We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far beyond expectations!”
Review of Retrome Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Retrome Barcelona
Ranked #35 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Retrome Barcelona was everything we had hoped for and more. The staff is enchanting and exceptionally helpful. The retro décor is striking and amusing. The rooms are spotless. The price is considerably lower than that of neighboring hotels. The outstanding feature that raises this lodging in our esteem above many more expensive ones is the common area. The bottled water and milk for coffee (refilled daily) took up only a portion of space in the sizable refrigerator, allowing plenty of room for guests’ wine, soda, and snacks. The espresso-maker offered short strong cups or taller “caffe latte” cups of regular or decaf with a steamed milk option. The roomy seating area allowed for fascinating interaction with guests from many different countries, but could be avoided for the privacy of one's own room if desired.
Each day we used the chits provided to enjoy an excellent breakfast in a local place directly across the street. The offerings, which came with the price of the room, included freshly squeezed juice, yogurt with fresh fruit, or omelet, Iberican ham or sausage on crusty bread, fresh croissants, and a variety of coffees and teas. Who could ask for more? Most days we sat on the sidewalk and enjoyed chatting with the locals who had obviously been coming there for years.

Located just slightly off the beaten path, the hotel felt extremely safe in its workaday neighborhood, yet the proximity of the Girona metro stop meant easy access to all the sights. Daily, while we prepared to venture out to explore the city and environs, the staff patiently pointed out locations on a map, wrote down instructions for metro stops, taxi drivers and bus routes, and gave us recommendations for restaurants not found in any guide books. On the last day of our trip my husband did not feel well and wanted to sleep in for awhile. I asked at the desk if the restaurant where we had been eating breakfast offered “take away.” The young woman on duty said she would find out. Thinking she would telephone, I asked her to let me know. A few minutes later there was a knock on our door, and there she stood with a hot breakfast bagged up for us both. Certainly this was service above and beyond our wildest expectations.

We are excited to learn that Retrome offers a second location, the RetRome in Rome. We hope some day to make plans to travel there, because we liked this Barcelona lodging so much.

Room Tip: Each room is uniquely decorated and is assigned on a rotating basis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhoDylandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your very nice review. We really appreciate the time you took in order to write this review, and share your good experience of Retrome Barcelona with other travelers.

We are happy that you like the special decoration of the hotel. The personalized service is also a very important part of our offering, and it is good to hear that it is well noticed, and that you feel so welcome. That special Room service is just another way to say - we care.

We thank you for staying with us, and look forward to welcome you again in Barcelona or in Rome, at our boutique hotel next to the Colosseum.

Regards,

Oren
Retrome Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here from Sunday till Wednesday last week, saw we had checked the reviews on Trip Advisor we knew what to expect.
Fabulous Hotel, we were met by Anna who made us tea before checking us in! She gave us a Barcelona map and marked our location and we were happy to set off on our own. We were able to check in early and went off for a wander straight away.
The following day we got directions from Cora to the Sagrada Familia and headed off again, we got the tourist bus from there and explored Barcelona.
We had booked the small double room with balcony, and while the room was compact it fulfilled our needs, the balcony was great, lovely and sunny in the afternoon, perfect for having a bottle of wine!
The bathroom was very modern with lovely tiles.
Having the kitchen just outside our door was great as we could pop out and make tea, we stored water and minerals in the fridge, there is a big coffee machine also for coffee lovers!
We loved this hotel and highly recommend it! If we ever come back to Barcelona we would definately stay here again!
Many thanks Teresa and Andrea.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Terrianne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Terrianne,

Thank you for your very good review. We really appreciate the time you took in order to write this review, and share your good experience of Retrome Barcelona with other travelers.

First, we are happy to read from your review that one of the reason to choose Retrome Barcelona was after reading other traveler's reviews. It is good to see that other travelers help each other, and your expectations were met.

We are proud of our personalized service, and we are glad to hear that you liked it as well.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Warm regards from Barcelona,

Oren
Retrome Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Retrome Barcelona is definitely a place you would want to stay, the hospitality at this place is like no other that I have been to. They have their own expresso machine where you can make coffee, they even offer you champagne or beer if you feel like an alcoholic beverage. Sanja and Caisa were both very nice, Sanja gave us a ten minute introduction about the hotel and the area itself. She even recommended a few restaurants around the area as we had checked in late and were looking for something to eat. We ended up going to Betlem, a Tapas bar which is close by to Girona Metro. 2 minute walk from Retrome. Fantastic place to go to have a feed, atmosphere was nice and food was good!

Taking the train from the airport is quite easy. Follow the signs to the train, you should go up on an escalator and carry across a bridge and into the train station. Pick up a T10 train pass for €10.30, this will give you 10 trips on the metro, bus or train. I believe all the trains stop at Passeig de Gracia. This should take 30 minutes. Once you arrive at Passeig de Gracia, take the Carre de Pau Claris exit. You should come out of an exit through some escalators, take a right and follow down the road on Carre d'Arago. If you have managed to come to an intersection with Banco Poplar, Burberry Store and one of the famous Gaudi buildings then you have heading in the wrong direction. Turn back and you should be there in 4-5 blocks, passing along a gym, two supermarkets and a furniture shop called Mettal on the right, a largish market on the left. Turn right on to Carrer de Girona and look for number 85. I recommend using google street view to know your surroundings and give you a better understanding of my instructions.

The location is very central, can walk to Placa de Catulunya in roughly 15 minutes and to all other major tourist attractions.

All in all, great place to stay and decent value.

My only complaint was that the shower can take some time to warm up. Other than that, would definitely stay there again if I head back to Barcelona!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kid_n_play18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your very nice review. We really appreciate the time you took in order to write this review, and share your good experience of Retrome Barcelona with other travelers.

We are happy to read that you liked our central location. Thank you also for explaining so well the easy way to walk from the train station at Passeo de Gracia to our hotel. I am sure that it will help a lot of travelers that will use this easy way to arrive from the airport.

We are glad that you liked the service of our personnel. We will definitely forward them your nice words.

We thank you again for staying with us, and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Barcelona.

Regards,

Oren
Retrome Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We arrived into Barcelona from London on a late flight and arrived at our hotel around 10:30pm. We had notified the staff at the time we booked of our late arrival, and they accommodated us with no problems. The retro decor of the hotel foyer was of a high standard and the receptionist was so welcoming, sitting us down at the magnificent wooden table in the dining area and making us a tea and coffee before even getting down to the business of checking us in. This was a great start to our four days in Barcelona.

Our room was spacious, clean and the double bed was very comfortable (it was a memory foam mattress we think). We had requested a room with a balcony and it was very sweet and handy to step out into our own outdoor space. We had ample space in the room which included a dressing table, large wardrobe and a couch.

The reception staff were very engaging and gave us some helpful tips about where to go and what to see in Barcelona recommending a local Flamenco dancing show in the Raval area and the Museum Dali in Figueres.

Look for the small Retrome Hotel signage on the right side of the door opening and buzz the receptionist to let you in. The location of the hotel is probably more in a suburban area of Barcelona but personally we like that and had no problems getting anywhere. At no time did we feel we couldn't access any of the major sites and tourist areas. It is about a 10 minute walk to the Passaig De Gracia and 10 minutes to the La Sagrada Familia with access points to the metro at the end of the block in one direction and the Passaig De Gracia station in another direction only a block away. Cafes are close by on every corner and a large supermarket just around the corner also for stocking up if need.

Overall we loved our stay at the Retrome with access to the best coffee machine we have ever had the pleasure to use, a range of tea, a fridge if we needed it and other great spaces like the lounge room and dining table. Our home away from home.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony. A nice place for a morning coffee or a drink after sightseeing all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Susan,

Thank you for your extensive review about Retrome Barcelona. We really appreciate the time you took in order to share your good experience about Retrome Barcelona with other travellers.

We are happy that you liked the retro design of the hotel, and the personalized service. We are proud of the special attention we can give to our guests, and when we get a review with the title - home away from home - we know that efforts have been paid.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in Barcelona or in Rome (at our boutique hotel next to the Colosseum).

Warm regards from Barcelona,

Oren
Retrome Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Barcelona is amazing. It has everything - sun, beach, shopping, great food and the nicest people.
That was also the case with Sanne our lovely host in Retrome B&B. She took the time to show us good places in the city the first day we arrived and we really appreciated that! And we felt very welcome by both of the 2 friendly and welcoming hosts in Retrome.
The hotel is located a little bit secret, it just look like apartments, and you wouldnt guess it was there if you didnt know. It is decorated with Retro funitures and it feels like stepping in to another timezone. Retrome has a collabroration with the café Zafra, so you can have breakfast there. We chose not to, and I´m happy we did. The breakfast is not very healthy or very good. But it is not the hotel's fault.
We stayed in the new wing, no 81, our room was quite small, but it didnt matter at all. But we missed a closet to put our clothes, especsially because the room was so small. But I have a feeling that it will come because as I understood we where some of the first staying in the room. Otherwise is was nice and clean. And had a balcony :-) In the 'old' wing no. 85 there is a room the guest can use to make coffee and get water and hang out, We didnt use it so much, but it is there and it is a beautiful room.
If you are looking for a diffent way, a more personal way, with the feeling of having your own apartment in Barcelona, Retrome is what your are looking for! We had a great stay! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benedikte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Benedikte,

Thank you for your nice review. We really appreciate the time you took in order to write this review, and to share you good experience with other travellers.

We are happy that you liked our service, and especially the one you got from Sanna. We will forward your comments to her. Regarding your comment about the colset - we actually offer a specially designed closet in the room (with haner for dresses etc.) it is so beautifully designed so maybe you did not recognize the fact that it is a (open) closet that can be used for your clothes.
In any case, we have enjoyed hosting you, and we hope to be able to welcome you again in Barcelona in the future.

Regards,

Oren
Retrome Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The staff were great really helpful and went out of their way for us. The location was ideal between Gaudi and old town. The hotel was nicely decorated with original features, though pinched in the size of the room. This was more noticeable as it rained and we had to spend more time in there. Would recommend for a weekend stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Simon,

Thank you for your very nice review. We really appreciate the time you took in order to write this review and to share your experience with other travellers.

We are happy to hear that you liked the design of the hotel, and the service of our dedicated staff. I will certainly forward your warm words to them,
We are looking forward to welcome you again in Barcelona or in Rome (at our boutique hotel next to the Colosseum).

Regards,

Oren
Retrome Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had a lovely stay at Retome. Good location really friendly staff. Loved the decor esp the colourful tiles. Our room was minimal but functional. We had a small but lovely balcony also which had some steps to climb up and out of a massive window/door. I've never seen anything like it but it was very cool. The bed was very comfy. The bathroom was very stylish but also minimal. It would have been nice to have some shelves to put our stuff on. The rain shower was ok and on the first morning I couldn't get it working as there was a piece missing but this was promptly rectified for the rest of our stay. Everything was lovely and clean and tea and coffee were readily available in the communal area. If you want somewhere to use as a base while you explore Barcelona this is perfect. Thank you Retrome :-).

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ishy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moti_retrome, Manager at Retrome Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Ishy,

Thank you for your nice review. We really appreciate the time you took in order to write this good review about Retrome Barcelona, and to share your experience with other travellers.

We are happy to hear that you liked our special design of the hotel. We have tried to create a unique experience of a real vintage styled hotel, in combination with the original Modernista characteristic of the building. We are pleaed to hear that it was successful.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in Barcelona or Rome.

Regards,

Oren
Retrome Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hostal Centric
Hostal Centric
#15 of 308 in Barcelona
311 reviews
Eixample
Violeta Boutique
Violeta Boutique
#3 of 308 in Barcelona
482 reviews
Eixample
Casa Mathilda
Casa Mathilda
#49 of 308 in Barcelona
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Magatzem 128
Magatzem 128
#20 of 308 in Barcelona
111 reviews
Eixample
BarcelonaBB
BarcelonaBB
#4 of 308 in Barcelona
559 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Brun Barcelona B&B
Brun Barcelona B&B
#111 of 308 in Barcelona
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retrome Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retrome Barcelona

Address: Carrer de Girona 81, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £43 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Retrome Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retrome Barcelona is a small and charming concept-boutique Urban Retreat in mid-century vintage interior design. The property offers a Cafe=Lounge, and the highest standards of service, comfort & design in the very heart of Barcelona. Our well appointed private guest rooms and Apartment Suites, each with its own en-suite bathroom, are spacious, full with natural light and boasts an original retro-vintage design, together with all contemporary comfort. The location promises a relaxed stay, just 5 minutes walk from the bustling and luxurious Passeig De Gracia and 10 minutes walk to either Plaza Catalunia or to the Sagrada Familia. A metro stop is a flight of stairs away and great restaurant, a local market and various nightlife spots can be found right in the neighbourhood. Room rates Our tailor-made hospitality and unique city experience can rarely be found in other properties in Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Retrome Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Retrome Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing