We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Catalonia Gran Via BCN
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
B-Hotel(Barcelona)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel Central(Barcelona)
US$522
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Expo Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expo Barcelona
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
EuroPark Hotel(Barcelona)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,022)
Filter reviews
1,023 results
Traveller rating
561
374
59
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
561
374
59
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel vuelingthemed hotelairport themegreat locationurgell metro stationaerobus stoprecommend this hotelplaca catalunyasuperior roomwelcome drinkwould stay here againthe breakfast areapleasant staycentral locationcafes and restaurantsten minute walkexcellent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
409 - 414 of 1,023 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Vueling for 3 nights and loved this quirky hotel. Its designed like the airline with the colours and each room is named a different city from around the world. The hotel is just around the corner from the start of Le Rambles which was great! Highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again!

Thank chris_melf
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joaquin_Cruz, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Gran Via BCN, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Chris,

We do appreciate your comments and thank you for sharing them with other travelers. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us, especially about our design and our strategic location.

We hope to see soon the next time you come back to Barcelona!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days. The reception was extremely helpfull. The hotel is renovated and rooms are quite clean and well designed. It is central and easily reachable via walking from city centre. There is a very nice cafe next to it where we had all our breakfasts and cerveceria catalana which is our favorite tapas rest is also 10-15 min away. Quite nice experience- would recommend

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pinar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin_Cruz, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Gran Via BCN, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time in writing this review and also we would like to thank you for your kind words to our staff.

The next time you come back to Barcelona I suggest you to try our delicious tapas and our fantastic breakfast buffet. I am sure you will enjoy them as much as you enjoyed your stay in the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just came back this morning from BCN and we fell in love with this city.
I booked this hotel after reading many wonderful reviews so I knew it wouldn't let me down.
We booked 2 rooms:
1. Junior Suite, for myself, husband, 5y and baby (I know Europe's rooms are traditionally small so I wanted to make sure we have enough room) - I was right - very spacious, room for everything including dancing :) There is no bath, only shower. The only downside is that this room comes with no view at all and was on the ground floor
2. Premium room for my mom and brother who insisted of sharing a room so again, I wanted to give them as much space as possible. This room came with a great view of the city as it was on the 7th floor, but they didn't like how small the shower and the toilets were. But we all agree the room is comfortable and the decoration in the entire hotel is just great.
Oh, this reminds me - This is a brand new hotel and it has a brilliant design. Everything is modern, new and I felt like I would be happy to copy almost each and every element to my own house.
The location is very good. 150 m from Urgell Metro station. if you go for a walk from behind the hotel you will find a quiet and very nice neighborhood with many bakeries and some coffee places. And why am I mentioning it? since the down side of our stay was the breakfast. It is ok, but definitely lacking some elements that will make it worthwhile. No vegetable, no fish. it costs 16 Euros per person and I think that you can get something better outside.
But I definitely recommend this hotel for everyone
Enjoy

Room Tip: 7th floor has a great view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asajazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin_Cruz, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Gran Via BCN, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment about our hotel with other travelers. We are really glad that you liked the design of our rooms and that you found them comfortable as well.

In relation of the breakfast, I regret that it did not meet your expectations. Your opinion is very valuable and we take note of your suggestions.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Really nice hotel. Very modern and clean, but maybe a little sterile for my liking... i.e a bit too stark, bare, lack of soft furnishings etc, but if that's your bag then you'll love it! Excellent location and really good value for money. Nice touches in the rooms with chocolates, free water etc etc. Lovely area out the back with a pool and sunbathing area where you can smoke. The pool is very small, so you won't be able to do laps but perfect for a dip. Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin_Cruz, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Gran Via BCN, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Scott,

Thank you very much for spending your time to share your comments with other travelers. We are really glad to know that you had a great stay with us.

Next time you visit us I suggest you to try our Terrace rooms where you can smoke and have a sunbath on your own with incredible views of Barcelona.

We look forward to see you very soon again!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Reception staff are very, very welcoming, efficient and spoke fluent english.
All aspects of the hotel were explained upon check in.
We also request to see other rooms during check in, which was no problem to hotel staff.

The hotel lobby is themed on an A320 aircraft, with each guest room being named after a destination that Vueling Airlines flys to.

The restaurant on Level 0, resembles an aircraft cabin area, with the cockpit also being part of the restaurant.

Welcome drink voucher is presented upon arrival. Reception make a follow up phone call to your room, approx 15 minutes after you enter your room, to check everything is to your satisfaction.
Both the drink and phone call are a lovely personal touch that many big hotel chains don't do.

Wifi is complementary and quiet fast, however does require login every time your device locks or goes to sleep. This is very annoying, as the password is required to be input, each time you need to use the internet.

Room 807 (named Vien) is a standard room, with a wall view. The decor of the room far out weighs the lack of view. Above the bed is a beautiful wall to wall picture of the Schönbrunn Palace in Vienna, Austria.
Each room has a picture of a important landmark in the country that the room is named after.

Rooms are very clean. A standard room consists of refrigerator, safe, 2 x king single beds with 2 pillows that are each half the length of an adult, self controlled air conditioner, small bench and chair, 140cm Grundig LCD television (that supports USB devices to watch video files), very thirsty and luxurious bath towels, separate shower (with twin shower heads) and toilet areas, a toiletry kit which is refilled daily and not to forget the day bed (sofa).

Sleep quality was good, but the large pillows took some getting used to.

For the first time in 4 weeks of traveling around the UK and Europe, I have slept in until 10.00am and have not been awoken, by cleaners crashing and banging vacuums and carts into walls, as this was a daily occurrence at 8.30am at Ibis Hotels in other countries.
After cleaning, each room has a secondary inspection to ensure the room is cleaned to a strict standard.

The hotel has a outdoor pool, indoor gym with various workout equipment.

Reception staff assisted us, by providing maps and directions on how to get to various hard to reach tourist destinations using the Metro.
In fact, all staff (including cleaners) are very polite and happy to assist in any way possible. You don't always get this service in big name hotels.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Catalunya Plaza. It is also a 1 minute from Urgell metro station and about 4 minutes to Universitat metro station.
Located within a 5 minute walk are a number of small supermarkets, bakeries, bars/ cafe, pharmacy, animal doctor, resturants.
Espanya Arena is also a 5 minute metro journey, which is a shopping centre with large supermarket and speciality stores and resturants.
Go to the top of the Arena via the internal escalators (external lift has a €1 charge attached) for a fantastic view if Barcelona and Plaza Congresso.

If arriving into Barcelona (BCN) airport, catch the blue Aerobus A1 or A2 (€5.90 per person) and exit the bus at the second bus stop called Urgell.
As you exit the bus, continue walking in the same direction as the bus, for a further 5 minutes (1.25 city blocks) Veuling Hotel will be on the right.

Perfect hotel, novelty theme, great location and friendly staff.
Thoroughly recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Standard internal room is very quiet with no direct neighbors
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NeilC2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joaquin_Cruz, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Gran Via BCN, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Mr. Neil,

We are really glad to read your comments about the hotel and thank you for sharing it with other travelers. We could appreciate, and not only on your Tripadvisor´s profile, that you are a great critic. We are still amazed with your accurate description and your comments detailed!

As our aim is to offer our best service to our guests, your review encourage us to keep on working with enthusiasm every day.

We hope to welcome you again in the Hotel Vueling by HC very soon!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews