We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to hang out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sub Rosa

Sub Rosa
Ranked #33 of 776 Nightlife in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Currently the anti world cup bar of choice
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Drinks are awesome. Staff is very friendly and the crowd is pretty chill - what more could you ask for in a bar?

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DougInBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    18
    1
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“mmm chocolate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

great vibe, chill and casual but still fun. try the barcelonetta, it's basically an adult milkshake (yes please!).

also, ladies pay happy hour price all night sunday ;)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My new favourite bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Sub Rosa is the perfect bar in my opinion; small, dimly lit, cool music and a little bit grungy, with fantastic cheap cocktails! My boyfriend and I popped in for a cocktail before dinner and ended up spending hours there drinking the best strawberry mojitos I've ever tried, at 4 euro each!
A definite must if you are in Barcelona, I really can't wait to visit again!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeckyHesilrige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An absolute gem hidden in the gothic quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I can't even remember how we found Sub Rosa, but I'm very glad we did. It's by far the best cocktail bar I've ever been to. The staff were friendly and knew what they were doing. The cocktails were all made freshly in front of us, and the cocktail menu was huge. Even better, they had happy hour from 8-11pm where cocktails were just 4 euros each!
It's definitely worth wandering around the gothic quarter to find this place. We only found it on our last night or we would have been back there every night it was so good. Sorry there aren't any pictures. We were too busy enjoying it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dreamasimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere & Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Found this place thanks to the tripadvisor offline guide! Thanks! The bar was fairly hidden, located in the narrow streets near the night-life district of Barcelona (close to the Gothic Quarter). You can easily miss it, as the bar has a really small entrance. Inside, the decorations and chill house/minimal music really contribute to a cool atmosphere. Drinks are cheap too, only 2.2€ for a beer, and cocktails ranging from 4-6€. When happy hour is in effect, this is the place to be to start your night out! Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sub Rosa also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Sub Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing