We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
Ranked #35 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This stylish hotel really offers good value for money. The staff was professional, helpful and very polite. The roof top terrasse with a bar and a plunge pool was a nice bonus.
The room we got had a view of the busy street, but we were not bothered by noice. The room was big and clean.
The hotel is close to the Rambla, the Gothic Quarter and only a 20 min taxi ride from the airport. I would really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Synni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    280
    49
    17
    8
See reviews for
162
660
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I recently spent four days in Barcelona, staying at the H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel with a friend. What can I say?! Tucked away off a bustling main street, is this delightful and very modern hotel. Rooms are of a good size, with all the mod cons one can expect of a trip abroad. Very friendly staff, who were always eager to help. The only downside was the pool on the roof. It is literally a dipping pool and not a full size one. The views from the terrace are amazing. I stayed bed and breakfast; the breakfast was brilliant. Good choices and fresh. The only other downside of this hotel, was that there seemed to be no windows facing onto the road. They all looked down into the main lobby of the hotel. Perhaps, if you are booking a stay here, it may be worthwhile to ask about road facing windows...? For those of us who like natural light of course.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_C91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and were delighted to be upgraded to a junior suite complete with private terrace and hot tub. Needless to say, our accommodation was wonderful, exceptionally clean and very peaceful - you would never have known you were in the middle of the city!

The staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good with a wide selection of hot and cold food. We had hoped to have a drink at the sky terrace bar but sadly this closed at 7pm......this didn't detract from our break though and we would definitely return.

The location is excellent and within a 5 minute walk to the gothic area and ramblas. If you are planning a trip to Barcelona I would certainly recommend that you consider this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staffordshirepudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

thank you management and staff of Urq'ona for a great stay......
hotel is in a great location, near Place Catalunya and Ramblas, but far enough away for a bit of peace (5 mins only) - short taxi ride from airport!!!
we arrived too early to check in, so hotel held bags for us.
when we returned later to check-in we were advised we had a free upgrade to a suite with terrace and hot tub!! whooo-hooo!!! and then also a welcome glass of Cava whilst we checked in.
the room was fab and light (all white with splashes of yellow) with a big shower and flat screen.
the breakfasts are great, especially the little sugary donuts with vanilla cream inside---yum!
loved it all from start to finish......alas only issue was that as with any other city break, you don't use the hotel much other than for sleeping and brekky.....
thanks Urq, you were great and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADEPC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

First thing that you see, both in real life and on its promo pictures is the lobby. And you say wow. It looks great. And then you meet the reception crew, and they are great too. For the basic room you pay quite big buck, but it all looks great. And it's centrally located. So you don't care so much and still amazed you are heading upstairs. Everything is great until you reach your room. Then the whole wow effect disappears.

Basic and One Level Up (I don't know how many levels they have) are small. Extremely small. One Queen size bed and it's all in basic and a bed and a desk in the +1 is all that fits in there. If room is facing the inner courtyard they won't be quite. But it's still centrally located. Unfortunately it is located as well right over the metro line, so it shakes. And lower you are more you feel it (I had a room on 1st and 4th floor). Bed is comfortable so at least when you are shaking you can still feel how soft it is ;)

Not to be so negative - beside the rooms’ size / value for money the hotel is not so bad. Nice patio, nice terrace, not bed breakfast (for Spanish standards) and it's centrally located. Unfortunately rooms are the most important element of the hotel for me.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Szymon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comercial_HUP, Director Comercial at H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Szymon K,

Thank you for leaving your feedback about your recently stay with us.

We are happy to see that the general impression of the hotel and the staff is good.

Regarding your comments about the room, we are deeply sorry to know it didn't fulfill your expectations.

We take note of our opinions in order to see how we can improve our service!

Kindest regards,

Meri Ferrando
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were very pleased with this hotel - quite a grand entrance for a small(ish) hotel and offered a glass of cava on arrival - nice touch.

We were upgraded to a fantastic room as well which always helps. However, the other hotel facilities were also great so I would highly recommend this hotel. The buffet breakfast had all you needed; cheeses, ham, fruit, pastries as well as eggs / bacon etc and cereals.

The rooftop pool is fantastic, not many beds due to the space but there is also a lovely sofa area in the shade - ideal for eating and a staff member on hand for poolside drinks.

You are just a 2 minute walk from the top of the Ramblas and about 20 minute walk ot the beach or a 30 minute stroll - depending on how fast you want to walk!

We also got the 'Autobus' from the airport which drops you off (the last stop) just a 2 min walk from the hotel.

Lovely, helpful staff - the doorman was very friendly and we could keep our bags in a locked cupboard before we could check in as well as after we'd checked out going home.

Booked as part of a BA flight package but would definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to room 109 - if you can afford it - go for it - lovely huge room with nice balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Room:
- a tad small (the sink is pretty much in your main living area, and the glass door on the bathroom doesn't allow for much privacy)
- Really nice balcony/terrace.

Noise:
- We were on the interior side of the building, so it was very quiet (Except for the first night. There was something going on in the courtyard that woke us up in the middle of the night).

Location:
- Only a couple of blocks from Pl Catalunya. This made it very easy to take the Aerobus from the airport.
- Metro stop across the street.
- Walkable to most of the sights
- Very large mall 1 block away that has anything you need.

Staff
- Very friendly. The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and always cheerful.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. As noted, the rooms are a hair small, but we didn't spend much time in the room. We were out and about sight seeing the entire time. I would definitely come back and give would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crnky_asian_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comercial_HUP, Director Comercial at H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear crnky_asian_man,

First of all thank you for considering our Hotel for your stay in Barcelona.

We kindly inform you that our maximum goal is to reach our guest's expectations and assuring them the most pleasant stay with us.

Thank you so much for sharing with us your excellent review! We are so glad to know you had a brilliant stay at the Hotel.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

Meri Ferrando
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#25 of 513 in Barcelona
680 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
625 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#30 of 513 in Barcelona
185 reviews
Eixample
Negresco Princess Hotel
Negresco Princess Hotel
#54 of 513 in Barcelona
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel

Property: H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Urquinaona, 2, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Placa Urquinaona, in the heart of Barcelona, the H10 Urquinaona Plaza is a newly built hotel housed within a nineteenth century building that maintains some of its original structure and beautifully crafted ceilings, which have been combined with a very contemporary interior design that uses clean lines and simple colours. The hotel features the Novecento Restaurant, bar, gym and Chill-Out Terrace with plunge pool and outstanding views over the city. It also has 3 meeting rooms that are perfect for small company events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing