We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable tapas... Must visit ”

Bodega Biarritz 1881
Ranked #56 of 10,930 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: US$7 - US$40
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: El Congres i els Indians
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Food here was great. A small wait to get in but the wait is worth it...

We were seated after about 15 mins and we were given the choice of choosing our own food or going with their tips..

Alot of people go with their tips but we decided to go it alone

We were not disappointed... The food was delicious and the little tapas meals were great..

All of them had great flavors and tasted great

Highly recommended and would visit again

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank chriscW8498VM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,152 - 1,156 of 4,499 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

We went here based on TA reviews. We chose to eat earlier than normal, around 19:30 ish to avoid queuing. It was full when we got there but we only had to wait a few minutes. The place is very small and hot! The food is all laid out on the bar, you can either select your own or they choose a selection for you. We let them choose it but in hindsight we wished we'd have chose our own as we ended up ordering some of the others we fancied so left rather full. The food however was really great! I can't give this place 5* because it's so uncomfortable in there! You can't sit properly as you're around half barrels, the stools have no backs and it's really hot, so you feel like you're perched in a bar and it all feels a bit rushed. Fine if that's what you're after, but I prefer to relax a bit when I'm eating and it's definitely not that. I felt for the experience, it was overpriced, but the food was good, so if you're nt bothered about relaxing or comfort when you're eating, you'll like this place a lot! FYI, it's cash only and we spent around 55 EUR including drinks.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank KPummell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Had one night in Barca and wanted a real authentic experience. Yes, we did have to wait - took around half an hour to be seated but this was expected considering it was a Saturday night and having read other reviews. Staff were friendly and served up sangria as we waited at the front of the queue.

Once we progressed past the rope and were seated to the side, we discovered this place is actually tiny with room for only about 25 people. We noticed food being prepared behind the bar in what quite cramped quarters.

Waitress explained there was no menu, you just select what you would like from the pre made options on the bar or from the cooked to order options from the board. I made several selections and took the waitresses recommendation to try the local ham with tomato bread and the olives.

After a short wait our food began to arrive. Every mouthful was a delight! Standouts were the chicken skewers and the mini toasted ham cheese sandwiches (not sure of the correct names?) Was difficult to stop we wanted to try everything!

Hard to believe such amazing food could be produced in such a small kitchen. Believe the hype - you need to try.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank shitsandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Such a fabulous place.. Very small so be prepared to wait but the tapas were the best I have ever tasted. Friendly staff, good price and Kareen was lovely! Would have gone every night if I could have. You must go!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 286shellw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

So wonderful. And cheap. I am totally in love with the place :) if there was a better rating I would give it to them. There are so many different choices and they display them all so you know what you get :) each tapas costs 3-4 euro, but they are the best I ever had (and they are big) :)

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank majafriis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Bodega Biarritz 1881 also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Bodega Biarritz 1881? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.