We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great insight into the Gothic Quarter”

Orange Donut Tours Premium Tailor Made Private Tours
Ranked #27 of 168 Food & Drink in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Orange Donut Tours we provide you the best way to experience Barcelona and Madrid whether you prefer to move "as a local" on foot and with public transport, or in absolute luxury with a Private Mercedes Vehicle & Chauffeur. That's because we tailor our tours to your exact specifications, and if you aren't sure of exactly what you want, we'll give you some great ideas to get you started! And because all our tours are run by 5-star guides, you'll have the peace of mind that comes with knowing your being guided by local, vetted, and reliable professionals who understand the perfect mix of fun and history so that you have an unforgettable experience! In Barcelona, Gaudi is just the beginning. There is so much more to explore, from Civil War Bunkers to the street where a Roman teenager was rolled down in a barrel filled with knives 1,600 years ago, and more! We also offer Day Trips to Barcelona's breath-taking surroundings, including Montserrat, Tarragona, Girona, Costa Brava, the Penedes Wine Region, and more! In Madrid, the Prado and Royal Palace are also just the beginning. There is the Madrid of the Habsburgs, the Madrid of the Bourbons, and more! We also offer Day Trips to Madrid's historically-rich surroundings, including Toledo, Segovia, Avila, El Escorial, and more! Our 5-star Premium Tailor-made Private Tours of Barcelona, Madrid, and their awe-inspiring surroundings will leave you with a lasting impression and lifelong memories, so let us take you on a journey of thousands of years of history to discover the real España! We cater to all budgets and needs and no request is too strange or too extravagant, so don't hesitate to contact us to let us know exactly what you're looking for and we'll tailor it specifically to you with a no-obligation, free quote.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great insight into the Gothic Quarter”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Excellent tour covering as much as one would need to know (and manage to remember) in two hours. Just the right amount of info. Given to you in a down to earth, but fun manner. Not too much hype. Have done several "free" tours before and the tour op. really works the Group to get the best reward. Alexsandra was low key but still fun. Great in such a small group which allowed time for personal questions and feedback. The tip sheet handed out at the end of the tour will be lit to,good use.

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Greennz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    37
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
190 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“ALEKSANDRA THE GREAT! :D”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

You can just mindlessly walk around the old town gothic area, lost,admiring the architecture, wondering what was going on during the period, OR, you can book a free walking tour with Aleksandra, & enhance your experience times 100!!! That's exactly what we did, and it was such a rewarding experience!

We found Orange Donut on TA, and as usual, going by the reviews, we were not disappointed. Aleksandra was prompt in responding to our email, prompt and easy to find at the time of the tour, and had beautiful English language, which was a relief to us. We got there an hour early to people-watch, and noted several very large tour groups go by with half of its group look confused or bored, or tired. Not ours! Aleksandra was personable, informative, and we took a lovely, leisurely stroll with her through this area that she passionately loves (and lives)!

We were a group of six, & it was perfect for getting through crowds. We had an easy time hearing her voice since we were always close with her. She gave us all the historical info, plus imparted wisdom on places for yummy treats. She answered all questions with patience and a smile. At the end of the tour, she even handed out handwritten copies (her expense) of her personal favorites for coffee, restaurants, tapas, etc.

The tour was excellent, great timing (2 hours), not too long to be tiring, in fact, it went by quickly listening to her stories. We admire this young lady, not only for her generous knowledge and professionalism, but for her gutsiness and belief in herself to run her business. She works very hard so you will be happy and reward her efforts in the end. We are very grateful that we chose her for our Gothic experience. THANK YOU ALEKSANDRA, and may you always prosper!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank FoodieLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“History & Alleys around the Cathederal”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We both enjoyed our historical and informative walking tour around the streets and narrow lane ways around the Cathederal. Group size was small enough so we could always hear what Alexsandra was saying and being a small group has its advantages over the huge hoards you see getting around with headsets just so they can hear what their guide is saying! Obviously we tipped at the end as there is no such thing as free but there was no pushy sales pitch or demand for money at the end. Just a short comment card and then dump your money into a bag. And a very useful list of suggested places to eat, drink, etc was handed out as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank EtheB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great and informative”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent guide Aleksandra! She knows a lot about the historic Barri Gotic. Gave us list of good restaurants and bars to go at the end of the tour which is very handy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShianShian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marie - Aleksandra is a great guide !”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a great tour of the Barrio Gothic with Aleksandra ; all the historical information given were very interesting. At the end of the tour, we even got additional details about opening hours of public places, museums, markets, nice restaurants...

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank 755mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orange Donut Tours Premium Tailor Made Private Tours also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Orange Donut Tours Premium Tailor Made Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing