We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!!!! Perfect for a city break!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Ranked #34 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!! Perfect for a city break!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Simple hotel, tastefully decorated! Everything you could want from a city break!! Staff were helpful and polite!

Very centrally situated, about a 10minute walk from la rambla and casa batllo! Perfect for exploring Barcelona!

We was on the 3rd floor and had a front facing room and couldn't hear the traffic, every now and then we could hear the metro but it didn't disturb us!! The curtains were heavy so blocked out any sunlight, had good air conditioning! Very cosy and amazing bathroom (would have preferred a more powerful shower head-but thats my preference!). There was a lot of choice at breakfast from cooked breakfasts, to pastries and breads and cheeses and fruits!!! the pool area was sufficient for a city break we didn't really use it to be honest. Free wifi was a bonus :)

Would highly recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    211
    37
    12
    3
See reviews for
204
412
41
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is only a few minutes from la rambla and on the main shopping strip. Staff very helpful and although breakfast isn't included lots of places close by. Rooms are big by European standards and we have a pool and gym. Almost unheard of. Our 1st floor room has a terrace leading to the pool. Very pleasant. Also have a coffee machine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rb66Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,
we are so pleased with your comments. Thank you very much for the time you spent with. My staff and me are so proud to have satisfied your expectatives in the Hotel. We hope you visit the city soon, and our Hotel also.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and were given a room with a ground floor terrace. The hotel is immaculate and very clean and well designed. The room was spacious and had excellent soundproofing and blackout curtains, you wouldn't know you were in the centre of Barcelona! The pool and outside lounging area was great and the fitness room was great. It is in a great location to access the tourist areas quickly but without it being too busy near the hotel. A first class experience!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Hotel for your comments. These type of comments allow us to improve our service every day.We hope to see you soon at the Catalonia Passeig de Gràcia.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed three nights in a superb double room. The room had beautiful furnishings and decor, a very comfortable bed, it was spacious, clean and well serviced and had everything we needed. The Hotel was also beautifully decorated and everything was of a really high standard. We spend some time each day in the pool which was a great way to 'chill' after lots of sightseeing. The pool area was spacious and inviting. The location of the hotel is superb. Very close to the centre, but just far enough away to be a quiet retreat. Probably 4/5 mins walk to the Ramblas. We ate out as we wanted to see as much of the city as we could. We did use the bar! Nice area and it was the same high standard, and the prices were quite reasonable. All the staff we met were professional, helpful and friendly. A lovely place to stay. We are planning our return in the Spring.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

First at all thank you very much for the time you spend written your comments about our hotel, it is helps us to improve our service.
I am very happy to know that your stayed with us was fine and I hoppe to see you again very soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a double room for three nights, and slept like babies in the comfortable bed and room climate.
Totally loved the decor and choice of colors in the room and hotel in general. We spoke about that every day :-)
The hotel has a fairly well equipped gym with air conditioning. Pool area is very inviting as well.
We did not try the food, so can't comment on that.
Staff is friendly and helpful - we absolutely recommend this hotel because of location and all of the above.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SteveogEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for all the time you spent writting your comments. We are more than pleased with and we would like to see you soon in the city and of course welcoming you in Catalonia Passeig de Gràcia.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

On our last trip to Barcelona a few years ago, we stayed further up near the Padrera, so this time I wanted to be closer to the action. While searching trusty TA for a hotel, I came upon this gem, which, a few months ago, was much more highly rated, perhaps because it had just come back out on the market after a total reno. I can never quite understand the ranking system here, but the pictures looked lovely, the location on the Grand Via was ideal and the negative comments were picky and petty, so I decided to go for it. The airport bus is, as they say, two short blocks away on Placa Catalunya, so we easily wheeled our suitcases right over to the hotel. Our requested room...high floor overlooking the Grand Via, was ready and absolutely gorgeous! The housekeeper was only too happy to provide us with extra towels, pillows and amenities...all we had to do was ask nicely. I'll never understand why guests would rather gripe about such matters rather than just politely ask for what they want. Off we went to explore one of our favorite cities.
Upon our return we discovered that our AC was not working well...it wasn't simply a matter of everything electrical shutting down when you leave your room and remove the room key from the slot. A service fellow came up and determined that there was probably something wrong with the thermostat, and claimed to have adjusted it, but to no avail.
The next morning, began a rather strange exchange with the front desk over whether or not we should change rooms, under the circumstances. First, we were told that he could probably get the AC fixed that day...Then, we were offered a different room, but when I asked to please see it first, the fellow at the desk seemed offended and asked me why I didn't 'trust' him? When I insisted, he sent the young lady at his side to show us, and, what do you know, the room was much smaller. Another room, on a lower level, with a liitle balcony, while also nice, was still smaller.
Since I had already fallen in love with the original layout and space, we decided to stay put rather than repack and unpack and hope for thr repairs to work. We had timed tickets for Sagrada Familia and wanted to get going. Upon our return, it seemed that repairs were not going to happen during our visit. There was a big holiday the next day, so the city was shutting down for a few days, to prepare and then, of course, to recuperate, so nobody could be hired to fix it. The guy at the desk offered to move us again, but this time, he offered an upgrade for a mere 90 extra Euros a night! He seemed to feel we were unreasonable when we balked at this huge increase. We decided to stay put and not let this spoil our stay. We opened the window...it wasn't too noisy, being a holiday, there was hardly any traffic.
Here's where I get annoyed. The Catalonia chain has several upscale hotels in Barcelona. This one seemed half full at the time...the desk guy so informed me. So why, in heaven's name, would it be policy to insist that an inconvenienced guest have to pony up $150 EXTRA for an air conditioned room of the same level booked, in June, when you have extra better rooms and it's your own fault that you don't have adequate staff to handle repairs over several days? I could see that the clerk didn't have the training to deal with this situation in a manner matching the elegance of the decor. While I was waiting, he asked another couple who were checking out if they had enjoyed their stay and when they said yes, he suggested they write a positive review in TA!
This is NOT DONE, folks at Catalonia Hotels!
I am still giving this hotel a five star rating though, because the place is lovely and well located, and I feel that these kinds of issues can easily be remedied with a little more staff training or policy improvement. The staff we encountered were, for the most part, rather young and inexperienced, although quite polite. When we asked for guidance, they had to search on maps for rather major attractions or consult the computer for things they should actually know about the city. They couldnt find the location of a venue that turned out to be a few blocks away, had no idea what the closing days of most attractions were, etc. Perhaps they were filling in for the regular staff because of the holiday.
If you want to BE first rate and not just LOOK first rate, the devil is in the details. Friends of ours, booked further down, off the Placa Catalunya, in a nice but not so elegant hotel, also had room difficulties...and they were upgraded and offered free breakfasts without even asking.
That's service!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tgtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear customer,

We greatly appreciate your comments, we regret not having covered your expectations since we work actively to achieve this.

We hope to have the opportunity to see him and thus correct the mistakes.

A greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Having stayed for 4 nights from 24/7/14, i just wanted to say what a wonderful stay i had. The hotel is beauitfully decorated and is in a prime location for the city centre. The staff are friendly and very helpful, advising us on the best restaurants and beaches to go to. We were in room 510, very stylish in decoration and a good size, with all amenities over looking the pool. We had breakfast in the hotel only once but it was superb with great variety and all you could wish for. The pool area was small but clean. Would definately recommend and would stay again.
Free Wi-Fi was a added bonus

Room Tip: Chose a room overlooking the pool on a higher level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael T, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments in Trip Advisor about Catalonia Passeig de Gràcia hotel. We are more than pleased to meet your expectations. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#11 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#24 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#5 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Eixample
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
#32 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#18 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia

Property: Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 644, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catalonia Passeig De Gracia Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing