We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect City Break Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
Ranked #36 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect City Break Hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay in Barcelona at the H10 Urquinaona Plaza hotel. It was a fantastic stay and we will definitely be returning there again. Everything about the hotel was spot on. I'm struggling to think of anything that could be improved upon.

The staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. We had an early flight so got there at 11am. They took our luggage and went to the rooftop pool (plunge pool) until we could check in at 3pm. During our stay we were recommend several restaurants and bars to go to from a really nice male receptionist. We went to one restaurant, Patron, which was fantastic!

The rooftop area was lovely and just what we wanted. It's not big but we knew that before we arrived. There are 8 sun loungers which get pretty busy but there are other chairs and deck chairs as well. If you want a hotel just to sit by the pool then this wouldn't be a hotel for you. The pool is small and shallow. It is called a plunge pool and that's exactly what it is!

We managed to get an upgrade to a superior room with a terrace (note that the terraces are not on the ground floor. It's basically a large balcony looking out to the rear of the hotel). This was great for us and worth the extra money. It was quiet and the terrace was lovely.

The hotel has been open for a year and it still looks brand new. It's spotlessly clean!

I was celebrating my 30th birthday and they suprised us with a bottle of Cava on the day which was a lovely touch.

The hotel is in a great central location. 5-10 minutes from Plaza Catalunya, Les Rambles and the Gothic area. We walked almost everywhere.

Overall this is the perfect city break hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Superior room. Get a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcarp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    280
    49
    17
    8
See reviews for
162
662
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights the first week of July 2014. Staff were fabulous!. Nothing was too much and any advice that was required they were able to give, be it recommending a restaurant or day trips.

If you need any advice on trips or points on interest then Nacho is your man!.

The best wine is serviced by Leverno!. Absolutely delight.

I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again or any of their other hotels when travelling in Europe!.

Fab couple of days with a beautiful room and terrace!

Room Tip: We booked this through a package but had the added bonus of a terrace. if your going during one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I really couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff were warm and genuine and went out of their way to offer tips and advice. The hotel is brand new and is stunningly decorated - rooms are super slick and minimalist, yet comfortable and cozy.
The amenities in the hotel are fantastic. The pool on the roof is only a plunge pool though so if you're looking for a real swim this isn't the place for it.
The breakfast buffet was great and the in-room Nespresso machine came in very handy.
You couldn't ask for a better location - smack bang in the centre of Barcelona but just a block away from the super touristy Rambla and Barri Gothic.

Room Tip: It's well worth paying a bit more for a room with a balcony towards the back of the building as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Pros:
Overall this hotel is lovely, it is clean, chic and in a great location. On arrival, we were offered cava and we were so impressed at the hotel reception area and the helpfulness of the reception staff. Our room was a superior room with a terrace which faced the garden, it was on the fourth floor. it was super spacious and the balcony was beautiful.

Cons:
We were disappointed by the roof top terrace because we specifically picked the hotel because of its facilities, but it was so busy with people claiming sun loungers that we were unable to use the facilities we had paid for. Luckily we had our private terrace which was a lovely place to relax.
The breakfast was not great, but was acceptable.

Overall nice stay, but not sure I would return.

Room Tip: If you can, get a superior room with a balcony on a higher floor. You'll be really grateful to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 908LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I loved this hotel. The staff from Elfrin to Nacho were exceedingly pleasant and helpful, the room was clean and pleasant (good AC) and the breakfast was fantastic. It was just a wonderful stay at a great hotel. The location was fantastic as well. Not to close to Las Ramblas and yet not far from all the major sites.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momadark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
258 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I would have given this property a 4 star for location and esthetics but simply could not due to a couple issues:

Pros:
1) great location
2, nice sleek design, relaxing terrace facing garden, quiet rooms if chosen to the back
3) nice ( tiny) plunge pool and lounge area on roof top,
4) great bfst, Nespresso in room

Cons:
1) extremely small room and only comfortable as single traveler ( not for 2) with no space to sit, unpack luggage, storage Room

2) requested early check- in (1:00 vs 3:00 pm) due 22 hrs overseas travel with 10 yr old child. Called 5 days prior to arrival again to reconfirm my request. True, I was told that check-in is 3 pm indeed ( yes, I read the rules but most 4star properties aim to work with their clients) . Upon arrival, the same information was communicated and I was asked to go for a walk ( seriously, after arriving from US with my daughter??) and leave my phone number to be called when the room would be ready. I appropriately a comment was made that other travelers have yo wait as we'll - no matter if overseas travel or not. Only upon me insisting and requesting to speak with the manager housekeeping was called to prioritize my room for cleaning. This certainly is not representative of the price tag and a 4 star service. We were allowed into our room 1 hr prior to check- in time but this experience certainly dampened the otherwise enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Book superior facing garden, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel2Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comercial_HUP, Director Comercial at H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Travel2Adventure,

We would like to thank you for your comments and for your time used in writing them! We really appreciate it!

And thank you for your nice description of the hotel!

We regret to know you didn't enjoy at all your stay because of the check-in time. We understand that you arrive to the hotel after a long flight, but we would like to explain you that most times due to the hotel occupancy, it is not possible for us to get all the rooms ready before the check-in time. Whenever is possible, we try to satisfy all guest requests, as we always work to provide excellent stays to our clients.

Thank you once again and best regards from Barcelona.

Meri Ferrando
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I enjoyed my stay.Rooms were small but were set up with the idea of using space in a efficient way very modern looking.The hotel is were you want to be in the center of Barcelona close to transportation and restaurants.The hotel staff are very helpful and work hard to keep the property clean.Most of the hotel staff speak more than one language so communicating is no problem.The breakfast was good and the coffee was fabulous.I hope to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#25 of 513 in Barcelona
681 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
628 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#30 of 513 in Barcelona
185 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#35 of 513 in Barcelona
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel

Property: H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Urquinaona, 2, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Placa Urquinaona, in the heart of Barcelona, the H10 Urquinaona Plaza is a newly built hotel housed within a nineteenth century building that maintains some of its original structure and beautifully crafted ceilings, which have been combined with a very contemporary interior design that uses clean lines and simple colours. The hotel features the Novecento Restaurant, bar, gym and Chill-Out Terrace with plunge pool and outstanding views over the city. It also has 3 meeting rooms that are perfect for small company events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing