We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre hotel, but no major shortcomings.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
Ranked #274 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
157 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Mediocre hotel, but no major shortcomings.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a very "average" hotel, in my view. The positives: it is relatively new, rooms are clean, it's a convenient location, and it's great value for money. The negatives: Staff are not well-trained (or at least they didn't come across as being so), the quality of the room furniture isn't great, and I had a room on the first floor directly on the main street (you should avoid that if you stay at the hotel). Overall, there are no major shortcomings but there is definitely room for improvement.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADMNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    195
    89
    18
    15
See reviews for
74
206
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Im not sure why there are so many negative reviews.

Stayed here with my husband for our anniversary and it was perfect! Amazing views, great service from all the staff and the shower was fantastic.

Best part of this hotel was its location as we bought a metro pass and only used it twice!! Would stay again in a heart beat!

Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We absolutely loved this hotel, it has very recently been refurbished and everything was to an extremely high standard. The rooms were very clean and a really good size. It is also next door to a main train station in barcelona which meant that getting around and to and from the airport was so easy. The location was fantastic. Opposite was el born which had got loads of lovely restaurants and bars in old squares, down the road was cuitadella park and a 10 min walk away was la rambla and the port.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acox89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meitar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

very good location, near metro station barcelloneta, most turist attractions at walking distance.
the room was small but nice and clean. difficult to get a queen or king bed.
breakfast poor. the staff was friendly/

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank batia_pomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had originally booked a room at the Barcelona Colonial Hotel (owned or managed by the same company, Grupo Gargallo), but there was some sort of maintenance issue with that room so they moved us to Hotel Ciutadella instead (at no additional cost, and they paid for a cab to take us there).

Service:
Checkin and checkout went smoothly, after the little hiccup with moving hotels. I was actually surprised that we were able to check in when we showed up, since it was fairly early in the morning (after an overnight transatlantic flight). Staff were friendly and helpful, even making me a photocopy of my airline boarding pass which I had printed double-sided but actually needed to be on two separate pages. All of the staff I encountered had at least rudimentary English speaking skills, and I had no problem at all communicating with the front desk staff.

Room:
Our room was nice, with a red, black, and silvery-grey color scheme. Very modern-looking. We would have preferred an actual King or Queen rather than two singles pushed together, but the bed was comfortable enough. The climate controls had some lock-out enabled, and we weren't able to lower the room temperature. I'm not sure the A/C for the entire hotel had been turned on yet. Fortunately, it wasn't warm enough to really bother us. (Note that we did not contact the staff to ask about changing the temperature.)

Location:
We found the hotel location to be really convenient for the things we wanted to do in the city. The Barcelonetta metro stop is just a minute or two walk away. The southern edge of the Gothic quarter is just across the street. Most of the time we just walked that direction into the city. There are banks, supermarkets, and restaurants in just a couple minutes walk in that direction. The train (Renfe) station (Estacio de Franca) is right next door (literally the next building over), so getting to the airport involved only a single train change (which happened to be to the other side of the platform).

Breakfast:
Our room package rate included breakfast. The breakfast buffet included cereal, yogurt, various bread con tomate, toast, assorted breakfast meats, cheese, juice, milk, and coffee. Oh, the coffee. I was not aware that espresso from an automated machine could actually be good. In summary, plenty of tasty things for breakfast, but it's the same every day (so pace yourself if you're going to be there several days).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jltaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear client,
We thank you for this so positive opinion. We are very satisfied for that your stay was agreeable and in name of our personnel thank you for valuing his services, they strain every day for improving. We wait to meet prompt again.
Best regards
Elia Buen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The location is great, is just one minute walk from metro station Barcelloneta and from the other side you cross the road and you are in the barrion gottico which is full of bars and restaurants. The room is very luxury with a murble floor, nice decoration and a big bed. Breakfast is nice, in includes a lot of things but can be better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofiagd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear sirs,
Thank you very much for your opinion. It is a pleasure to have clients as your.
We expect to continue supporting this level in our services and to be able to meet in the future.
Best regards
Elia Buen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed here during our recent trip to Barcelona. We found the Hotel Ciutadella a pleasant home away from home during our visit. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The building was beautiful and seemed freshly remodeled. And the location was superb. So centrally located that we could walk to many of the places we most wanted to see. The Born neighborhood especially is barely two blocks away, with its amazing archeological display of 17th century Barcelona, and the beautiful Eglesia de Santa Maria del Mar. Our biggest complaint about this property: Do plan on eating at the nearby cafes and restaurants rather than in the hotel breakfast room. Its windowless, basement location lacks all ambiance, and sadly the cuisine is equally disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear client,
Thank you very much for expressing your opinion in this way. We are very satisfied that the hotel was of your pleasure, our principal aim is that our clients are satisfied with their stay.
We are sorry that you did not like the breakfast, take note and wait to improve in order that in a future it is of your pleasure.
We wait to meet prompt in our hotel.
Best regards
Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#262 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Barceloneta
Santa Marta Hotel
Santa Marta Hotel
#167 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Del Mar
Hotel Del Mar
#244 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#319 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#186 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#26 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona

Property: Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
Address: Avenida Marques de l'Argentera 4, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#171 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#204 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2012, the Barcelona Ciutadella Hotel is the perfect accommodation choice for tourists who want to enjoy Barcelona from the very heart of the city. It is located next to the Parc de la Ciutadella, a few metres from the Gothic quarter and the beaches. Next to the station of France, the hotel has an unbeatable location and is very well connected to the main attractions of Barcelona, by bus and subway. The nearest beaches are a 15-minute walk from the hotel, while the plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas are less than 2 km away. In addition, the bars and cafes of the Passeig del Born are just 200 metres from Hotel Ciutadella, while Joan of Borbo promenade is located a 5-minute walk, and in it you will find several seafood restaurants. In a historic building of Barcelona and very near the most important monuments of Barcelona, our hotel offers 59 rooms. All of them feature a contemporary decor and are equipped with air conditioning, heating, TV, and private bathroom with amenities for the comfort and the satisfaction of our customers. In addition, each room has a safe payment and all of them are soundproofed. We offer you different types of rooms, all of them equipped with all the comforts and complete ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing