We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Umma Barcelona Bed & Breakfast Boutique
Ranked #49 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Umma and would like to say what an excellent B & B this is.
Excellent rooms, excellent breakfast, even though it is continental it is more than adequate and kept us going until the afternoon, location is really good, around the corner from the start of the rambles we are both in our 60s and walked to and from the end of the rambles every day,
Daiana the owner is very friendly and always there to see that you are ok and to offer any advice
The Aerobus from the airport is a good way to get to the Umma and then take a taxi or you can walk it in 20 min, we got a taxi from the airport when we arrived which was 31 euros, but I wouldn't do this again if we went back
Stay at the Umma you wont regret it.

Room Tip: We had room 7 which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manchester12345117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked one night but stayed for two; the room was well-done with a very modern bathroom and extremely tasteful interior design/furnishings throughout.
This B and B was very centrally located, close to shopping and major attractions for us.
The owner was very helpful and well-informed as to nearby amenities and restaurants.
We felt very much at home here and wish we could have stayed a bit longer. As a final note, we would recommend this solely on price point and value, however so much more than that was delivered. A real treat for sure! If you get a chance, stay here.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony, which was a nice bonus. Mini bar/refrigerator in the hall and breakfast was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frederic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't call this boutique by any stretch of the imagination but clean & relatively central it is. Our room was incredibly noisy with the traffic outside roaring past the window. The room was very large & bed comfortable.

Lady owner very helpful indeed. There is no natural light in the public areas which makes it ratter depressing & there is an odd smell as you come in like old fruit. It is not bad just not great.

The one delight is the old fashioned lift! It is a real gem!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank perrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

First time in Barcelona and found Umma to be excellent value for a central city location.....would recommend it without hesitation! Owner and staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel was in an excellent situation close to the main facilities, attractions and public transport.....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A gem in Barcelona! Very new and clean rooms and Daiana works hard to make your trip easy by making calls, answering questions. She will make calls for you, get information, restaurant recommendations and all with a smile. She's almost always there to help. Access to the kitchen, free internet and breakfast are really great perks!

It is a bit of a walk to a metro stop, but there are plenty of buses and cabs on Avenida Diagonal right in front. Bottom line... great place to stay when in Barcelona!

Room Tip: The rooms in the front have balconies, which is very cool, except that the street can be loud throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was our first trip to Barcelona but from before we arrived Daiana contacted us and made every effort to make us feel welcome by checking our estimated arrival times and making sure we had all the info and address details we requried. She even gave us advice on various methods of transport from the airport.
On arrival we were given a map and lots of helpful advice on the city, sights, ow to avoid queue's and travel and getting the most out of the metro. Daiana booked us tickets to some of the sights of Barcelona saving us hours in queuing time as we went straght to the front at Sagrada Familia and also helped us with restaurant bookings at a Flamenco show.
The room was spotless, and the bed enormous and very comfortable. We were lucky too as we had a balcony at the front of the property.
The access to the building and rooms is not with a key but to a personalised code which saves you worrying about having to carry a key around with you.
Breakfast is continental, and although it's great to have it included I actually would have gone without but not because there was anything wrong with it, just because there are so many delicious looking bakeries close by which smell devine as you walk by, I was too full each day to take advantage of the freshly baked goodies they had on offer.
The location is really good too as it's a 5 - 10 minute walk from a metro station so just away from the noisey Ramblas but close enought to get everywhere you want to go easily.
I think compared to some of the hotel pric es in the city this was very good value for money and I would stay again if I were to visit Barcelona as, as per the title of my review, we couldn't fault anything, We knew what we had booked and it therefore exceeded expectations.
Thankyou! :)

Room Tip: We had number 2 and this was at the front with a balcony but it is on a main road so obviously there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I traveled to Barcelona for the first time in early August. I can't rave enough about this B&B. I spent a lot of time researching where to stay - looking for something afforable, modern, and in the right area. Save yourself a lot of time, and just book with Umma. Here is why.

1. Location. The location could not be better. You are a 10 minute walk from the metro, you are a 3 minute walk from wonderful restaurants, shops, history, and it's SAFE. We were 2 young women travelling alone and did not feel unsafe once - and we were walking home from dinners at 1am.
2. Cleanliness. The rooms and the B&B were so clean and well looked after.
3. Staff. Daiana was SO helpful. We had an issue with our bank cards and she took the time to help us make calls, offer advice and it felt like the 3 of us were together in this issue.
4. THE BREAKFAST!! Fresh - baked there - croissants, along with fresh fruit, juice, cereal, tea & coffee.
5. Value. It's such good value for your money. You can't beat this location!

I will be back to Barcelona, and I will be back to Umma. I would recommend this B&B to everyone with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandybeach123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Brun Barcelona B&B
Brun Barcelona B&B
#113 of 308 in Barcelona
48 reviews
Blanc Guesthouse
#39 of 308 in Barcelona
374 reviews
Eixample
Mihlton Barcelona
Mihlton Barcelona
#36 of 308 in Barcelona
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
La Casa Gran B&B
La Casa Gran B&B
#28 of 308 in Barcelona
218 reviews
Eixample
Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Boutique Bed and Breakfast
#145 of 308 in Barcelona
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umma Barcelona Bed & Breakfast Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umma Barcelona Bed & Breakfast Boutique

Address: Avenida Diagonal 433 BIS, Principal 1, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £44 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umma Barcelona Bed & Breakfast Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Umma Barcelona Bed&Breakfast Boutique we have a single priority: we want you to feel at home and that’s why we shall be delighted to meet you and to provide a customized service adjusted to your personal needs and wishes – and this is really something that only smaller places can offer.Our premises within this modernist 19th Century building combine avant-garde design with cutting-edge technological features, so that you’ll be able to admire the most gorgeous Catalonian architecture while enjoying superb comfort.Lying in the midst of downtown Barcelona on one of its bustling shopping streets, the Umma Barcelona allows you to leisurely walk to most of the main sites that are worth a visit. Whether you’re on a business trip or just touring the city, the Umma Barcelona is always close to your destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Umma Barcelona Bed & Breakfast Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umma Barcelona Bed & Breakfast Boutique Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing