, however we found we took the metro a good deal, and bought the 10 trip metro pass for our four night stay.
Overall, the stay was lovely, the staff, rooms and restaurant were great, but you might want to look at where you want to go in Barcelona before committing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneratorBarcelona, General Manager at Generator Hostel Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Asha,

Thanks for your time, it is great to read your comments that I have already shared with the team.
I am very please that you liked the room facilities, also the activities we organised achieve the goal when guests like you join them.
I am sorry about the lack of kitchen, we offer a fridge and a microwave for guests use and at the same time the bar menu is focus in offering a big variety in prices and products.
Thanks againg for your comments and we hope to see you again in Generator Barcelona

Regards,

Enrique Portales
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was our starting point for a 2 week Europe trip and it was the perfect start. We had booked a private twin room and were upgraded to a Deluxe room on the hotel side. We had an amazing balcony with lounge chairs and a great view of the mountain. It was lovely having bathrobes as well. The food in the lobby was ok but there were tones of places in the area to eat. Great location and good atmosphere. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneratorBarcelona, General Manager at Generator Hostel Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks for sharing your experience after staying in Generator Barcelona. it is very helful to find comments like yours, because you describe very well the premium room and the facilities you found it.
I have already shared with the team your opinion about the food, it is great to heard it.
We hope to see you soon in Barcelona

regards,

Enrique Portales
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I had just ended a guided tour in London & had set out on my own in January of this year & my first stop was Barcelona on my adventures. The first night I had arrived there i had, had a discrepancy with my room as I arrived a day earlier then expected. The staff was very understanding & took care of me without a problem, I loved the look of the hostel as well there happened to be a pub crawl night there that was put on from another group in the hostel & was invited out the same night, it was a great start to my stay. Throughout my stay everyone was very helpful in directing me to places to check out and explore throughout my travels there, I was able to meet a lot of great people & made some excellent memories & still keep in touch with some people I met at the hostel. Thanks for a great experience ;)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAMan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balwyn, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

we booked a double room with ensuite in the hotel section of the hostel. we were very impressed with the large, modern, spacious and quiet rooms, accessible by a private lift. beautiful bathroom. the best hostel we have stayed at on our european holiday. great staff, great facilities and a great price. lots to do nearby including non-touristy local bars, great wine, tapas and restaurants.walking tour and tapas tour lots of fun. metro also close nearby. easy access to old city. highly recommended

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shackdins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I had a great stay at the generator, good place too hook up with girls definetely, everybody is young and good looking, but I do not recommend this hostel if you are a couple, or if you wanna have a relaxed one!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Generator hostel is easy to reach from Diagonal metro station. I was warmly welcomed by the lady at the reception which is nicely decorated with old hanging bike to the ceiling. We were given room on 3rd floor but the lift was terribly slow and confusing to use. Although we booked three bed room but were given 4 bunk bed. The room was clean and centrally air conditioned. The attached toilet was only 4 sq ft but shower room was spacious. Overall, my stay at hostel was very pleasant and i would definitely recommend others to stay here

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hesperia Sant Joan
#202 of 513 in Barcelona
875 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,705 reviews
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#179 of 513 in Barcelona
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#114 of 308 in Barcelona
105 reviews
INOUT Hostel
#312 of 723 in Barcelona
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Barcelona

Property: Generator Hostel Barcelona
Address: Carrer de Corsega 373-377, 08307 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Hostel Barcelona 1*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Barcelona conveniently located just a 5 minute walk from two main metro stations, Diagonal and Verdaguer. Travelling to and from the hostel to all the must see sights is a piece of cake. The beautiful sandy beaches are just a 15 minute metro journey away, and only a short walk away are the maze of small streets of the Eixample district, home to Barcelona’s trendy shops, bars and restaurants. Generator is the perfect place for those looking to combine style with great atmosphere. You’ll find great beds for sleepy heads, a communal TV room with outdoor patio to a chill out lounge/café that serves the best drinks and snacks for miles around. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with your own power socket and LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay, visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. Barcelona is the latest edition to the Generator family, We will see you there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Generator Hostel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing