We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My friend and I booked here for 5 nights after being recommended it from another friend. The location was outside the main area which was nice to get away and only took 15-20 minutes with the metro. I highly recommend all travelers to get the T-10 pass to get around the city, it makes everything easier. The staff at the hostel were super cool and easy going yet helpful with anything you need. We stayed in an 8 mixed dorm and the space was cozy but every bed had a plug and their own light. The air conditioning, single washroom and shower worked perfectly. There were two sinks with mirrors that made getting ready simple. The entire hostel is decorated so uniquely and makes it a comfortable environment to be in. I highly recommend staying here! Check their website for deals! We found one for 15€ a night!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneratorBarcelona, General Manager at Generator Hostel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hi Natasha,

Thanks for sharing your experience after stayin in our hostel.

The team is very happy about your comments, that helps to keep working very hard.

I do appreciate the description you do of the services and facilities, I am sure it will be very good for new travellers.

thanks for your time and we hope to see you soon in Generator Barcelona

Enrique Portales
Generator Barcelona GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 1,601 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

i recent stayed in this hostel was great. good price, great service and the people working there as really nice people. couldn't have ask for more. first night my sister and I had to share a room and it wasn't as bad i though it would be.. i would do it again for sure... and they also have breakfast for 5 euros which it cheaper then eating out in other pleases..

Room Tip: try to reserve in advance, so you can get a room just for your ground..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneratorBarcelona, General Manager at Generator Hostel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hi Nancy,

Thanks for sharing your experience, after staying in our hostel.
It is great to read that you have enjoyed the stay and I have already talked to the managers, all the staff will be very happy about it.
I do appreciate your time and I hope to see you soon in Barcelona

Enrique Portales
Generator Barcelona GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed at the Generator Hostel for 4 nights and wasn't blown away. Not the greatest value for money - small rooms and not much included for the price. Washing is expensive, breakfast not included and there is no kitchen to cook/store your own food or alcohol, therefore making the whole experience more expensive than another hostel. However, it's clean, the bar is reasonably priced with a nice, social atmosphere, and there are nice facilities to relax, read and play pool (although, again, this costs extra....) Nice, modern hostel to be in, but wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank slinders2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The place is very well made, it is definitely on the luxury side for a hostel, it even has multiple hotel rooms including shampoo and towels like most hotels. The place looks incredible its like you are in a piece of very modern art, there are so many amenities like a foosball table, tv room, huge bar, cafe and more. If you are traveling with friends it is a great place to go. If you are traveling alone it will be difficult to meet people as it is too big and too nice. Most people there are not traveling alone, you will be a minority.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lharris4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneratorBarcelona, General Manager at Generator Hostel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks for having your time to share your experience after staying in Generator Barcelona.

It is really great to see your comments, because you help a lot to new guest to understand what we offer, including services and facilites. Your description is a good summary about us.

We hope to see you again in Barcelona

Regards,

Enrique Portales
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

As many people said, this hostel has a convenient location, comfortable beds, functionally-designed rooms, clean sheets, a cheerful lounge and an energetic bar.
Moreover, all staff members were very kind, pacient and understanding.
Especially, one of the staff, Bea was very helpful. In fact, when my wallet was pickpocketed in the town, I told her and she advised me what to do and calmed me down warmheartedly.
I really appreciate her, without her help I couldn't have managed it.
Definitely, I'll stay here again when I have a chance to visit Barcelona.
Again, thanks a lot Bea.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lovefiji2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneratorBarcelona, General Manager at Generator Hostel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience after staying in Generator Barcelona.

All the comments about the location and services are very helpful for new guests.

I have already shared with the team, especially to Bea, your positive opinion about the staff. they are very happy to read them.

Thanks for your time and we hope to see soon in Barcelona

Regards,

Enrique Portales
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed in a 6 mixed dorm room, when I arrived the employees were very helpful and nice, everything is accessed with your key, so it's safe. The hostel has parties and music every night which is nice and the decoration is awesome.
On the other side, breakfast is horrible, if it's not included in your reservation you have to pay 4€ for a terrible breakfast, so better go elsewhere. The bar/restaurant is super expensive, paid 3€ for a regular beer and the food is not good.
Location is very good and well connected.
Overall it was a good experience except for the bar/restaurant and breakfast.

Room Tip: I guess it's luck, I stayed in the 1st floor and it was fine, depends on your roommates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneratorBarcelona, Manager at Generator Hostel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience after staying in our hostel.

I have already shared with the team the positive comments about them, it is really great to heard it.

Apologize if you didn't like the food, I have already reviewed them with the area manager in order to offer a better products offer, because for us is very important this service.

Thanks for your time and I hope next time you come, you will enjoy the activities and the food too.

regards from Barcelona

Enrique Portales
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I wouldn't call myself a typical hostel-goer. I can definitely afford a nicer hotel, but usually choose to stay at a simpler and more reasonably priced hotel so I can spend more money on dining and other activities. A friend recommended Generator to me because it is a new concept of an upscale hostel, combining the best of a boutique design hotel and a youth hostel. Generator had a more traditional hostel section of the building, and another area with private rooms, which I elected. My room was well designed, spotless and had a comfortable bed. The social areas of the hostel were great and the location in the city was unbeatable.

Room Tip: Private rooms are very nice, look like a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#219 of 516 in Barcelona
1,188 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#212 of 516 in Barcelona
923 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 516 in Barcelona
3,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Casa Gracia
Casa Gracia
#25 of 308 in Barcelona
1,365 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#69 of 736 in Barcelona
1,181 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#124 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Barcelona

Address: Carrer de Corsega 373-377, 08307 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 736 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: £18 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Hostel Barcelona 1*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Barcelona conveniently located just a 5 minute walk from two main metro stations, Diagonal and Verdaguer. Travelling to and from the hostel to all the must see sights is a piece of cake. The beautiful sandy beaches are just a 15 minute metro journey away, and only a short walk away are the maze of small streets of the Eixample district, home to Barcelona’s trendy shops, bars and restaurants. Generator is the perfect place for those looking to combine style with great atmosphere. You’ll find great beds for sleepy heads, a communal TV room with outdoor patio to a chill out lounge/café that serves the best drinks and snacks for miles around. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with your own power socket and LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay, visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. Barcelona is the latest edition to the Generator family, We will see you there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Generator Hostel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing