We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEW AND VERY SOCIALBLE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amistat Beach Hostel Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NEW AND VERY SOCIALBLE”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

This hostel is great! Very new, so big. The common area is the best part of this hostel.. The kitchen is massive and is a big room combined with the common area which people drink and just chill. You can easily get involved in all the fun and lots of drinking games. Wifi is good, tv's with music, movies to watch, DJ decks if your into that kind of thing. Really close to the beach, a bit out of main city but easy to get there by metro. Nice area. Big super market real close! Staff are SUPPER FRIENDLY! Really fun, clean, cool hostel. Defiantely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATEMUZZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    99
    27
    18
    16
See reviews for
7
15
141
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I get that this is very much a party hostel at the peak of the summer season, but just.... wow.

We arrived pretty late, and the staff were very friendly and helpful, if not a little frazzled from the party going on in the entire rest of the hostel. You could smell the alcohol coming form the next room. I'd expected it to be a party hostel, but I did not expect three dozen people blocking the path from the stairs to our room, sitting in the hallway. In addition to having to leap over people, the floor was very sticky from the amount of alcohol that had been spilled.

In general, the hostel is brand new and the facilities were great: the bathrooms were (surprisingly) clean, there was a big kitchen, common area with beanbags and TV, a balcony/lounge area upstairs, and there was a good free breakfast every morning. It's a ten minutes walk to the metro station or the beach. And I do believe the staff were trying really hard to keep the place looking good.

On the other hand, the other guests were so loud, drunk, and obnoxious that I would never want to stay again. We were there for four nights, and it was three too many. Like I said, the floors were sticky with sloshed alcohol, people would come in yelling at each other at 3 in the morning, the girls' showers were always a mess (stuff strewn everywhere from people getting ready for the night), and the balcony was constantly covered with dirty towels, cigarette butts, and empty bottles and cans.

I've stayed at other party hostels before and they've been fine, but this hostel was in a league of its own.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amistat C, Recepcionista at Amistat Beach Hostel Barcelona, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hello and thank you so much for taking your time to leave us your opinion!
I'm one of the receptionists of Amistat, and It's true that sometimes, depdending on the people, the night is quite active. On the other hand, almost of he nights are really quiet, because we have Night Tours going on every night and normally they take out all the people who wants to party.
We are really sorry that you had this feeling here, as you said, we try to do our best.
Thank you and hope to see you again =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Loved my stay here. Nice and new hostel. 2 blocks or so from the beach and the metro. It is like a frat house though so be aware. The staff is helpful. My only suggestions for this place would be to soundproof the common area as to not disturb the neighbors and to start a book exchange. Would be easy for the exchange they already have a few in lost and found.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornwell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Amistat is a hostel 3 blocks from the Beach. The lobby, chill out room and tv room are quite comfortable. It is convenient if you want to be close to the beach but it is far from Las Ramblas. The staff are not totally engaged. They do their job in a mechanical way. They could be friendlier and lively and make you feel right at home. The rooms are VERY small. They only have 2 computers available for the whole hostal. The bathrooms are good, hot water, but facilities need to be cleaned a few times a day and not just once a day. They have night activities but if you want to go these you have to pay. The hostal is good but could be better.

Room Tip: 2 blocks away there is a place where you can rent bikes. Get a bike and go explore the whole beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DecoWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Staff was excellent, as well as location. Met some great travelers as well. Always clean and roomates were respectful...Poble Nou is a great area off the beaten tourist path. Awesome Paella just minutes away. You must rent a bike from green bikes for 24 hours, it was a great way to get around the very bike friendly city and cruise along the beachfront.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed there for 1 night, returning a week later for 5 more nights in late June, and had booked in to a 6 bed room. I am very pleased that I chose Amistat Beach hostel. Poble Nou is a pleasant area away from the main touristic part of Barcelona yet still within easy reach of all the main tourist sites. The hostel was easy to find and the location was excellent being only a short distance from Poble Nou Metro station, local shops, restaurants and market. Barcelona beach was only 5 minutes walk away and makes a pleasant route to walk into the city centre which I did several times.
On arrival at the hostel I was warmly and professionally greeted by Elena who was on reception at the time and she created a very good first impression. The 6 bed-room was basic and functional but without views. However it was clean and had a large locker for my belongings with electronic key. Bedside reading lamp and electric sockets were very useful. There was free wifi and access to computers in the lounge for those who needed them. Showers and toilets always seemed clean so they must have been regularly cleaned throughout the day.
Breakfast was officially available from 8am but I always found it ready before that. All the staff I met were very friendly and helpful and spoke perfect english and were keen to help with directions and recommendations of what to do. I tried both the free walking and cycle tour they promote and highly recommend both.
On arrival (I arrived at 9am for my second stay) and on departure I was able to leave my bags all day in the luggage store.
This hostel is very new as it only opened this year but it is the friendliness of the staff that made it such a pleasant place to stay. My only reason that I would not recommend it is that I might want to stay there again and would not like to find it full.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathanmark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is definitely the best hostel I've stayed at during my Europe trip. It's a 2 minute walk from the beach, 5 minutes from the metro (only another 10 to the city center - but beware of pickpockets on the metro)
Free breakfast, free wifi that works in the rooms too (though it is temperamental)
Big storage lockers in the room
EXTREMELY clean, and the bean bag chairs in the lobby are the comfiest things in the world.

The staff was the best I've encountered, they go above and beyond to help, definitely do the walking tour and the pub crawl they offer as well

Aaaand last but not least, there is a pizzeria attached to the hostels building and it has the best pizza I've ever had. We ate there 3 nights in a row. But if pizza isn't your thing there's also a grocery store around the other corner.

HIGHLY recommended. :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktskinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
Eixample
Black Swan Hostel
Black Swan Hostel
#19 of 728 in Barcelona
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
INOUT Hostel
#415 of 728 in Barcelona
155 reviews
Gracia
Jam Hostel Barcelona
Jam Hostel Barcelona
#28 of 728 in Barcelona
161 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#113 of 308 in Barcelona
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amistat Beach Hostel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amistat Beach Hostel Barcelona

Property: Amistat Beach Hostel Barcelona
Address: Calle Amistat 21-23, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 728 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Amistat Beach Hostel Barcelona 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amistat Beach Hostel Barcelona has new and modern facilities, spacious common areas equipped with the best facilities as free WIFI throughout the building. Amistat Beach Hostel has 149 beds in rooms from 2 to 12 beds. Our goal is not to be a bed, we want you to live an unforgettable experience !!! Besides being located a few meters from the best beaches of Barcelona and near the city center, we offer many activities like paddle surfing, free walking tours, salsa lessons..etc, many of them for FREE, that will help your pocket! And beacuse always we are thinking of our guests .... Amistat Beach Hostel also offers FREE PASTA! Do not hesitate, book with us and enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amistat Beach Hostel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amistat Beach Hostel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing