We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Ranked #38 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredibly bad.”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Incredibly bad service. My brother and I waited around for an hour and a half in their lobby whilst they checked to see if our two single bedroom apartment was ready and had to keep hassling them to follow up whether or not it was done. Horrible room service also. Had asked for a room with a balcony/view but never received one also. All in all, there are 100x better apartments in and around the city and out there for the same price with better service.

Room Tip: Don't stay here ever. Best advice I could give anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,
in our hotel to give a very good service it is the most important thing for us, and we always try to do more for our guest, but the check in time it is at 2 pm, if we have rooms ready before, of course we give before, because we always try to do our best, but check in time it is a 2 pm, and you do not receveid your rooms later than this hour. On the other hand we have some suplements for a rooms with a view, with a terrace... if you do not book this kind of rooms and we do not have it available, again we can not do anymore. Finally in the other hotels around us, check in time it is again 2 pm.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    233
    40
    12
    3
See reviews for
227
434
45
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was a lovely clean hotel. Room was good and bathroom nice. Lots of space. Clean. Ac very good. Location wonderful - minutes from the main areas. Had a wonderful time. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that. There are lots of little cafes to choose from outside anyway. The pool looked good for a refreshing afternoon splash. It was a bit cold for swimming so our bad luck!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shalagh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear customer,

It is very pleasing to all the team of Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gràcia have gotten that their stay has been completely to your liking. The satisfaction of our customers is the largest of our goals.
Thank you for trusting us.

A greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canet-Plage, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

New hotel in a great central location. Facilities & staff were great & accommodating. The room was very comfortable & quiet. We had a beautiful terrace with sun beds on level 7 in a duplex apartment style room it was amazing! Very comfy bed, parking & free wifi! Definitely will stay here again. Unfortunately we didn't wake up in time for breakfast though, the bed was too good!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Libby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear customer,

It is very pleasing to all the team of Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gràcia have gotten that their stay has been completely to your liking. The satisfaction of our customers is the largest of our goals.
Thank you for trusting us.

A greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

recently returned from this hotel, found it by reading other reviews on trip advisor. everything they said was true location fab minutes from Las Ramblas and other must see attractions.
Got the airport bus to Placa de Catalunya it is 5.90euros when you leave airport arrivals turn left and walk to airport buses don't be tempted to jump a taxi which will cost you at least 25 euros.
The hotel extremely clean, we had a superior room on the front of hotel, lovely room but not overly large. Great showers and bed though. Would stay again but maybe just bed rather than bed and breakfast as when we walked out in a morning we fancied all the little cafes and bars that did breakfast. That's just personal choice.

Room Tip: rooms at back quieter but we loved the hustle and bustle of the boulevard below us in our room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppyart2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest,

It's really gratifying for us to have covered their expectations.
The entire team of Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gràcia put effort in it, so I thank you very sincerely for your pleasant words.

A cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

All the other reviews are right...hotel is beautiful and with lots of charm, yet very modern as well. I stayed here a couple of days for work. I initially wanted to book Hotel Bagues, with is in the Ramblas and an excellent hotel, but it was sold out, so I booked this one. I was extremely surprised.
I had a gorgeous room with a balcony and the street was surprisingly quiet. You only have to walk one block and you are in the middle of it all as well...location is great as well, with a bit quieter setting. The breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: You gotta have a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvira E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your nice comments about our hotel, I will share with all of my team members, they will be more than pleasend to know it.
If you will come back to Barcelona, please do not heasite to contact with me.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a well situated hotel and relatively quiet. Breakfast is great.
But, no shampoo, no conditioner, no body lotion, no shower caps, no skirt hangers, nothing for women. Of course there is a shoe shine kit, a razor blade, a straight comb,lots of soap and other things that men will appreciate. When I asked at the desk (since the 9/11 airplane tiny containers embargo I carry as little as possible) for shampoo, etc, they suggested I go buy some - for the 2 days I would be there.
So take this into consideration when booking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maryandlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your time. Getting feedbacks make us improve and move on and that's what we like. Regarding you request I would like to mention that there is already hairdryer and mirror increase set up in the rooms, I'm very sorry if it wasn't enough by the time you stayed with us. Fortunately we could make it better. Actually, in a short period of time we will be having Ritual amenities to sell. In addition, we are having travel kit compose of body milk, gel and shampoo. I hope you appreciate our effort, and I hope to see you back soon.

Very Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel, in the best location, so central. The hotel is new, so everything is in as new condition. Not the cheapest, but is the best ever cheap?
The only slight negative for me was that a triple room is a double room with an extra bed squeezed in, so not really triple rooms. When booking in I noticed you can book a double room(two persons) and pay €38 per night for an extra bed to be put in the room, I'll do that next time.
The breakfast is Fab, but at €19 pp that's pricey, there are Starbucks, coffee shops etc within a short stroll.

Great hotel, would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel, it is helps us to improve our service.
If you want to come back to Barcelona, please do not heasite to contact with me for make your reservation.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
869 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#25 of 513 in Barcelona
683 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
628 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#30 of 513 in Barcelona
185 reviews
Eixample
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
#36 of 513 in Barcelona
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia

Property: Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 644, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catalonia Passeig De Gracia Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing