We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Catalonia Gran Via BCN
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Granvia(Barcelona)
US$277
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Musik Boutique Hotel(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$273
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$367
US$290
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Praktik Garden(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$904
US$361
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$242
US$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Praktik Bakery(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Arts Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$524
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$373
US$325
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,011)
Filter reviews
1,011 results
Traveller rating
555
372
59
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
555
372
59
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel vuelingthemed hotelairport themegreat locationurgell metro stationaerobus stoprecommend this hotelplaca catalunyasuperior roomwelcome drinkwould stay here againthe breakfast areapleasant staycentral locationcafes and restaurantsten minute walkexcellent hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 1,011 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Reception staff are very, very welcoming, efficient and spoke fluent english.
All aspects of the hotel were explained upon check in.
We also request to see other rooms during check in, which was no problem to hotel staff.

The hotel lobby is themed on an A320 aircraft, with each guest room being named after a destination that Vueling Airlines flys to.

The restaurant on Level 0, resembles an aircraft cabin area, with the cockpit also being part of the restaurant.

Welcome drink voucher is presented upon arrival. Reception make a follow up phone call to your room, approx 15 minutes after you enter your room, to check everything is to your satisfaction.
Both the drink and phone call are a lovely personal touch that many big hotel chains don't do.

Wifi is complementary and quiet fast, however does require login every time your device locks or goes to sleep. This is very annoying, as the password is required to be input, each time you need to use the internet.

Room 807 (named Vien) is a standard room, with a wall view. The decor of the room far out weighs the lack of view. Above the bed is a beautiful wall to wall picture of the Schönbrunn Palace in Vienna, Austria.
Each room has a picture of a important landmark in the country that the room is named after.

Rooms are very clean. A standard room consists of refrigerator, safe, 2 x king single beds with 2 pillows that are each half the length of an adult, self controlled air conditioner, small bench and chair, 140cm Grundig LCD television (that supports USB devices to watch video files), very thirsty and luxurious bath towels, separate shower (with twin shower heads) and toilet areas, a toiletry kit which is refilled daily and not to forget the day bed (sofa).

Sleep quality was good, but the large pillows took some getting used to.

For the first time in 4 weeks of traveling around the UK and Europe, I have slept in until 10.00am and have not been awoken, by cleaners crashing and banging vacuums and carts into walls, as this was a daily occurrence at 8.30am at Ibis Hotels in other countries.
After cleaning, each room has a secondary inspection to ensure the room is cleaned to a strict standard.

The hotel has a outdoor pool, indoor gym with various workout equipment.

Reception staff assisted us, by providing maps and directions on how to get to various hard to reach tourist destinations using the Metro.
In fact, all staff (including cleaners) are very polite and happy to assist in any way possible. You don't always get this service in big name hotels.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Catalunya Plaza. It is also a 1 minute from Urgell metro station and about 4 minutes to Universitat metro station.
Located within a 5 minute walk are a number of small supermarkets, bakeries, bars/ cafe, pharmacy, animal doctor, resturants.
Espanya Arena is also a 5 minute metro journey, which is a shopping centre with large supermarket and speciality stores and resturants.
Go to the top of the Arena via the internal escalators (external lift has a €1 charge attached) for a fantastic view if Barcelona and Plaza Congresso.

If arriving into Barcelona (BCN) airport, catch the blue Aerobus A1 or A2 (€5.90 per person) and exit the bus at the second bus stop called Urgell.
As you exit the bus, continue walking in the same direction as the bus, for a further 5 minutes (1.25 city blocks) Veuling Hotel will be on the right.

Perfect hotel, novelty theme, great location and friendly staff.
Thoroughly recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Standard internal room is very quiet with no direct neighbors
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NeilC2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin_Cruz, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Gran Via BCN, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Mr. Neil,

We are really glad to read your comments about the hotel and thank you for sharing it with other travelers. We could appreciate, and not only on your Tripadvisor´s profile, that you are a great critic. We are still amazed with your accurate description and your comments detailed!

As our aim is to offer our best service to our guests, your review encourage us to keep on working with enthusiasm every day.

We hope to welcome you again in the Hotel Vueling by HC very soon!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great 2 night stay. Three of us. Room very comfy. Excellent staff. Very courteous and very helpful. Great little bar and restaurant. Good value. Location perfect for stay in Barcelona.
Short distances to many sites and very close to great subway system and buses.Would defintely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin_Cruz, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Gran Via BCN, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Sam,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy to know that you had a good time in the hotel. And I would like to thank you, as well, very much on behalf of all the team that make up the hotel for your kind words!

We hope to see you back very soon!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Unique hotel operated by Vueling Airlines and completely "dressed" to feel like flying. The bar is designed like an airplane, rooms have names of different flight destinations of Vueling Airlines, and many other small things will make you feel you are still on the plane. But don't worry, there is space enough :) (although just like any other town hotel operating in older block houses, so do not expect the feeling of a hotel built to be a hotel).
Otherwise an usual 4 star hotel, with very modern ammenities and modern design. Location is fantastic, just a few minutes from Plaza Catalunya and Rambla on the Grand Via. Sound insulation is extremely good, although it is on one of the most crowded Barcelona boulevards, no noise enters the room if windows are closed.
Breakfast is great, staff is as helpful as the stewards on an airplane. Good for business, but also for a quck BCN escape.
Forget the swimming pool, it is just to have a photo of it on the homepage of the hotel, otherwise you will not swim in it, as the size is just a little bigger than a jacuzzi. This is a city hotel, not a spa.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible, but basically there is no difference, except you want to sleep in a room named by a specific city.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TF_Laszlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin_Cruz, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Gran Via BCN, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review of the hotel, we are proud of our unique design and we are happy to know that you enjoyed it. We really appreciate your comment about the breakfast and the hotel staff.

As you said on your comment this is a city hotel, and it is very difficult to fit a bigger swimming pool in the hotel. If you come back to Barcelona and you are interested in a Spa we can offer Spa services on other hotels of our chain Catalonia Hotels & Resorts.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a two night stay in the Junior Suite. The bedroom was large with a connected lounge section, including two TVs and Nespresso machine (restocked daily). Decor and furnishings were modern and complete.

Good: Our room was quiet despite being on the first level. The staff were courteous and helpful. Location-wise, the hotel is within a 5min walk from the underground metro station, and has numerous bus lines including the all important direct airport bus service "Aerobus". The Aerobus drop-off point is on the same street only 200m from the front entrance and is definitely a viable option for travel for those with luggage (we did it!). The hotel also offers bicycles for rent, although we did not try (we found Barcelona's public transport to be convenient and efficient).

Bad: We were mostly happy with all aspects of our stay. The only minor quibble to raise was the lack of sound proofing between toilet and bedroom (the modern glass doors do diddly-squat in terms of stopping your significant other from hearing everything...)

Would we come back: Definitely yes - we certainly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to all travelling to Barcelona.

Tip: Book via the hotel's website for free bottled water and complementary welcome drinks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An0nym0us0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin_Cruz, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Gran Via BCN, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time in writing your kind review, and sharing with other travelers your experience with us. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and our service, and that you definitely would come back.

We are looking forward to welcome again in the Hotel Vueling BCN by HC!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay, nice hotel with excellent service. Breakfast was not included in our reservation but we purchase it everyday, except one day and we regretted it! Good value for what you pay: fresh OJ, fresh fruit & baked goods, etc.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin_Cruz, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Gran Via BCN, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Lina,

Thank you for your great review about the our service and specially about the breakfast.

We hope you think about us the next time you come back to Barcelona!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews